We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blackbird Lodge
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I accidentally booked a room with the wrong date. I realized my error and called the hotel within 10 minutes of booking my room. The hotel gave me a run around saying that I needed to cancel by calling Hotels.com. I called Hotels.com and they canceled by reservation but refused to refund any of my money. I don't understand how this hotel can still charge you for a reservation you immediately canceled.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Upset T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

this was our first reservation as a VI members at blackbird lodge and at first we got a studio and we were really happy with it, it had everything we needed.
the next day we stayed in a one bedroom and we were really impressed, it had a really nice big kitchen with everything that you need if you want to cook. the bedroom was amazing, with a fireplace and a giant bed and tv with dvd player. The best part was the Jacuzzi right next to your bedroom, we highly recommend this resort and choose one bedroom over a studio. its really close to everything.
the only things we dislike was that we had to take our own garbage out and run the dishwasher before we left, we were disappointed that pets are not allowed. there is plenty parking on the street for free. staff is helpfull but they are not available after business hours.

Room Tip: choose one bedroom, comes with Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david8584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband & I have gone to the Blackbird Lodge several times now; both times in November. We usually book Sunday to Wednesday, so we don't deal with the typical weekend crowds. Town is easy to navigate by foot. Parking is free (lot or street-side). There's often discount coupons to use for local restaurants. We like the complimentary breakfast. It's nothing fancy - make-yourself waffles, fruit cups, juice & coffee. But if you bring your own bacon or sausage, you're golden!

The views are gorgeous, too! BIG unit!! Quiet area of town during the week. Small frig. None of units have stove, but we did OK on the cook-top. Large King size bed in 1 BR. Mattress a bit firm. LOTS of pillows!! Lovely decor & very cozy feeling.

NOTE: Management is "young", but desk staff is helpful. We had an issue with the hot tub in our unit & Management wasn't too professional about it all. Put a bit of a damper on the last night of our stay.

Room Tip: If you stay, book the 1 BR without a lock-off. It has a hot-tub inside the unit that's really ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbiznessDigital_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The rooms were large and comfortable, some with decent mountain views. And good sized bathrooms as well. Most people come here as part of their timeshare, so not too many services are offered. For example, no daily maid service and fewer bathroom amenities than you'd expect. And no internet service, I believe. There was a small breakfast in the morning, but I don't remember anything about it, so probably nothing special.

Free parking, but the parking lot was a few blocks away, but I think that's because of the renovations going on at the hotel. Not quite sure how the renovations will improve the hotel, but the staff seemed excited about them.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain views when you make the reservation, pay extra if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Blackbird Lodge over the New Year’s Holiday weekend. It’s part of our timeshare so that was why we decided on this place. We loved it!! It’s a cute little place right in town. All the shops are within walking distance so it was so nice not to have to drive anywhere. It’s also right above Waterfront Park and Blackbird Island in which the Wenatchee River runs between. We stayed on the third floor which overlooked Waterfront park, it was really nice. The room was updated, clean, and cozy with a fireplace and a deck. They have a little breakfast nook where you can make your own Belgian waffles in the morning from 8-10am. We will stay at this place every time if we can as it’s really a prime location and very comfortable. I give this place 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kat2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Beware that since VI took over the Blackbird as a time share it is not run like a hotel. This was quite a surprise for us. Although we had paid in advance for our room, we charged a $50 damage deposit, there is no maid service, they only provide coffe in the room for the first day (more is a dollar a bag), they provide soap and kleenex, but no shampoo or lotions, the bathroom did not have any heat and is all tile, there is not door on the shower, you are asked to take out you own garbage before you leave, there is an inventory sheet for you to go over when you get there to make sure everything is there when you leave, the breakfast is in the lobby and consists of waffles, instand oatmeal, fruit cups, coffee/hot water, and a toaster (no bread). The lobby is only open from 8:00 AM until 6:00 PM. So if you need anything after that time, you are out of luck. Wireless is $5.00 per day. We thought we were getting a queen bed, with a fireplace and balcony over the river. What we got was a king bed, no fireplace, a window over the town and hospital (the Christmas Lights were nice), and we were able to hear everything that was going on in the hall and directly next door. The rooms are nice and the staff is nice, so if you are not expecting a "hotel" type visit, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KJNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We reserved a room for two and after driving 8 hours to get there at check-in the girl at the desk swipped our credit card to charge us for the room, then said "unfortunately, the reservation is for two, and your 7 month old baby counts as a 3rd person, so I can't give you a key." We said fine, lame policy, but refund our money and we'll leave. "unfortunately, i'm not authorized to reverse credit card transactions." We were livid. We paid a $50 over occupancy fee to stay the night and talk to the manager the next morning. It turns out their policy really is to charge people and not refund their money. Jolene Polly, the manager, was unbelievably unhelpful and unsympathetic to the situation. I guess business must be good if they can treat their customers like that. Oh and a side note...the ice machine was broken, and the so called continental breakfast was a broken waffle maker and a dole fruit cup. LUXURY! We could have sneaked out baby around the whole time and acted like there were only two of us, but please, we're on VACATION. How many weeks do you get a year? Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
26  Thank sihines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.1 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#4 of 19 in Leavenworth
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Ritz Hotel
Bavarian Ritz Hotel
#18 of 19 in Leavenworth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackbird Lodge

Address: 305 8th St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1306
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Leavenworth
Price Range: $210 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blackbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackbird Lodge is a small, European-style lodge that features large studios and one-bedroom suites. These accommodations have gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, private river-view decks in some units, and warm hospitality throughout. Guests in the river-view units enjoy unobstructed views of the Wenatchee River and the Cascade Mountains. Located one block from the many restaurants, art galleries, gift shops and festivals of Leavenworth, 130 miles northeast of Seattle on the sunny Eastern slope of the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing