We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed two years in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have 3 rooms on this weekend every year to service the AKC dog show. Last year we moved from Wenatchee to Leavenworth & stayed at this hotel. The room was OK but old. Granted you are priced at the lower end for this town, but it is obvious this year that management is not too concerned about repeat business in a tourist driven market. Walked into room w/AC blowing & very cold - turned it off and the front fell off the unit. Besides the filter being filthy, left the front off the unit & found it there the next day; Bedspread falling apart; Towels you could see through; No wake up call as confirmed; carpet loose and dirty; limited hot water in evening; desk under cloth rack/closet so only blouses could be hung up; holes in top of drawer unit. Staff were nice people - facility was a major disappointment from other HJ that we've stayed at. Checked out next door (same owner) and appears to be no better. Minimal additional cost for a clean hotel and we'll be staying there from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank SHARON D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 532 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our son booked this for a quick get-away for he and his wife and my husband and I. I wasnt so sure about staying at a Howard Johnson.We were pleasantly surprized with what we found! Big clean rooms, comfortable beds, big bathrooms, nice little kitchenette, and quiet! The staff were freindly and helpful. the included breakfast was adequate, but of course, not fancy. It was an easy walk into the heart of town. There was lots of parking. The only down side was that i don't think their not water system is set up for acocmodating all guest with hot water! Brrrrr, cold showers all around...that was the complaint by all at breakfast! Nevertheless....a good value for the $$$$. A pleasant surprize!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wish it was a little closer, but for the price that's probably as close as you will get! Pros: HUGE ROOM!, nice bar/kitchenette, big bathrooms, wifi, friendly staff, elevator, kick butt biscuits and gravy and clean rooms. Cons: Parking for anything bigger than a motorcycle is scary, beds not very comfy, pretty hard, pretty dated, not bad.

Room Tip: Get a room downstairs if possible, quite a hike to the third level with a lot of baggage and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lscordis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are not expecting much after leaving a 5 star hotel in Seattle. The building is a bit old but still well maintained. It's only a 10 minutes walk to Bavarian village. Parking is a bit tricky but we managed. Staffs are friendly. The receptionist even called us an hour after check in to make sure everything is OK. Beds are comfy. Wow, there is even a safe. Breakfast in the conference room is good. I particularly like the self-serve waffle maker. Apples are small, but fresh from the local farm. A Mexican lady with a beautiful smile is standing by to top up what's needed. After breakfast my wife forgot to take her purse hanging in the back of her chair. The lady chased us to the elevator and handed it back. Tipping is the least I can do for her. Her rescue is greatly appreciated. We would have been stranded without money and passports as we are from Canada. She is our guardian angel......... Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the top floor room so that you cannot hear kids running around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

No whining--just the facts.

This HOJO is in need of some TLC. The bedspreads are worn and uncomfortable. Also I'm not sure why so many people raved about the beds. The ones in my room were thin, uncomfortable and -- I am guessing -- probably around 10 years old. The parking situation was kinda strange but we managed. The furniture was ok (functional and clean) for circa 1990s items.

BUT...it's pretty close to downtown so that was a big plus. The air conditioner was AWESOME since it was well over 85+ there when we went. Also the mini fridge kept our growler of beer from Icicle Brewing nice and cool. The free breakfast was decent (cereal, fruits, coffee and waffles).

All in all it was ok. My room was clean. The staff was nice. Nothing fancy here. And nothing that a few easy updates couldn't fix too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a one night stay. The location was pretty close to town, within short walking distance. It was the middle of July and the weather was very hot. We were very happy that the air conditioning worked very well! Room was very clean. At night, we did not hear much noise coming from the adjacent main road. Good, quiet hotel Breakfast was good. Our only complaint was that in the morning, the hot water in the shower did not work very well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Howard Johnson was the cheapest hotel we could find in Leavenworth. We wanted to stay for 3 nights and didn't want to pay the high summer prices. It was comfortable but well used and could use a facelift or renno but then there wouldn't be any place in town for people like us that spend little time in the room during the day so don't want to pay the high prices.

Room Tip: Good place if you are not spending much time inside, just sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovegod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Leavenworth
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 19 in Leavenworth
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth

Address: 405 W US Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Price Range: $86 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Leavenworth Hotel Leavenworth
Howard Johnson Leavenworth
Leavenworth Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing