We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor customer service - man literally screamed at us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We went to Leavenworth, and opted to stay at this bed and breakfast. The room was very nice. There were a few small bugs. Since it’s in the country, I wasn't very surprised by this.

There was no tub - only a shower stall with pebble floors. The bed was too soft, but we prefer a very hard bed. The hot-tub was very relaxing and quiet. Breakfast was delicious, and filling.

After we checked out, we received an irate call from Brian, stating that the door handle was broken. We went back to the house, and he demonstrated that the door handle was broken. He was very hostile in his demeanor and voice. He literally screamed at us that excessive force MUST have been used to break the handle. When I pointed out that it would not have made sense for us to force the door, as he had given us the key, he just repeated that the door handle had not broken itself.

According to Brian, the locksmith he used supposedly reported that the door handle had been broken by extreme force. However, when I called the locksmith company, the customer service person explained that the type of door handle that they used on their doors is known to fail, and that the door handle had simply failed. There was no excessive use of force on the door or handle. The woman at the locksmith company stated that they were replacing the door handle, free of charge as a warranty item.

When I informed Brian of this, he repeated that the door handle must have had excessive force used. Never once did he apologize for his behavior.

Overall, the room was very nice. Had Brian simply reported that the door handle was broken and been more professional, we probably would have considered going back. The fact that the man screamed at us, however, will prevent us from ever returning. I understand that having anything broken is upsetting. However, even if your guest very obviously breaks something, you should NEVER literally scream at them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gstrvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshugrue, Owner at Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

From the beginning, we were very accommodating with these guests. They requested that we waive our 2-night minimum weekend policy and allow them to stay one night, and we did. They required special food for their dietary needs, so we went out and acquired that for them. When they arrived, they immediately started complaining and found fault with practically everything, from the bed, the windows, the bathroom, and later even complained about the restaurants we had recommended in town. Nothing seemed to satisfy them. Regardless, we continued to make every effort to provide them a wonderful stay.

When they checked out, we went down to clean the room and found the door handle broken, hanging down 180 degrees and the door was ajar and could not be closed. When we called them to ask what happened, they immediately became defensive and said the door was working fine when they left. After a discussion that clearly proved that the handle was broken during their stay, they agreed to pay for half of the repairs, and we told them we would get back with them regarding the cost.

The contractor confirmed that excessive force was used to break the spring in the door, but due to the phone call this guest had made to his office, using a loud voice laced with profanity to his receptionist, he told us it would be a warranty claim and no charges would apply, just so we could put all of this behind us. We informed the guest in writing that there would be no charges, apologized for any confusion and thought that would be the end of it. Once again this wasn’t enough to please them, and they went out of their way to write this negative review. What we find truly amazing is the claim that we screamed at our guests. Not only is this completely false, but it would not make any sense for anybody in the hospitality business to scream at a customer.

We love this business and work very hard to provide the best experience possible for our guests. All of our customers have been very happy and many have already returned, and others plan to. If you have some time, please read their reviews. We feel that this will speak for itself. Thank you for taking the time to read this, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is our second visit here, and it seems to be better than ever! The hospitality of Brian and Rochelle makes you feel like you're a member of the family - warm, welcoming and very relaxed. It is so quiet here! Sitting in the outdoor hot tub in the evening, watching the stars and listening to nothing but the wind blowing through the pine trees - very peaceful. Rochelle's cooking is absolutely the best we've experienced. The corned beef hash, made from scratch with lean corned beef cooked over 8 hours - incredible. The smoked salmon quiche, well we had it the last time and wanted it again, and loved it! What is really amazing this time of year is the return of so many migratory birds. Although it was chilly in the mornings, we used the throws provided in the basket by the fireplace and enjoyed our coffee on the patio (we stayed in the Enchantment Guest Haus), and the sound of all those birds was so amazing! We want to come back in the summer, and see the shooting stars that Brian told us about. This place is simply the best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This has become our "go to" spot to just get away for no reason at all. It feels like it is our own cabin in the mountains. Brian and Rochelle do an excellent job of taking care of all the details that you would not even have thought of. My wife and I enjoyed just sitting on the deck, taking in the mountian veiws, the sunset, and then the stars.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wldtrvl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I wished we could stay longer but work/kids were waiting for our return. Our room was picture purfect. We stayed in the Enchantment Guest Haus.The sheets felt like silk. The bed was very comfortable, the heated tile floor was fabulous. Very private and quiet. Wonderful food and spectacular views.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrkinmomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Cashmere B&B has exactly what we are looking for in a relaxing get-away. The hosts deliver everything they promise, and then some. They spare absolutely nothing in making their guests comfortable, and give us everything we need to enjoy our time in Leavenworth.

You gotta check out the outdoor hot tub in the wintertime. Absolutely fabulous. Brian, the host, setup a big propane heater to warm the toweling area so it isn't too much of a shock getting out of the hot water in the freezing cold weather.

The snowshoeing is top notch -complementary snow shoes and a quick tutorial. We got some absoultely breathtaking photos from the top of the ridge - a quick 20 minutes out the back door.

The food is fantastic. Rochelle is a fabulous cook. We've stayed here twice now and so far have eaten three healthy, but delicious breakfasts. She has baked every night and leaves yummy bars in the common area for us at night - how much better can this place get?!

The room is beautiful and comfortable, complete with a fireplace and heated tile floor in the bathroom. The TV cubby-system is pretty neat too!

Check this place out. It's worth every penny and you will not be sorry. These people are the salt of the earth, yet they give you all the privacy you need to enjoy your vacation. We plan to come back time and time again. Just hope it doesn't get so popular that there isn't room for us later!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwestgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Cashmere Mountain Bed and Breakfast is simply fantastic! Brian and Rochelle are gracious and thoughtful hosts. Staying in the Guest Haus was like having our very own luxury cabin. Everything was well planned, the breakfasts were scrumptious, and the snowshoeing was awesome! We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaceinquiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My wife and I just stayed here for a short after Christmas vacation, and it was amazing!! Everything was perfect...from the beautiful country setting with amazing views, to the hosts that took care of our every need. Brian and Rochelle have gone out of their way to make sure that their B&B is the best in Leavenworth. I am almost hesitant to write too much here, as this is one secret that I would like to keep all to myself. The rooms are spacious enough, with fine furnishings, a gas fire place, very comfortable bed, and a TV that rises up out of the footboard. The bathroom was perfect, with a beautiful tile shower and heated floors that inspired thoughts of a bathroom re-model for ourselves.
There is a common area downstairs that was perfect for relaxing, enjoying a movie, or just cuddling on the couch with one of the warm provided throws. Hot water and a coffee bar met our needs for something warm to drink throughout the day, and the evening cookies were especially nice. Breakfast was served each morning continental style, as we were there on a weekday. There were plenty of choices and a very nice variety, and it was perfect for our active and healthy lifestyle.
Brian even provided us with some snowshoes to use while we were there, with plenty of instruction on their use,and where to hike for some amazing views of the surrounding hills and town.
We can't wait to make it back here again...what a perfect three days!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfirebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
1.6 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,068 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
2.4 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,065 reviews
2 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Den Bed & Breakfast
Fox Den Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 22 in Leavenworth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10300 Suncrest Drive, Leavenworth, WA 98826
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range: $180 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leavenworth Romantic Mountainside Retreat! Custom-built B&B located on a private, dead-end road with awesome mountain views with orchards below yet only a five minute drive from downtown Leavenworth. Luxurious accommodations include fireplaces, heated stone floors, HD TVs that pop up at the foot of your bed and keyed, private entrances. It's a very quiet and romantic setting. Enjoy the view from your own private patio and soak under the stars in the outdoor hot tub. Gourmet breakfasts created from scratch, home-made cookies and locally roasted coffee are served with warm hospitality to make you feel right at home. Check our specials page on our website as we are running specials monthly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cashmere Mountain Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing