We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unique Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Boatyard Inn for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location and the accomodation. We took Unit #9 which is dog friendly. The room is spacious and includes a galley kitchen good enough for making breakfast and a light meal.
The view from the room is good as the inn is right on the water, steps away from the quaint downtown area of Langely. We enjoyed a few good local restaurants including Village Pizza and Primvera. There is an abundance of wine tasting establishments in the town as well as in the surrounding area. The dog loved the dog friendly beach and parks which are nearby.

Room Tip: Romm #9 has a good view and is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia55570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I am so pleased that you and your pooch enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn. Suite 9 is our one designated pet friendly unit (small dogs only), and it's a favorite of humans and canines alike. The Village Pizzeria is a great place to eat and is just a block up the hill. It was renovated late last year, adding waterfront dining and a classy sports bar. It's also a good option for takeout if you prefer dining in your suite. (Oddly they don't accept credit cards so bring cash or check.). We hope to see you and your two- and four-legged friends again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We scheduled a last minute stay at Boatyard Inn on January 11th. We stayed in Unit # 9. The fee was $150 for the night + tax. Super clean and comfortable with all the amenities we needed and then some. We will return.. Bed super comfortable, wonderful selections of coffee, teas etc. Danish etc at front desk for breakfast. LOVED THIS PLACE! HIghly recommend!

Room Tip: Unit # 9 had a partial view slight obstructed by another building but actually plenty of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterstager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. I am glad you enjoyed Suite 9, a favorite of many guests for several reasons: though it is not "on" the water as the other units are, it is in a quiet building by itself with a direct view of the mountains and Sound between two other buildings; the private deck is covered, allowing outside seating regardless of weather; a gas barbeque on the deck makes dining in a great option. We hope you will return again soon to experience the quiet and peacefulness of winter on Whidbey Island while rates are discounted through April.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammamish
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I have made it a tradition to spend his birthday at the Boatyard Inn. In addition to countless other great visits, his birthday celebration at the Boatyard is always wonderful. Happily, we recently moved from the Seattle area to Whidbey Island and we still chose this inn as our "getaway". We were lucky to stay in one of the Driftwood Suites - a piece of heaven. I cannot say enough about how beautiful all the rooms are - the location is perfect, with balconies which hang right over the beach and water. Walking to town takes only a few minutes, but it is hard to leave the property. The innkeeper is the best. The Boatyard would not be the same without Mynda.

Room Tip: Have stayed in almost all of the rooms and would recommend all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday celebration, and we are so happy you chose the Boatyard Inn for your annual tradition. Many of our guests feel as you do -- that it is hard to leave the inn once you get there. With a fully stocked kitchenette in each of our twelve suites, you have the choice of dining out or dining in. And yes, over the fourteen years she has been with us, we are fortunate that Mynda has indeed become the face of the Boatyard Inn. Our new assistant innkeeper, Sherri, is also a long-time resident of the island and shares Mynda's passion to provide the best possible experience for every guest. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My friends and I enjoyed ourselves immensely at the Boatyard Inn back in November 2013. Loved our loft suite - bright, clean, right over the beach, stocked kitchen (with utensils, dishes and cookware), gas fireplace. Totally cozy. DVDs and games of all sort, books, too available in the office. Management very friendly and welcoming. We walked up to the village of Langely after breakfast and wandered around. Thoroughly succumbed to a sea salt scrub at the Langely Inn Spa. There is even a little theatre in the village. Check it out before you go. Sometimes there are live performances, too. Highly recommend this inn if you travel this way.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the ocean. Only difference might be whether you want the main floor or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyFlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am happy to hear about your recent trip to the Boatyard Inn and greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Of the twelve units comprising the Boatyard Inn, ten are within a few feet of the water's edge. Regarding the other two, Unit 9 is set back from the other buildings but does have a view of the water, covered deck, and small gas barbeque; Unit 10 has no view of the water though it is popular for those who desire the comfort and space more typical of a townhouse than a hotel room. Unit 10 downstairs includes a full kitchen (with oven), living/dining room, powder room, and outside covered deck. Upstairs is a bedroom and bathroom. The Clyde movie theatre (circa 1937) that you mentioned features current films year round. Right now 12 Years a Slave is showing, with Philomena and Saving Mr. Banks following shortly. Movies are great but there is nothing better than treating yourself to some pampering at the Spa at the Inn at Langley. So glad you enjoyed it!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had an amazing weekend stay! The staff was awesome, and the accommodations were perfect. We had no choice but to relax, unwind and enjoy some much needed family time. Highly recommended to all! Very romantic, peaceful and beautiful location! Looking forward to staying there again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I am pleased that you and your family had such an enjoyable time at the Boatyard Inn during your recent stay. Due to the recent cold weather, I doubt you spent much time outside on your deck. So we would love the opportunity to welcome you back sometime this spring or summer when your kids can hunt for treasures on the beach out front during one of our low tides or you can all rent kayaks (singles and doubles available) and launch them in front of the inn. We appreciate your choosing the Boatyard Inn for your family retreat and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is now the second time we have stayed as the best kept secret in Langley! So romantic, so charming and a fantastic value - the property being right on the water - as in the beauty of the sea and soothing sound of the water practically lapping at the elegantly appointed Driftwood Suite. The sunset stunning and now we know this property is as much of a treat in the Winter as well as in the Summer - we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Driftwood suites are definitely the best for a couples get away! Plan to cook dinner in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Apkeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience at the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. The secret is definitely out! We built the two luxurious Driftwood Suites a year ago, and they have quickly become our most popular rooms for couples looking for a quiet, romantic getaway right on the water's edge. You are right that summer is ideal for steaming up a Dungeness crab purchased right off one of the boats in the marina next door. But equally sublime in winter is to walk up to the Star Store in Langley and purchase fresh Penn Cove mussels, reputed to be among the best in the world---not just the Pacific Northwest. You can then easily bring them back to your room, cook them up in olive oil, garlic, chopped tomatoes, wine and fresh basil and voila: a feast to remember! Just one correction to your comments: You mentioned the stunning sunset. I assume you meant sunrise, which especially this time of year can be jaw-dropping.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Boatyard Inn is one of the most spectacular jewels I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. From Mynda, one of the most breath taking, kind, accommodating Inn Keepers of all time (& she makes a mean latte) to the out of this world suites, the phenomenal views, the charming town of Langley and it's float scramble, to the delicious food everywhere to turn, to the adorable shops. The beaches, the boats, the games! Each little detail was met with thought and care. If I was a wealthy lady, I would go every weekend! Thank you Mynda and Boatyard Inn for bringing life back I to my weary soul and a smile that still remains on my happy face.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollygolightly312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am so pleased you chose the Boatyard Inn and Langley as your place of respite. I don't know whether you came to Langley specifically to take part in the Sea Float Scramble or whether the event just happened to coincide with your visit. Whatever, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. Did you take home a glass float? Last weekend was the second annual Sea Float Scramble sponsored by Callahan's Firehouse, Langley's glass-blowing studio where novices are encouraged to blow their own glass marine floats. For the Scramble, Callahan's donates hundreds of hand-blown glass floats and "hides" them in plain view along the waterfront starting at the Dog House and continuing along the Langley Waterfront Park. At the blow of a horn, participants scatter to collect the colorful glass balls (similar to an Easter egg hunt). This year over two hundred locals and visitors (many who made hotel reservations almost a year in advance) participated in the hunt, with almost everyone taking home a float. Best of all, there is no charge for all of this fun.
I wanted to acknowledge your kind comments about our innkeeper, Mynda, who has so adeptly managed the Boatyard Inn for fourteen years. We are so fortunate to have Mynda at the helm, and she is now joined by Sherri, our new Assistant Innkeeper, who shares Mynda's vision and goal to create the best guest experience possible.
You don't need to be wealthy to return to the Boatyard this winter and spring when rates are reduced. We would love nothing more than to help you retain your happy face!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing