We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent German food in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Baren Haus

Baren Haus
Ranked #52 of 88 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The oldest family-owned restaurant in Leavenworth! Our recipes are original and the preparations are made right here. We make our own sauces, brines, and dough and our breads are fresh-baked everyday. When you dine with us, you enjoy the kind of food that only a professional can take the time to prepare. We serve authentic German cuisine, pizzas, pasta, sandwiches, and more. Enjoy!
Portland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent German food in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were hungry for good German food and this was the first place we stopped to check out the menu. We were seated right away and they brought our beers very quickly. The restaurant is light and bright with large front windows and cool brick walls. The service staff was young and perhaps a bit to chatty, but we didn't wait too long for anything. The food was delicious, hot, and very large portions. Just what we wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    84
    53
    34
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Rubens!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was one of my father-in-law's favorite place in Leavenworth. In his memory, my wife and I went in to have a ruben. We were seated immediately and ordered a ruben to be split between the two of us. There was a slight charge to do so. It was as I remembered...the meat wasn't large slices, more smaller chips. But, overall it was fine for a quick lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Townsend_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Try the Reuben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were hungry and our hotel room was not ready when we pulled into town at 1p.m. so we walked to the Baren Haus for a bite. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was the best I have had in a very long time. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hopefully they were having an off day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in on a Saturday on a whim. The interior was interesting. The bathrooms need work (rocking toilet). We were ignored by the waitress for 10 minutes. When she came up she said "What do you want?" Not the best way to greet your customer, but, we figured we would just go with it. After ordering we dined on cold bread and butter that had absorbed the flavors of whatever fridge it sat in. And we waited. And waited. Finally after waiting for 15 minutes for our food (sausages and Sauerbraten) we were informed that the kitchen was a bit backed up due to 2 large parties in the restaurant. There were to parties (one of 7-10 and another of ~15) who had been there and received their food as we were initially seated. We were ready to leave (after waiting another 10 minutes) when the waitress brought our plates out. The potatoes on my daughter and my plates were 1/2 burnt & 1/2 cooked normally. The only thing hot was the sauerkraut. The sausages were cold and the sauerbraten was sweet. The waitress came back once more only to hand us the check. This place was a disappointment

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best rueben in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Make a point to stop in Leavenworth for this place, they have really good food at anytime of the day

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crazy2catLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baren Haus also viewed

 

Been to Baren Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing