We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Andreas Keller Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: This family-owned business has been bringing Bavaria to Leavenworth for over 25 years. The chef, Anita Hamilton, has been personally overseeing the kitchen since 1991 and is a native of Germany. The made-from-scratch desserts, soups and entrees are reminiscent of traditional Gasthaus fare. The owner, Heidi Forchemer, travels to Germany yearly for new menu ideas. Her son, Max, can be heard playing his button accordion most weekends, along with other local musicians, such as Tom Tilton of the Alpenfolk band. It simply doesn't get more authentic than this!
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Such a comfortable warm and cozy place. We shared the Schnitzel Cordon Bleu and it was fabulous, as was the creamy spaetzle. Great service too..what more can you ask for!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelJ58569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    319
    98
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Good food, a little on the spendy side (85 dollars for 2), excellent red cabbage & very authentic food. They had an accordion player which added to the experience. It's first come/first serve, so be prepared to wait if you come during a busy time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SR0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyBC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Not usually a fan of table music ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

But the accordion player here moved about the space and didn't "get into anyone's face." He also tailored his musical choices to the clientele. We had a lovely dinner here - schnitzel and German beer and a delicious Russian crumble cake that we shared for dessert. It's easier to get a table if you go before 6 pm. Our meals appeared quickly but we were not rushed out despite the line at the door. Great atmosphere and good food ... What more could you ask for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackmagicmolly671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Schnitzel and spatzle and strudel...oh my!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not our first visit here and not our last either! We agree that the schnitzel, spatzle and apple strudel are a must. German draft beer, brats and the mushroom sauce are great additions to any meal. The service is some of the best in town and each time we visit this restaurant in cellar it feels like we are in a little town in Germany. We have yet to find better German fare in Leavenworth and we have decided to stop trying, better to return here! Enjoy! Shoot, now I'm hungry...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheaper than flying to Deutschland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

When in Leavenworth, this is the best place for an excellent meal, in a cellar, its like being transported to Germany. The food is very good as is the service, very authentic...draft German beer on tap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hischoolsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andreas Keller Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andreas Keller Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing