We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for an outdated inn”
Review of Alpen Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We came here for a President's Day getaway and the town was booked solid. (We are seasoned Leavenworth visitors.) The Alpen Rose, surprisingly, had rooms available. After our stay, I surmised as to the reason. The location of the inn is great - set back from the main road so its very quiet and peaceful. The curb appeal as you pull up is lovely. I knew by the website that the inn was older, and we're ok with that if there are certain modern conveniences inside. For $180 plus tax per night - one of the highest anywhere in town - we were expecting more. We arrived Sunday and the gal at the front desk greeted us - sort of. She had no personality and was barely audible when talking. For a big holiday weekend, put someone with charisma at the front. She acted as if she was barely there. I asked her about the evening dessert and she barely gave me an answer...mumbled something, so I let it go. She walked us up to our room and INTO our room with us. Odd. As you step off the elevator into the hall, the old, outdated carpet, walls and lighting scream out at you. I don't mind outdated decor, but the hall was lit with dismal looking lights and cast-white walls and dark, big flowered carpets - It screamed of cheap motel vibe. We stepped into our "Fireplace Deluxe Suite" to utter disappointment. The ugliest DARK, GREEN OLD carpet in the room, two old recliner chairs and dresser/nightstand that belongs in a motel 6. $180+ a night for this. The two pillows on the bed were completely flat! In the morning, we tried calling the front desk between 7:00 -7:45 am with NO ANSWER - during a holiday weekend. We kept getting their answering machine. We finally came down to breakfast and thank goodness, a new gal was at the front desk. I told her I was trying to reach the front desk for 45 min solid with NO answer and she dismissed it, saying she helps in the kitchen too. The breakfast was fine - an egg casserole, muffins, toast, canned pears, coffee, OJ. Not even close to comparing to the variety and freshness of the Enzian Inn breakfast. The Enzian is older too, but their rooms are updated with cheery decor, their staff outstandingly friendly and accommodating. Their included breakfast buffet best in town and their standard rooms are cheaper and larger than what we got here at Alpen. The were booked of course.

I don't mind this type of mediocre accommodations if the price of the rooms are comparable. But to charge premium festival prices at $180 plus tax with a very old, dismal, outdated motel-type place is highway robbery. The service was odd and spotty. Now we know why they had rooms available when the entire town was booked solid. A lot of places in Leavenworth are older and outdated, but those other hotels/motels/inn charge accordingly to their offered amenities, etc. The Alpen Rose markets itself as some boutique, adults only Inn with high prices yet will not invest accordingly into their business to pull it off. UPDATE your Inn, then charge the high room rate. We'd be happy to pay it if we get something in return. The dark, ugly, green carpet in the room is unbearable. Disappointing weekend stay. We checked out as early as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Manager at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

I must first start out by saying I are sorry we did not meet your expectations for your stay. As the other reviews show most of our guests love their stay and we have many returnees. We do continually try to update, with new carpeting, new chairs and furniture in the guest rooms. We do monitor rates in Leavenworth. Most of the other hotels in Leavenworth do not have fireplace rooms so the rates are comparable with our standard rooms. The price of our fireplace rooms are about $20 more than our standard rooms. Thank you for your comments and will keep these in mind for updating the hallway areas.
Cindy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 855 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've stayed at the Alpen Rose 5 years now, always in February on our anniversary. We always sleep well, the rooms are clean and very quiet. It's only a half mile to town, so we often walk. Breakfast is way beyond what you would expect, and the dessert in the evening is another special touch. After skiing we visit the hot tub and watch the stars. Above all, the staff is very friendly and helpful and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Manager at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

So glad we are able to meet and surpass your expectations at Alpen Rose Inn. We strive to make your stay the best and love to hear about all the returnees to the Inn. We now have the snow you wanted for those winter outdoor activities.
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at the Alpen Rose Inn. We can't say enough about our stay. The staff there made you feel so welcome and were so nice. Upon arrival we checked in. We were then taken to our room and we were shown how to turn the fireplace on. Our own little private tour. We were then told they have continental breakfast. So of course we signed up for that and in the evening they have dessert. The breakfast was amazing. We were waited on and then served our breakfast. "AMAZING French toast made with Texas bread". Our 2nd morning we had an amazing quiche (spelling) truly amazing. We decided to have dessert the 2nd night and oh my goodness. A to die for chocolate cake. We had a great visit with one of the staff members. Again we can't say enough. If your looking for quiet and hospitality this is the place. We won't stay anywhere else when we go back to visit. Thanks Cindy for an amazing vacation. Keep up the good work and hope to see you in the summer to see the Sound of Music. The Woodrings. :-).

Room Tip: Room 207 has an amazing view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylwood1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our first visit to Alpen Rose and we would definitely visit again. The only drawback is that it isn't in town so you have to drive and find a parking place. It is like a B&B. Great lounge area with games and free movie rentals. Hot breakfast and dessert at night. The rooms are clean and cozy. Nicely decorated for Christmas. Coffee at our door in the morning was a great touch. The staff are all friendly. Comfy bed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Owner at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and will return on your next trip. So glad you got to see most of the Christmas decorations. The Christmas trees are now in all of the rooms so we are officially ready for Christmas and the holiday season of Lights.

Cindy
Alpen Rose Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great place to stay while in Leavenworth. Rooms clean and tidy and feels like you're staying at a large B&B. Staff was wonderful and helpful with area attractions. Morning coffee delivered right outside our door ! Breakfast was yummy. Would be a perfect place for a family weekend. Spacious community room complete with videos,books and games. Garden area with pool for play.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and quiet. A great place to relax and the breakfast was delicous! Coffee and tea were delivered to our door in the morning. I would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you plan to visit Leavenworth Washington, try to reserve a room at the Alpen Rose Inn. It's as simple as that. You will be treated like visiting family. Your room and all the facilities will be clean and inviting. "Dessert" sessions in the evening will provide an opportunity to meet staff and other guests. Unable to find fault with this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with no other rooms around it. Very quiet and looking out upon bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Owner at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

So happy you found our hospitality outstanding. As a small property with 15 rooms this is what we like to offer - the little extras to make your stay special.
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.8 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#4 of 19 in Leavenworth
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Rose Inn

Address: 500 Alpine Pl, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: $107 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Rose Inn is a beautiful Bavarian style Inn in the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, WA The Inn has 15 gracious rooms, most with fireplaces and some with balconies, and 2 Condo units with one or two bedrooms. The Inn rooms include our full hot breakfast, evening dessert and coffee/tea service delivered to your room each morning. Enjoy the seasonal pool in a beautiful garden setting or the outdoor hot tub open year around. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpen Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Rose Hotel Leavenworth
Alpen Rose Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing