We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for brat and brew”
Review of Munchen Haus

Munchen Haus
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food, European, German, Bar, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: When we first started München Haus, we had visions of an outdoor eatery and beer garden where family and friends could meet to experience a taste of Germany in the beautiful Alpine town of Leavenworth. It is with the help of our families and wonderful, dedicated employees that we are able to offer a unique Leavenworth dining experience.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for brat and brew”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great brats and other sausages as well as pretzels in this beer garden. Great beer on tap and tons of mustard selections too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    317
    64
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur Springs, Texas
1 review
“best hot dogs in world”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have to drive 3000 miles to get a good Hot Dog. My Husband walked a mile from Hotel in -10 degrees for a hot dog. Could not go threw without stopping for a hot dog!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladytrucker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prost!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have yet to visit Leavenworth without at least one stop by Munchen Haus. Why do we return? Cold beer, warm pretzels, many mustards, fire pits and the occasional mulled wine. I can't speak for the brats as we go elsewhere for those but our most recent find, the upper deck to this haus. Surprisingly pristine with views of the surrounding range as you sip and enjoy, plus you can't beat the kids downstairs singing "Ziggy zaggy, ziggy zaggy, Oi Oi Oi!" Fabulous anytime of year! If you aren't into lines come mid-morning or mid-day, less crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Best grilled sausage”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

There are two outdoor sausage/beer gardens and they are practically right across the street from each other- Munchen Haus and Leavenworth Sausage Garten. Both offer a selection of more than a dozen kinds of mustards and about a dozen kind of grilled sausages. Besides the classic bratwurst, kielbasa, bockwurst, currywurst, beef frank and the vegetarian wurst (both Munchen Haus and Leavenworth use Field Roast sausage for their veggie sausage option), Munchen Haus also offers an organic turkey dog, a chicken and garlic sausage, and a jalepeno and cheddar sausage. Munchen Haus is more self-serve, handing you a coaster buzzer so you know when to go to the open pick-up area to get your finished order (LSG delivers based on a number you take after ordering). But the grilling happens right there in the open so you can also watch with your hungry eyes if you wish. Their seating space is all outdoor, just like LSG, but additionally includes an upstairs area with a view if its a clear day but less warmth as they have less heating lamps. Overhead ones are placed over the tables on the first floor (although they have one cozy blazing fireplace near the pick up area as well). Execution wise, the bite and warmth of how they grilled the sausages gives Munchen Haus the advantage over Leavenworth Sausage Garten. But mustard options wise I have to hand it to Leavenworth Sausage Garten.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGirl_VeganBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK Bratwurst”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Ate here mostly because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Was a bit disappointed as both my husband and I found our brats were kind of bland. I would rather eat inside and will give this a miss next time I'm here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchen Haus also viewed

 

Been to Munchen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing