We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpen Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming B and B”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a miserably hot weekend in August, but the Inn was cool, charming and friendly. The convincing alpine decor made us imagine we felt crisp mountain air. The room was decorated with handmade textiles and cute Victorian prints on the walls. The staff was in costume( as was almost everyone in town.) The garden was lovely for strolling in the early morning and at sunset. The breakfast of sausage, french toast, and lots of fruit and juices was yummy and clearly homemade. We really enjoyed our time there and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Fireplace room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Manager at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Alpen Rose Inn. The grounds are lovely now with all the flowers. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    176
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
158
492
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nothing that I read in the other reviews strikes me as not being true...most note the quiet location and the modest distance to a very active downtown as desirable; most note the lovely and large outdoor deck, the modest swimming pool, the spacious common reading lobby area. True to our experience as well. Their breakfasts were modest by quality inn standards, and you accept it on their schedule. The room, while clean, strikes us as dowdy--much in need of some brushing up. After a steady stream of ourstanding inn experiences on an extended trip this stop disappointed, as in some ways so too did the town (I mean after all how much Sauerkraut and wurst can one comsume...and how many knicknacks can one tote home?) so dispite the fact that we had reserved for two nights we decided to move on. We had prepayed and we understood clearly the cancellation policy (14 days in advance) and were we actually turning business away we could understand complying with it. Alas the house was half full so we kept no one away and the second night's lodging stayed paid. A modest irk but perhaps a metaphor?

Room Tip: Perhaps try another venue in Leavenworth?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Manager at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. So sorry you did not enjoy Leavenworth andchecked out early, as you booked through a booking site we do not have control over cancellations within the 7 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here on the second night of a 173 mile bicycle ride for a children's charity. Leavenworth hosts us every year (for the past 20) with a picnic in the park and huge communtiy support.

Checked in to this cute spot only to find bfast was at 8:30. Bummer but we can at least get a cup of coffee for the road? No...was told there might be some left over in an airpot in the bfast room that we could take back to our room and heat up. REALLY?! Even with both owners living on sit!?

We (there were several of us staying here) paid $150 + and still the inn couldn't even lay out a banana and a cup of coffee. There were 600 riders and I would encourage any of them to stay elsewhere for this event. Great place for a quiet or relaxing weekend, but don't expect much customer service if you don't fit into their schedule.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have a nice deck and little yard area to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tressach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Manager at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am so sorry for the information you received about early breakfast. I will communicate better with the staff about what we can do to accommodate this group. The coffee is put out fresh about 6:00 every morning by my husband before he goes to work. If I had known that some wanted breakfast I would have done it for you. For next year we will plan on an early continental breakfast for the group. We have had lots of riders in the past and will continue to do all that we can to help the bikers. We do try to get the rooms ready early for the riders as some are in town by 11:00 a.m. and like to get checked in early. We do provide a locked area for the bikes. Thank you for your comments so we can do a better next year!
Cindy
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice quiet relaxing Inn, great service, very comfortable bed, we had a private balcony and fireplace with our room. Heated pool and a nice hot tub. They serve a very nice breakfast, on the small buffet style, but very delicious food and coffee. Very nice deck on the back side.The staff was very helpful from making our dinner reservations at the Alley Cafe to just offering ideas of things to do and see. You can have coffee set outside your door first thing in the morning, and it's available all day. On the outskirts of town but very easy walking distance if your up to that. Being on a culdesac helped with the quietness of our stay. What may be a downfall to some is no children under the age of ten, for us this was a plus. Free WI FI with a nice strong signal.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony and fireplace, as this was our 23rd Anniversary....Yippee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond,WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Alpen Rose Inn is a block away from the main Hwy 2 strip of hotels, which allows it to offer quieter rooms with no traffic noise issues, such as many of the properties facing onto Hwy 2 inevitably experience.

The hotel feels more like a B&B than a commercial franchise/brand name hotel such as most of the main hotels are in Leavenworth. Our stay featured a very friendly lady on reception, and during her guided tour of the hotel, she showed us the lovely guest lounge, the outdoor patio area with seating, the library of videos we could help ourselves to, even board games in the lounge, and she also showed us two adjoining rooms for us to choose from, a further nice touch.

We had one of their deluxe spa bath rooms, with the spa bath being in the main living area of the room, albeit with curtains one could discreetly pull around the bath if one wished. There was also a regular shower in the regular bathroom.

Nice touches included a free dessert offered in the evening and a coffee or tea tray delivered to the room (but discreetly left outside the door) in the morning.

If you take the walking shortcut through the Icicle Inn grounds (the Icicle Inn is between this hotel and Hwy 2) then it isn't too far in to the town; perhaps just over 0.5 miles to the west side of the main retail area, and a pleasant enough walk on a nice day.

Overall, plenty of pluses and no discernible minuses. It is fair to say that, albeit based on my far from complete knowledge of Leavenworth accommodation, this is one of the very best choices for most people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As a frequent traveler through Leavenworth, we decided to give this little hotel a try, and we were not disappointed. It was clean, reasonably priced, and the staff was very helpful at setting up dinner reservations, directions, etc. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast in the morning, on the deck in the sunshine, was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management500, Owner at Alpen Rose Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We loved having you try our Inn last week. We think it is a great place to stay that is so nice and quiet. My staff has been with us for a long time and they do a great job with the guest rooms and cooking the deliciuos breakfast and evening desserts. We hope to see you again with your group.

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I and another couple had the pleasure of spending an evening at the Alpen Rose Inn in Leavenworth. The rooms were immaculate and spacious with a touch of home, the owner and desk clerk were very friendly and informative, and the atmosphere made us feel like we stepped into Bavaria. I would highly recommend this place if you're planning a stay in Leavenworth!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Rose Inn

Property: Alpen Rose Inn
Address: 500 Alpine Pl, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Rose Inn is a beautiful Bavarian style Inn in the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, WA The Inn has 15 gracious rooms, most with fireplaces and some with balconies, and 2 Condo units with one or two bedrooms. The Inn rooms include our full hot breakfast, evening dessert and coffee/tea service delivered to your room each morning. Enjoy the seasonal pool in a beautiful garden setting or the outdoor hot tub open year around. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpen Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Rose Hotel Leavenworth
Alpen Rose Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing