We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for families, but bumpy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westport, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for families, but bumpy experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had a very nice time here with our teenagers. This is resort is made up of nice but not luxurious, summer camp style cabins set up on a gorgeous spot above the river. The buffet style food was appealing and the organic salad bar was terrific. It is also extremely dog friendly (beware if you don't like dogs but it was fun for our kids) Unfortunately, I had several negative experiences (as well as some positive) with the front desk which affected my impressions. First of all, we had several irritating problems with our reservations. It was difficult to get through to the reservation desk by phone, I received email confirmations meant for different guests (!), and they made debiting errors on switching meal plans (these were fixed). My biggest complaint is that when we arrived, ready to sample all the fun stuff there is to do in this area, the person at the front desk was mostly unable to assist us in planning our activities -- this is the sort of place where visitors really could use a concierge for help booking outdoor adventures, but at the very least, I expected some local knowledge re best hiking trails, where to horseback ride, raft and tube, etc. Yes, there were some brochures on the wall and a very vague map of hiking trails; but there wasn't even a guest info book listing the best stuff to do and how to do it. Our first evening, guests were sharing bits of information with each other at dinner about where to hike and roads closed due to forest fires. (The next morning, the woman at the front desk was far more helpful and knowledgeable, kindly pointed us in the right direction and checked the forest service info re forest fires closures).

Also -- okay, this is picky --the rooms are informal but nice, spacious and great for families with loft beds -- but for some reason the sheets were noticeable bad -- they actually felt scratchy. At this price point, good sheets should be a given. Also -- for teens, the lofts were just great -- but beware parents with small children, the high lofts were very high indeed.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    88
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
170
172
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Very clean rooms and confortable bed with a nice fluffy comforter. The pool was great and it is nice it is open 24hrs because at night is when the best time to go and play. The lounge was very nice and I like the waterfall as it was very soothing. However, the pepsi was nasty. The food was great and the fruit was so flavorful especially the blueberries they just explode with flavor. I would be back. I would recommend taking a float down the river. That is only about 1 mile away and it takes only 4 hours. Very refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Sleeping Lady offered a great package with a nights stay in one of their fabulous cabin rooms, a tubing ride down the Wenatchee River along with 2 meals from their buffet restaurant. This was by far one of the best weekend getaways i've had in Washington. Enjoying the August sun and the delicious organic food from Sleeping Ladies garden and a quick jump over to Icicle Ridge Winery was exactly what I needed.

I have a lot of food allergies including wheat, gluten and dairy intolerance. The chef's at this resort catered to my dietary restrictions and made me some of the freshest and delicious meals i've ever had. Try it once, you will surely return. I also wanted to note that the staff at this resort are the friendliest and most helpful people around the Northwest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosten5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had the best experience at Sleeping Lady ! Every part of our stay was amazing. Its a natural environment with delicious food, friendly staff and wonderful accomodations. We plan on returning for a longer stay, and have told our friends about it. We couldn't have asked for a better, more relaxing get away. The prices are so reasonable - and every experience was better than we had expected. Its a special place that is one of a kind.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dharma4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Just returned from our 2-week trip to the Northwest area including Sleeping Lady at Leavenworth, WA. The room is very clean and easy to use, the staffs were very friendly and courteous, AND the food!!! OMG, we are already planning for another trip just for the wonderful food they serve at the dining hall and the cafe. Their organic garden which we enjoyed strolling provides wonderful variety of fruits and vegetables is one of the attractions of the compound. A deer was trapped in it one morning while we were taking a morning walk (someone had left the gate open overnight). The facility is adjacent to Icicle Music Center where talented young musicians are trained and perform. We had a chance to attend one concert at the resort's chapel/music hall one night during the Summer Music Festival. The property itself is fun to walk around as it is next to Icicle Creek and National Fishery Salmon Hatchery & horseback riding facility that are within the walking distance. Lots of hiking routes, parks, and tubing in nearby rivers are also available. If you are tired of outdoor activities, you can drive to the Bavarian village of Leavenworth where the city library looks like a little house from Switzerland. We also had a chance to see Sound of Music musical at an outdoor theater while we stayed at Sleeping Lady. We can't wait to go back there soon!! Just because it's in Washington state, don't underestimate the summer temperature during July/August. It reached upper 80s while we were there almost every day. Take your hats and sunscreen with you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glorifiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is our 4th stay at Sleeping Lady and it just gets better! We came back for the second year in a row for a weekend of the Icicle Creek Music Festival which is always excellent. The food is divine, the art wonderful, the setting for those of us yearning to be away from the press of modern media and the unabated "noise" of modern civilization is a complete oasis of sanity and peace. And it is just as good in the winter. No TV in the rooms, but WIFI in the cabins. New amenities include dry saunas, work out room and free guest laundry facilities. Don't miss the organic gardens. Better than Evergreen Inn at Hetch Hetchy or Emerald Lake Lodge at Yoho National Park, Can., both places we have stayed this year. Mike Ryherd, Olympia, Wa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeRyherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Booked Sleeping Lady online based on a great website and its proximity to Leavenworth downtown. Was not what I expected (is basically cabin accommodations with lots of walking trails to get to amenities) but worked out perfectly. The goal was to spend a lot of time outdoors with the kids and it was wonderful to walk the grounds to discover the pools, library, games room, organic garden, and restaurant. Kids were thrilled to see some wildlife at the resort - a deer came right up to our window. Sleeping Lady felt like high end camping, with all the outdoor fun but a nice clean room to come back to for showers and rest.
Restaurant was excellent for breakfast, with lots of fresh fruit and beautiful eggs and chicken apple sausages. Would have liked to have tried dinner, but Leavenworth had too many great restaurants to choose from.
Highlights by far were the rock pool (which the kids insisted on 2 visits a day to) and the horseback riding across the street.
Great trip, and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in comfort but have an outdoor weekend. We have a 4 year old and 2 year old, and the double alcove room worked out perfectly for the kids.
Only thing keeping this review from 5/5 is that for the price ($180 a night) it would have been nice to have at least a mini-fridge in the room. I'd solve that next time by bringing a cooler so that we could have cold drinks on hand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisstallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,845 reviews
2.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
3.0 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,826 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort

Property: Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Address: 7375 Icicle Rd, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leavenworth
#2 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breathtaking beauty of Washington's Cascade Mountains, superb cuisine and accommodations in harmony with nature create a destination like no other. Located just two hours from Seattle and nestled into the forest on the banks of Icicle Creek, Sleeping Lady offers inspiring outdoor venues, art, beautiful guestroom and gathering places - the ideal backdrop for events, adventures and escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Lady Mountain Hotel Leavenworth
Sleeping Lady Mountain Retreat Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing