We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good breakfast experience for us”

Sandy's Waffle and Dinner Haus
Ranked #66 of 103 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 30, 2018

The sevice was great and the decor/ambiance was nice. However, the food (including the signature waffle, and the coffee) didn’t taste like much at all, with the exception of the German sausage which had an odd flavour unlike any German sausage I had growing up in a partially German family. Nothing was really bad, however, except that we paid way too much for the meal considering there was lttle flavour or quantity. We found much better options in town for less.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank C4102DHjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We were greeted with a smile. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating. My niece had her 4th birthday that day and the waitress arranged a little breakfast waffle fancied up with a candle and we sang happy birthday. So nice. All of our meals were delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We have always gone for breakfast. Food is always exceptional. Service is wonderful. Ambience - well, the place is old and could use a facelift, but the food and service are what we go for. Well priced and family-friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Our family loves waffles so when we saw Sandy's Waffle House in Leavenworth we figured we'd stop. I mean a waffle house should have excellent waffles, right? Oh boy were we wrong. They were, without a doubt, the worst waffles we've ever had. They are made from a mix and disintegrate as soon as syrup touches them. The consistency is like sawdust. So very disappointing. After our meal the busboy told us that the first time he ate at the restaurant he ordered the waffles and thought they were not good. That says something. The meal was also very overpriced.
On a positive note our server was delightful.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cgkravik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

What a waste of a great location... someone needs to pass them a waffle recipe that’s good. My friend ordered the Belgium waffle and my 2yr old had the regular waffle and they both had zero flavor and they crumbled. I had to serve the waffle with a spoon full of crumbs. Terrible! Such a waste of a great idea and location. I will say the staff was amazing and kind.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank michellecM7571AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Waffle and Dinner Haus also viewed

 

Been to Sandy's Waffle and Dinner Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing