We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Schnitzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baren Haus

Baren Haus
Ranked #52 of 88 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The oldest family-owned restaurant in Leavenworth! Our recipes are original and the preparations are made right here. We make our own sauces, brines, and dough and our breads are fresh-baked everyday. When you dine with us, you enjoy the kind of food that only a professional can take the time to prepare. We serve authentic German cuisine, pizzas, pasta, sandwiches, and more. Enjoy!
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Delicious Schnitzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a recent visit to Leavenworth I sought out the best place to get schnitzel. In the past I have been disappointed with some 'authentic German' restaurants. Not so at Baren Haus , I asked our waiter how it was cooked to make sure I wasn't getting a shriveled piece of pork. It came out golden brown and cooked perfectly. The red cabbage was especially good, but a little too much caraway in the sauerkraut for me. My husband had the sauerbraten, delicious gravy which was also very good. The portions were huge and we ended up taking half of it home for later.
The server was very friendly and patient with my questions.
There is a nice selection of beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    84
    53
    34
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Expensive and ready made food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were quite disappointed with our meal at the Baren Haus - it was quite expensive at over $17 a meal and the food looked and tasted like it had been pre cooked a d heated in the microwave. I had the German sausage platter which was ok but my partner ordered the schnitzel which was soggy and covered in a tasteless gravy. We were one of three tables and the waitress asked us if we wanted desert before we had even finished our main meal and then presented us with our bill! There are far better places to eat in Leavenworth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GulliverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great variety of choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Large food portions and great variety of choices.....one of the best restaurants we ate at while in Leavenworth.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't eat it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Should have been a clue when we were the only folks in the restaurant. Ordered the jagerschnitzel to share with my husband. There wasn't one good tasting item on the plate. The waitress was very nice though and brought us more spaetzel to replace the cold spaetzel we were served. Meat was like cardboard, red cabbage was overpowered with clove and the kraut was so sour it was uneatable. The mushroom topping tasted like it was from a can. I'm so sorry to have to write this but it was like throwing money away. So disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patsnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
“So delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow! Amazing dinner! We stumbled in here right at dinner time and were seated right away. Had the Beef Rouladen and was blown away. Delicious! Beer was good. Atmosphere was laid back and friendly. Service was fantastic - especially for a busy holiday weekend. Kudos! This will become our favorite Leavenworth eatery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RisMWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baren Haus also viewed

 

Been to Baren Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing