We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering and Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pampering and Perfection”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One great sign of a resort is beginning to plan your return even before you have left. This was our situation as we continually strolled the raging river and woodland setting. We spent Mother's Day weekend hiking, swimming, enjoying the organic garden and art sculptures. OUr kids (9, 12) loved the game room as well.

The food was simply amazing. Both my spouse and I are foodies so we normally expect a buffet to specialize in one area or another. Sleeping Lady put out so many exquisite dishes made to perfection that we are still raving about it to anyone who will listen.

Our alcove room was spacious, clean, and peaceful. The staff were friendly and efficient.

Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: They have a Canine Companion room all ready with beds and bowls if you are traveling with a furry fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rootsandshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks you so much for your wonderful review of our resort. We are always delighted when our guests leave feeling the way you described. We believe our resort is very special and when we receive an amazing review like this it really lifts the spirit of our team.

I'm glad to hear you are planning your return and look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Paula Helsel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    86
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
168
172
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful retreat located in Leavenworth. Very cute cabins with lofts to stay in. Meetings venue is great, retreat location. Trails with art work, nature, bears eating by the river.

The food is amazing, all locally grown and made, food plans included with the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We so appreciate hearing from our guests. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Paula Helsel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A resort for all who crave peace, mountain air, wonderful organic foods, professional caring service, a special lodging to meditate or walk hand in hand
with someone special. A library, a good rock pool and hot tub, local gifts, excellent cafe on site. Well bulit cabins, good sound prooofing, and natural sunlight.
Exceptional well appointed resort for the naturlist, artist, or foodie who wants to
enjoy R and R whilst watching the comings and goings of quiet guests appreciating the surroundings. A wedding was taking place the day we left on ,The Knoll. They can accommodate 210 people. Absolutely No Smoking, good trails and near to the city of Leavenworth for a good local craft beer or excellent shopping and fun. We did the Birding Package and Great Escape package and although we didn't see many birds, they are there according to the Twitters of this area.

Room Tip: Cabin 108 backed onto a forest of sunlight and had an extra window bed for reading. Good location to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanspray726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I so appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review of our resort. Your comments reflect all of the ideas we aspire to provide our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Paula Helsel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This isn't a camp but the grounds remind me of the camps in my area albeit with much more luxurious accommodations...and a bar. The Sleeping Lady is a wonderful place and I can't wait to return. It started with needing to change my reservation at the last minute due to a family health crisis. The reservation desk was able to move our reservation and did it at the same price. Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a loft room for three. It looks much bigger on the website but was fine for our needs. I took the twin bed and while it was comfortable, it did tilt a bit probably because it is used as the room's daybed/couch. The room was clean and we had plenty of towels and other necessities.

The grounds are beautiful. There are trails all around the grounds with sculptures to discover at every turn. At night I was both enamored and in awe of how loud the frogs were! Personally i loved it, (it's one of the sounds on my sleeping app). There is a bar about halfway through the grounds. It has an outdoor seating area too, though it was too cold for that when we were there. The bar is not open late, (9) but it met our needs. The restaurant is a buffet. There are many things to chose from and most of it was great. I am not a huge fan of the buffet as I think it's hard to keep hot food fresh. While this was a better than average buffet, for me it wasn't anything to write home about. It was included in the price though and that made it all the better. The breakfast buffet was much better. This too is included in the price of the room.

The only negative is that if people are talking while walking around you can hear them which woke us up late at night once. The resort was not full when we were there and I wonder about the noise at night when it is full. Overall, I loved The Sleeping Lady and I would recommend it for solos, couples, friends and families, something that you don't often find in one place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main walking path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BijouxButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort. We truly value feedback from our guests!

I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to having an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I lucked into staying a single night at the Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort this weekend. We made a last-minute decision to head out of town for the weekend. I only had about an hour to decide on a direction for the drive, so I did a quick web search. I decided that the mountains surrounding Leavenworth would be a nice change from being in the city. Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort was one of the choices presented that I hadn't seen before. The prices were reasonable and the pictures looked inviting so I took a chance.

Let me just say that the pictures online do not do this place justice. There is so much more to the place than you see online. There's a gym, library, soaking pool and sauna in addition to beautiful mountain surroundings. The room was spacious and could have easily slept 5-6 adults. I will definitely be back and will remember to pack a swimsuit next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I appreciate hearing about your recent stay and delighted you had such a lovely time. Feedback from our guests is truly valuable to us.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back, swim suit in tow! Our beautiful Woodland Rock Pool opens April 15th!

Respectfully,
Paula Helsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
415 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Knowing little about this place but wanting to bring my fiancé to Leavenworth, neither of us realized what a treat we were in for! We have a room with a king bed and an alcove that technically is a twin. We are sitting in it right now while reading, watching the passers-by. I'm in one of the robes provided for the visit.

There's not a tv in the room, and the resort's library, game room (separate buildings) pool, hot tub and sauna are all a short walk, along with the two restaurants and bar.

Beautiful scenery...it's hard to leave and go into 'town'!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Respectfully,
Paula Helsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cannot wait to return! While I tend to avoid kitschy, crowded Bavarian tourist-town Leavenworth, this quiet retreat a few miles up the Icicle River Road is a completely different experience. An aesthetic sensibility that honors the setting, along with a strong environmental ethic, sets Sleeping Lady apart. Cabins are scattered throughout the pine forest, furnished with tasteful log decor, neutral colors and natural fibers. The cotton sheets and down duvet were so comfortable I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning...But the breakfast that beckoned was worth it.

Indeed, the food at Sleeping Lady may have exceeded the mountain views as my top highlight. Produce is grown in the organic garden on the premises with the rest sourced locally or regionally from small-scale farms, orchards, dairies and livestock producers. It's totally fresh, homemade (right down to the creamy herb salad dressing and hot mixed-berry compote to pour over Belgian waffles), and wherever possible, organic. Don't let the buffet-style presentation make you think the meals are anything less than what you'd get at a top restaurant in Seattle - the advantage is that you can eat all you like! Dining is further enhanced by the restaurant's design - a lofty structure of rugged beams, rock and big glass windows that look out onto the river and peaks, echoing the harmony-in-nature theme that pervades every aspect of Sleeping Lady.

One final note: don't miss the free-form rock swimming pool or (in winter) hot pool up the hill, and get a massage - though pricey, it too captured the artistry of the entire Sleeping Lady experience. This is a place to come when you want to nurture body and spirit, rather than pinch pennies. While it's not inexpensive, high quality is evident in every element of your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkhels, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We so appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort. It is so helpful to hear from our guests so we know all of the areas that our guests love and those areas we need to focus on.

Again thank you so much and we hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,021 reviews
2.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Home Lodge
Mountain Home Lodge
#9 of 17 in Leavenworth
210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort

Property: Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Address: 7375 Icicle Rd, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leavenworth
#2 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breathtaking beauty of Washington's Cascade Mountains, superb cuisine and accommodations in harmony with nature create a destination like no other. Located just two hours from Seattle and nestled into the forest on the banks of Icicle Creek, Sleeping Lady offers inspiring outdoor venues, art, beautiful guestroom and gathering places - the ideal backdrop for events, adventures and escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Lady Mountain Hotel Leavenworth
Sleeping Lady Mountain Retreat Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing