We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to Whidbey Island”
Review of Saratoga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saratoga Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This bed and breakfast and the community it is located in are a wonderful place to get away from it all for a little while. From the moment we booked our room online to the time we checked out after a four day visit, we were impressed with the efficiency of the establishment. The website is very well designed, making choice and booking a room very easy. All of the staff is exceedingly friendly and accommodating, trying their utmost to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The Inn is very well maintained and upkeep is definitely a strong priority that is noticed throughout the public and private rooms as well as the exterior and grounds.
The breakfasts are delicious and different every morning being prepared by the talented cook/chef Susan Vanderwood. As a matter of fact Susan has also published a fine cookbook containing many of the specialties she serves at the Inn.
From 4:00-5:00 pm guests are treated to some tasty hors d'oeuvres and wine in the lounge.
The front porch is equipped with comfortable rocking chairs allowing any guest the opportunity to relax and enjoy the magnificent view towards the East over the waterways and mountains beyond. This view and location is particularly nice in the morning sun. The afternoon sun and atmosphere can be enjoyed on the Inn’s back west-facing porch.
While Langley is a quiet town, and things get even more peaceful in the evening, I would suggest that any guests particularly sensitive to the sound of an occasional vehicle driving by at night might prefer to choose a room facing the back of the Inn.
I cannot recommend this Inn enough for anyone wanting to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review: Rooms facing the West are very quiet. While the road is very quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

While Whidbey Island is your escape; we find BC our favorite and frequent escape. We always enjoy the cheerful Canadians in our small seaside village and especially appreciate your thoughtful review; Thank you. Hope to see your next return to the Inn. J&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at the Saratoga Inn for a girls get-away and had a lovely time! This was our second time staying here, and we've loved it both times. The beds are comfy, the rooms are nice and clean, the "tea time" in the afternoon is a wonderful time to relax and unwind after check-in, and the breakfasts are delicious! Our favorite part of our entire stay was relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch of the Inn, enjoying the view of Saratoga Passage, a good glass of wine and wonderful conversation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Yes, the front rockers are a great place for some relaxing "Porch-Talk" ... especially for a girls-get-away retreat. Thanks for coming back and lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at The Saratoga Inn. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The hot breakfast and the late afternoon treats were delicious. My room was beautiful and clean.
I already made plans to stay there again this summer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovebeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hello J&J in San Diego .... thanks for visiting the Pacific NW ... we trust your entire stay was wonderful and we are pleased the SI played a part in that ... come back again, soon! J&J on Whidbey Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently visited the Saratoga Inn and had a wonderful time. Everything was clean, accommodating and very comfortable! We would definitely recommend this Inn to everyone. We'd love to return again soon.
J & J in San deigo

Room Tip: A request for a second floor room would enhance your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The best shower of any inn or B&B we have stayed in - big, lots so consistently hot water, hand held shower option. Great afternoon hors d'ourves and wine, fresh cookies, tasty breakfast. Be sure to ask for a view room - well worth it.

A quiet spot, comfortable beds, nice view, and you can walk to the shops and restaurants in Langley.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you, Arlene, for your kind review while complementing our afternoon "tea-time." You may be one of the first to mention the shower ... enjoy ... come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have visited Whidbey every year during Valentines weekend to attend their annual Red Wine and Chocolate Event. This year, my husband and I decided it would be fun to stay the night. We found the Saratoga Inn online and were so excited to stay there after seeing the beautiful photos and reading the rave reviews! When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly smiles and a complimentary tea/wine and snack selection downstairs which was the perfect way for us to unwind after being out and about all day. We settled into our beautiful room right on the corner or the upper floor (room 12) overlooking the cute town of Langley and a partial view of the water. It was a beautiful room and we enjoyed our time simply relaxing before dinner and watching the sunset. The fireplace was very nice and the room was quiet and peaceful. My only "complaint" is that the bed was quite hard (likely an older mattress) and although my husband didn't seem to mind it I woke up with a stiff back. I think a soft mattress topper on the bed would solve the problem. We also loved that we could "rent" a movie (no charge) from the front desk and watch it on the dvd player in the room! I'd highly recommend the Saratoga Inn, and my husband and I look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hello Jamie T ... We are pleased you enjoyed the Inn but regret the disappointing sleep because of the bed. Since there were no other complaints on file, we slept on the bed ourselves and couldn't agree with you more; so, there is now a brand new comfy bed in room 12. Thanks for your feed back ... hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great room and view of Saratoga Passage and Cascade mountians. The breakfasts were some of the best I have ate. There were plenty of choices and most were made at the Inn. The afternoon wine and snacks were a good addition. You could just about get away from going out to dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9 on the water side. No balcony or deck but good views through windows of water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doeskin, Owner at Saratoga Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hello Dale H .... thank you for choosing the Saratoga Inn for your Valentine ... we'll be here next year .... come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
7.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
286 reviews
6.0 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Inn

Address: 201 Cascade Ave, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: $165 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Saratoga Inn, a romantic island getaway just a ferry ride away within the charming seaside village of Langley. Enjoy beautiful views of the Cascade Mountains and Saratoga Passage from the privacy of your room or from our friendly common area, which includes an old-fashioned porch. Gather in our Commons for a hot breakfast and complimentary afternoon wine and cheese. Hot beverages, ice, DVDs, WI-FI, HVAC and bicycles are also complimentary. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance from the Inn. Park you car and enjoy some small town walk-about living and stress-free "Porch-Talk!"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Saratoga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Langley
Saratoga Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing