We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Upscale Hotel...not an old mansion”
Review of Inn at Langley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Langley
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Upscale Hotel...not an old mansion”
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We have just returned from a family vacation in Seattle. We stayed in the city most of the week but we did rent a car to take the ferry to Whidbey Island and spend an overnight on one of the islands. The Inn at Langley was not some old mansion with widows walks, etc. It's a very sophisticated, very clean, modern motel directly on a bluff overlooking the water. From the exterior it has a rustic feel but the interior is filled with luxuries like radiant heat in the bathroom floor, jacuzzi and shower overlooking the water, built in sound system throughout the cottage, DVD/VCR, etc. The decor is attractive and the furnishings are very comfortable. We stayed in the 2 story cottage (1 & 1/2 baths). Staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet is absolutely delicious and it looks like a photo shoot from Bon Appetit magazine. If you are used to the Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton then you'll be quite happy with the 2 story cottage at the Inn at Langley....

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Mike's Place: local coffee/ice cream bar...Town of Langley reminds me of Martha's Vineyard 25 years ago!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UpscaleVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    47
    18
    15
    3
See reviews for
8
207
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the inn and had a fabulous time! We stayed in a corner room on the top floor of the inn. We loved our room and it's Asian-inspired design (clean lines with a great mix of natural materials), high ceilings, large windows and gorgeous balconey. Our bathroom had a jacuzzi tub right next to a window (which made for great romantic moments sitting in the tub and staring out at the water) and a large open-air shower.

We were lucky to get one of the rooms with a renovated cedar deck (they were in the process of renovating all of them during our stay) and my husband and I spent a lot of time out there lounging on the teak chairs, sipping wine or gin & tonics and watching the whales, eagles, and various water birds. The deck was a great place to read, talk, and stare slack-jawed at the tide slowing coming in and out as the day progressed. We had beautiful sunsets and sunrises with some very foggy mornings followed by cozy, romantic, rainy days. Early April can definitely be cool. I needed a coat, gloves, and scarf on some evenings/early mornings.

Our room was meticulously cleaned each day. The staff was very accommodating when we requested our room be cleaned at a specific time. Our room was re-stocked with Duraflame logs each day - which for us, was one of the few drawbacks to our stay. The Duraflame logs lack that great "crackle-snap" of true wood in a fireplace and they smell like a firecracker while they're burning.

A few FYI's for people planning on going to the inn - all of the front doors on the rooms open to the outdoors, NOT within the inn. I don't think they have bellhops - we had to carry our own luggage up to our room, which we didn't mind, although I would think someone would help you if you asked. The picnic baskets you can order have a TON of wonderful food and a full bottle of wine. We could have easily skipped breakfast and dinner and been supremely satisfied. Dinner at the inn was excellent! The chef spends some time talking about the menu - long enough to be interesting and informative and short enough not to be irritating. There were plenty of choices for breakfast at the buffet. Numerous newspapers to read. Guests are allowed to get a tray of food and bring it to their room.

Langley is a great small town. Quaint, quiet, and scenic. There's plenty of restaurants and stores within 1 block walking distance of the inn. Overall we had a fabulous time and we're definitely looking forward to returning.

  • Liked — The rooms, scenery, and food.
  • Disliked — Duraflame logs in fireplace instead of wood logs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a corner room. The inn does provide binoculars for whale/wildlike viewing.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank TS&LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We returned to the Inn at Langley for a third time this past June. Once again, we had a great stay. The views from the balconies are lovely - from sunrise to sunset (the inn faces north). We paid extra for a corner room this time, and the extra $20 per day was well worth it. Rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms. Breakfast is included and has a good variety. We absolutely love the place and would definitely return. The setting in a great, quiet little town, is a real plus. Plenty of good restaurants and shops are in easy walking distance. Additionally, the hotel has access to the shore, which means when the tide is out, one can walk quite a distance up and down the waterfront.

The only negative comment is that the lights on the hallways on the lower floors are not kept lit during the day, which means they get rather dark during cloudy days.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

The Inn at Langley does not live up to the reviews I read in preparation for our trip (and I do perform alot of research prior to any trip). I'll start with the positive aspects: 1) the continental breakfast is nice (fruits, pastry, quiche), 2) the water view is lovely and picturesque, and 3) the town of Langley is nice and quaint (for a quiet, relaxing type vacation - but you can drive to other towns on Whidbey or take the ferry to other islands if you want to have more activity during your stay). However, the Inn at Langley is not superior in these aspects: 1) the cleanliness is not good! We found dead bugs everywhere in the room, the bathroom was never cleaned well, the carpets were vacuumed only once in a weeks time, and, requests for cleaning are ignored; 2) Although the staff is pleasant, there was no follow-through on promises. We were told they would make dinner reservations for us, but it was never accomplished. (the restaurants in Langley CLOSE EARLY [some at 8:30 and we weren't informed of that] and there are no alternatives at the Inn (the Inn restaurant is only open for dinner on the weekend); 3) the rooms are ok, although not plush. We had a suite which cost $365/night and other small inns we have stayed at have offered much more luxurious surroundings. I have repeatedly relied on the Conde' Nast Traveler's Lists of best places to stay and the Inn at Langley was on the '05 list (may also be on the '06). I will no longer rely on Traveler magazine because they were SO WRONG on this one!

Helpful?
10 Thank 30whiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2006

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Inn, and was fairly dissapointed, given the number of positive reviews, as well as several mentions within various travel publications.

Front Desk staff, although very friendly, did not seem to be as astute as what you would expect from an Inn that holds itself out as an upscale establishment (they certainly charge a premium). One example of this would be the wrong direction they gave us on a map for place we wanted to go to on the island. Secondly, when booking, we were not informed from the staff that the front desk closes in the early evening, which would have been an inconvenience, had there been a delay in traffic. Another issue... the staff taking our reservation never faxed our confirmation as requested. Lastly, when told to staff upon our arrival that there were opened drinks in our fridge, they acknowledged that there would not be any charges, but never informed housekeeping to remove the cans the entire stay.

The rooms are clean, large, and above average with respect to furnishings; however, not as nice as one would expect at this price range. One major irritant about the room is the old heating unit located across the room from the bed. You have to walk over to operate the unit. The unit does not moderate temperature using a thermostat, instead it only pumps in hot air at a constant temperature that you set. This turned out to be a problem on a cold January night, when after bringing the room up to a warm temperature, you need to shut it off, otherwise the room turns into an oven. The fan in the heater is quite loud, so most people can't really leave it on all night. Within a couple of hours, the room then becomes quite cold. These things wouldn't be so much of a problem, if I was staying at a guest house, or pensione, but there are higher expectations of an Inn like this.

We were suprised that the large room we were in was not furnished with a king sized bed, but that wasn't a problem. Not that we spent a lot of time watching TV, but I was suprised the Inn advertises that all rooms have a TV with DVD/VCR combo, when you end up sitting 12 feet away from an old 19" TV. These were niceties that were missing, but not critical. The Jacuzzi tub was nice and snug. The room had a hair dryer, ironing board, bathrobes, and great bath products. The wood burning fireplace was a nice touch, and the view was good from the room. Finally, the Inn serves a great breakfast (wonderful freshly baked goods), that you can bring back to your room.

All in all, the Inn at Langley is average; however in our opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ahstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Right over the beach, view of the sound from in-room hot tub. Friday and Saturday night, the owner comes up to cook dinner using local ingredients. Guests sit in the kitchen and watch the preparation. Great fun, easy access from Seattle and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLBean314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend anniversary. What a fabulous place it is. The room was what we envisioned and more. What a romantic spot. The pictures are an accurate reflectiion. The jacuzzi next to the open shower, the fireplace, and the beautiful views of the Sound. Dinner is a must! We ate for three hours! The Chef is a delight and very informative - he begins the meal by describing what you will have and where the food comes from. During dinner, we were enjoying the massive stone fireplace and looking out the window and even saw one of the chef's assistants carrying in apples he had just picked from the trees outside to be used for our meal. You can't get any fresher than that. The food was extraordinary. The continental breakfast is much more than you can imagine. Fresh homemade pastries, fruits, muffins, quiche, etc. There is even a spice garden in front. The office is very accomodating and very good about making reservations for you to other spots. The Fish Bowl and the Cafe Langley are also very good. The inn sits next to wonderful shops so you can just walk out your door and a few steps away begin exploring the many shops. We found that many of the artists share shops and have beautiful unique items in each. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend the inn and dinner. THe only drawback for some might be that many of the rooms are down or up stairs so you have to carry your luggage. Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTHEROFTHREE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.3 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
266 reviews
8.1 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Langley

Property: Inn at Langley
Address: 400 1st St, Box 835, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8800
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Langley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Langley built into a bluff overlooking the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Langley Hotel Langley
Inn At Langley Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing