We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!!”
Review of South Leavenworth

South Leavenworth
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: The trolley stops in front of SOUTH and the Link bus stop is about 300 feet away.
Description: Located in picturesque Leavenworth, Washington, SOUTH celebrates the traditions of Latin dishes and drinks from Mexico, Peru, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina and more. In our rustic space, we modernize the delicious food of open-air markets, beachside palapas and taquerias. From Michoacán carnitas to Brazilian caipirinhas, our dishes and drinks will transport you to their countries of origin. Drop by, have a bite and travel the world with us.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Best place to eat in der Town! The food is awesome. The drinks are fantastic. The atmosphere is great and the service is quick and easy!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    183
    61
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Washington?”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I had the enchiladas...chicken mole and chicken peblano pepper. We were taken back on how good it was. Really a surprize and better than we could have guessed it would be. My wife and I recently went to Sante Fe and had some really amazing "New Mexican" food there. South was right on par with those places with regards to flavor, but not with regards to heat.

We went to South because we are in Leavenworth allot and German fare can get old. This was a really great surprize and we will definately make it a point to go back. Be sure to MAKE RESERVATIONS in advance (you can make them online through opentable.com as long as there <8 ea.) during peak season.

I personally liked the Atmosphere as well, kind of trendy but in a good way.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One to skip”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We dined here New Year's Eve, looking for a change of pace from the usual (though fantastic) German food in the area. Overall, this was a terrible experience and we couldn't get out fast enough. The Latin food was flavorless and lacking real spice. Habanero shrimp? Not remotely hot. Carnitas plate? Bland as can be. Mole ribs? Unseasoned ribs slathered in yucky pasty sauce. This does not even rate with any of the semi-decent places for similar food in Seattle. And though the waitress made us feel well taken care of, we were seated directly next to a table that had a couple of screaming children, and ten minutes into our meal another table with a baby was sat next to us as well, and the baby screamed through the entire meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We go to this restaurant often. Our family has tried almost everything on the menu. So far there is nothing I dont like.
I like to start with the habanero Shrimp appetizer, or the chip sampler that comes with flour and corn chips, salsa, guacamole,and oaxacan black bean dip. they are amazing.
I think the pork carnitas is my favorite meal. The pork is moist and juicy and seasoned to perfection. The last time I was there I was going to try something completely different for me. I tried the Chile Relleno stuffed with crab and shrimp. Very tasty! I would deffinately do it again. Drinks are a little expensive but are very good. The Basil Daisy is my favorite. It is a margarita made with basil. When I heard of it first I thought it sounded awful. Now it is one of my favorite drinks of all time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 153EricM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went here the first night, we didn.t eat but for the look of their dishes, we can assure that their food is amazing. This place is really fun, the ambiance, the people, if you want to spend a great time, have some great drinks, definitely this is the place. They have pretty unique drinks, so you should let the bartender recommend something unique.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank arnaldostripdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Leavenworth also viewed

 

Been to South Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing