We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R Heaven!”
Review of Inn at Langley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Langley
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We recently stayed at the Inn at Langley and were thrilled with our choice. Friends stayed there a few years ago and recommended that we do the same. We are so grateful for their recommendation!

The Inn at Langley was a great getaway. The room was lovely with a terrific deck overlooking the water. As someone who loves a good bathroom I was tickled with the big tub and shower (both of which also have a view of the water). We loved the nice touches such as the complimentary snacks and drinks each day and the logs for the in-room fireplace. It was so relaxing to sit by the fire, sipping wine, reading a book all to the sound of gentle waves lapping the shores just outside of our room. The front desk staff was super helpful without going overboard. They were able to point us in the right direction for hiking trails which I would highly recommend if you want to get out. There are tons of short trails and longer ones, all of which were quite easy and relaxing.

Breakfast was delicious. They bill it as a continental breakfast and I suppose it is, but the homemade and fresh taste of anything doesn't feel like your typical continental breakfast. We had fresh local fruits and breads along with an egg dish and yummy cakes. We liked that we could load up a tray and bring it back to our room or stay in the restaurant which was really comfortable.

Looking at the title of this review you can guess that we didn't do too much else besides enjoy the peace of our room. We enjoyed meals at Mike's and at the pizza place in town (forgot the name, but order the spinach salad--it was soooo good!). We walked through the downtown Langley area and shopped a little, hiked one morning, but otherwise we were very content to sit on our deck gazing into the distance, nap, and eat good food. What else could you ask for?

If our travels take us to Whidbey Island again we will CERTAINLY stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DeDeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Langley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

The Inn at Langley is a great place to relax and unwind. The rooms face the water with a large balcony including 2 chairs and a small cocktail type table.

The rooms are large and well appointed and have large windows so the view can be enjoyed while in the comfort of your room. The room has a fireplace and DVD player with free movies available in the lobby area.

Our room was a king and the bathroom had an open shower, very large with no door and a jacuzzi tub on the water side of the room.

Breakfast was included in a lovely room and included fresh fruits, baked goods, toast, bagels, quiche and many other choices. It was lovely. There is also a small spa on the premises.

We really enjoyed our stay and the Inn at Langley and would return if inthe area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

After trying unsucessfully to book four nights anywhere around Seattle for the middle of August, I stumbled upon the Inn at Langley while reading another high end travel website. I tried the Inn's website to no avail to obtain reservations. I decided to call directly to the Inn and spoke with a wonderful woman named Brenda. She not only helped me find the four nights we needed she assured me we would find the rest and relaxation both my husband I needed after a difficult three months both personally and professionally. Since I'm from "other coast" I had not heard of Whidby Island and knew nothing of where we were visiting. My husband was already in the Seattle area for work, and I was going out to visit.

Brenda was right on the money. As soon as we got off the ferry in Clinton and drove into the town of Langley (all of three commercial blocks long and two commercial blocks wides) we knew we would relax. Not a franchise eatery in sight. The Inn gives a very feng shui feel. We arrived after 7pm and the office was closed. There was a note taped to the door with instructions on how to find our room.

The room was lovely and as described on the website. All rooms look over the sound and have a huge deck that invites you to sit and listen to the water as it laps against the shore line. There is a fire place and they supply two dura logs each day for your use. The shower is a walk in and immediately prior to the soaking tub. The tub sits in an alcove with windows overlooking the sound. If you don't relax here you can't relax anywhere.

We walked into town (two blocks) to the local bistro for the first night
dinner. The bistro is located upstairs over the local grocery store. The food was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and professional. This is a lovely town.

We woke up the next morning to a beautiful day and went to breakfast that is included. The chef, Matt ??, is very well known in the region. He was the original chef at Dahlia's in Seattle and at the Four Seasons. The breakfast was fabulous. We had dinner there one evening. If you can, I strongly suggest you make reservations and eat there. The dinner is a prix fix 6 course menu. The chef comes out and discusses the menu in advance and his philosophy of cooking. All the ingrediants are local and most from Whidby Island. The meal was wonderful. We also did the wine pairing. This was one very expensive dinner. And worth every penny
If you can, ask to sit at the chef's table. It's a table with 10-12 seats. You will be seated with lots of interesting people. Otherwise, there are tables around the restaurant, for twos and a couple of fours. The restaurant is not large.

There is a spa that is located next door to the Inn. It is fine. It has massages, facials but don't expect the Ritz Carlton.

All in all, Whidby Island and Inn at Langley were exactly what my husband and I needed for our relaxing four day break. We went back to Seatac and didn't have one argument about how to drive to the airport!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We heard many wonderful things about this Inn, and all seemed true from our stay. We had a beautiful room with a balcony (Room 41), with beautiful views of mountains to both left and right from our balcony. The room was well-laid out, all amenities were provided, and the jacuzzi tub was a great way to relax. The management provides soft drinks, water, snacks, and coffee/tea at no charge - there is also beer and wine in the refrigerator in the suite, but there is an extra charge for these. The staff in the office were very helpful with trip details and suggestions, and the chef was present at breakfast and making special dishes for those with dietary demands. All in all, a wonderful spot - We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaJandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We spent three midweek days at the Inn. The facility is beautiful and the balconies were a wonderful relaxing place to read and gaze at the water. Continental breakfast in included and the pastries and fresh fruit were wonderful (especially the scones). Don't miss the Chef's Table dinner - an intimate six course experience with wonderful locally produced food.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We decided to go all out and booked a Master Suite at the Inn. The website described the rooms as having a 180-degree waterfront view and whirl-bath jetted tub. On arriving we found that the Suites are not in the same location as the Inn, no big deal it was just a few doors down. We were walked down to the Gallery Suite by a staff member at the Inn. We were very surprised to find the Gallery Suite was actually above a gallery (hence the name) which faced the street. The one view you have out of the suite is of the street and the other view is the parking lot behind the Saratoga Suite (that suite does have a water view). Needless to say we were very disappointed. We were so looking forward to a quiet, relaxing weekend with a water view. What we got instead was the noise from the gallery, the street, and the restaurants nearby. To top it off they didn't have a whirl-bath jetted tub either. It was a big soaking tub and with the way the hot water/ pressure was working it would have taken forever to fill. I'm sure to some this is not a big deal but it really bothered us that they describe the two Suites as having the same features when in fact that is not true. It appears that these suites are pretty new as the staff was not familiar with the amenities in the room. We had to ask for several things to be refilled (due to the fact that they were empty on arrival) and got quizzical looks. We spoke with the person that checked us in and she did take $250 off a night. We asked that the website mention the difference in rooms and were told that she would speak to someone about that. We checked the web site today (30 days later) and it's still the same. If you book one of these rooms call the Inn directly and request the Saratoga Suite. We were also told that clicking on a specific room on their booking site does not guarantee that room. The Gallery Suite is very nice but not as advertised.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank churchblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I am sad to report that we were disappointed by our stay at this inn. When we pay this much, we expect to have a more comfortable, more delightful experience.

Our weekend stay at the Inn was one of the first getaways my husband and I had had for a long time. We were referred to the Inn by our concierge at our hotel in Seattle, and booked our stay many weeks in advance.

On the advice of TripAdvisor, we requested a corner room and agreed to pay $20 more per night. What we did not know is that there are two sets of corner rooms; one looks across the bay at the mountains, and one has a much lesser view of the bay in the other direction with no mountains. If you have the misfortune, as we did, of being assigned to the lowest "underground" level of the Inn, your corner view will be of--get this--BUSHES. I expressed my disappointment to the manager, and she rightly took off the extra charge for the corner room. If a view is important to you and you are willing to pay extra for it, make sure you request your corner room on the side of the hotel that looks back toward the mainland.

We found the room to be spartan and tired. Only the bed was comfortable. The rest of the chairs were either metal cafe chairs, a rocking chair with an old, sagging seat that required your thighs to angle upward over the seat frame, and some stiff high-back chairs that we had to pull up to the bed (to support our feet) to make comfortable.

Upon opening our refrigerator, we found three broken (exploded due to too much cold) beer bottles, which we had to clean up ourselves.

The sink fixtures in the bathroom were bubbled with corroded chrome. I had to move a trash can from the main room into the bathroom. I think every bathroom should have a trash can, period. The fluorescent lighting was surprisingly dark.

The shower, while tiled beautifully, did not function well. It had apparently had some problems in the past, and the sliding bar which had allowed for a personal shower had been abandoned for a highly-placed (as in 7-feet-high) showerhead. No one can take a shower without getting his/her hair wet, which isn't something I always want to do. Even though the shower stall is extremely spacious, the rigid showerhead requires you to stand uncomfortably against one wall of the shower in about 1/5 of the space of the stall.

To get to the bathtub, you have to walk over the sill of the walk-in shower and then climb over another barrier to get into the tub. One nice feature of the tub (I had better say something nice in this review) is that the tub has a sliding panel that you can open into the main room.

Perhaps it was because we were assigned to the lowest of the three levels, but the wall of our room was a cold, unfinished concrete. That part of the room was made more inhospitable by the metal cafe table which just picked up the cold. I would suggest that this type of table belongs outside (in a cafe!), and that a warmer, wood table or upholstered piece would make this part of the room more inviting. We simply avoided that dark, cold part of the room.

There is no comfortable common area at this hotel that you can slip away to when your partner wants to nap. There is only a small room (the size of a hotel room) where the person on duty meets the guests as they arrive. This room has a few chairs, but it is not a comfortable place where one can go to read a book or play a game without being fully interrupted by everything else going on.

For those with rooms on the first and second floors of the hotel, you must descend concrete steps to your rooms, lugging your luggage along. This area is dark and noisy with the sounds of the hotel washing machines, and could be made much nicer with flowers and more attention to groundskeeping (perhaps even a fountain to counteract the echoing noise of the washing machines). When we were there, it was pretty much an angled dirt and concrete area.

We did use the fireplace with the Duraflame logs. For me, that was really the only special part of the experience.

I would have liked a coffee pot in the room.

We elected to dine on the premises one evening, and although the food was well done, we found ourselves challenged at every single course by tastes that were actually more uncomfortable than comfortable for us. Please understand that we are not oyster lovers, or strong-cheese lovers, or lovers of cantaloupe-with-feta-cheese desserts. We discovered that we want to have more control over our menu for that kind of money. An 18% gratuity is added automatically to your check. We enjoyed the short talk by the chef and would have liked to hear more from him throughout the evening. We requested (!!!) and enjoyed our experience at the community dining table.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Sadly, it was pretty much identical both Saturday and Sunday morning (save for a different fruit in the scones). Since most guests stay for two nights, I would suggest more variety from one day to the next.

We both had massages at the attached-but-under-different-management spa on the property. We both rated our massages as uninteresting and not to be repeated.

So...in a nutshell...this room is not worth its price. Were I to return to the area, I would spend less and choose another hotel.

Stayed: March 2008
10  Thank MountHolyokeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.3 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
271 reviews
8.1 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
550 reviews
86.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Langley

Address: 400 1st St, Box 835, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8800
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: $280 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Langley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Langley built into a bluff overlooking the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Langley Hotel Langley
Inn At Langley Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing