We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place. Wonderful Staff”
Review of Inn at Langley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Langley
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night get-away this week. We came because of the beauty of the location, and the welcoming staff. We had stopped by in February when we were staying in another town on Whibey Island. The view and exterior of the Inn drew us inside to check it out. Brenda, the receptionist, was so kind and helpful. She was the main reason we returned so soon. She had talked about the grey whales that swam in the channel in front of the Inn during March/April and offered suggestions about our February trip. When April came around, we called for a reservation. Even though we didn't see whales due to the tide levels, we had a very relaxing time here. EVERY staff member greeted us warmly and thanked us for coming. The room was great, bathroom & jetted tub huge, and the breakfast was not just delicious and varied, but accommodated my husband's need for gluten free options.
Thank you to Brenda and the rest of the staff. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask about access if stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are Bellevue locals who did a weekend getaway and are so glad we chose the Inn at Langley! Everything was top notch - the communication before we arrived, Brenda's greeting and care of us upon arrival, our room, dinner with Chef Costello and team, breakfast brunch, massages in the spa -- they even ordered up sun for us! :) We felt pampered and wonderfully tended to by every staff member as if we were long-timers (which we now intend to become). The tasting dinner and wine pairing was phenomenal - wonderful tasting, inventive, witty, (one course was served in a petri dish and included a medicine dropper - such fun!), perfect portion sizes, served beautifully and paired perfectly -- on par with NYC and London for a fraction of the cost. The room was beautifully appointed with thoughtful touches like blankets, robes, and firewood as well as a hospitality bar where only beer and wine are charged (snacks and non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary). The owners stopped in at breakfast on our last day to thank us for coming - just one more example of the really special touches that Inn at Langley consistently delivered. We travel at least quarterly and we will DEFINITELY be back on a regular basis! Cannot recommend more highly. STELLAR

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms let you hear the waves, upper floors have even more expansive views. We were in 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243MichelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Inn at Langley will be joining our roster of annual or biennial NW getaways: we loved it! It's a great location for anniversaries and other special occasions, or simply for unplugging and enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and friendly service. We had a great experience at the restaurant, too, though I don't know that I recommend it for vegetarians. The chef is willing to cater to those who don't eat meat, or in my case red meat, but rather than substitutions or alternatives, almost all of the menu modifications are simply omitting the undesired ingredient. This left a few plates off-kilter: a little dry in some cases, a little bland in others. But for those who enjoy local, exquisitely prepared meat, the restaurant is a sure hit. My husband enjoyed every course, and we both appreciated the chef's creativity and craftsmanship.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoforTravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to the Inn at Langley with my elderly parents last week. We chose this particular Inn because they wanted a classy B&B experience in Langley without having to climb stairs. In light of the mobility restrictions involved, the reservationist was kind enough to give us parking lot-level rooms at their special March prices (which were normally given on only their lowest level rooms, two flights of stairs down from the entrance level).

From the Inn's web site, I counted 28 rooms and suites. Their amenities consist of a spa, a small sitting area in the lobby that is open from 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. (which is when the lobby is staffed by a single person) and a restaurant. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast (and is included in the room rate) and on weekends for dinner during the off-season. The Inn is actually a very upscale motel rather than a hotel, because there are no interior hallways.

The architecture is a pleasing version of "northwest modern": a color palette of grays and beiges with a fairly minimalist design featuring built-ins rather than a lot of furniture. All rooms have wide, unobstructed ocean views, and our rooms had fireplaces and oversized spa tubs facing the ocean along with a separate shower. Both of our 3rd-level rooms had large balconies that were perfect for contemplating the ocean. The balconies on this level were covered and so were more sheltered than the balconies on the 2nd level.

There were few people in the Inn during our visit, and we could understand why: it was overcast and rainy during our entire stay. While not unexpected in the San Juan Islands in March, it meant that the big windows were filled with gray skies and steel-gray ocean. Coupled with the gray interiors, it made for a less-than-cheery environment that even a fire in the fireplace couldn't entirely dispel.

Breakfast was quite good, and included a crustless quiche and inventive baked goods freshly made on the premises along with jam made from Washington's amazing marionberries (a cross between a blackberry and a raspberry). The tea selection and quality was definitely a cut above what I have experienced even in very luxurious B&Bs. The breakfast chef works in a completely open kitchen: it was enjoyable to sit at the big communal table watching him work. Guests who experience hunger pangs later in the day can indulge themselves with the thoughtful, complementary basket of snacks placed in each room.

People who go to the Inn at Langley as part of a family grouping should consider having at least one member of their party reserve a suite because there really is no communal sitting area for groups to gather once the lobby closes at 6 p.m. This means you should ask the front desk attendant about dinner recommendations prior to 6 p.m., as well.

If members of your party need to do sneak in some work (shame on them!), or if they like to web-surf on a computer that's not perched on their lap, they should be aware that there is no desk or table. Along these same lines, I also noted the lack of bright, well-placed reading lamps. Perhaps this was the management's way of telling me that I should just look at the ocean! ;-)

The Inn is very conveniently located near all the restaurants and shops that Langley has to offer. Wine enthusiasts will be happy to know that there are three tasting rooms within two blocks: perfect for some thorough sampling, followed by a stroll back to the hotel and late afternoon nap!

My opinion is that this Inn is not a cozy place to gather with family or friends during the off-season. In retrospect, I think that the first floor rooms at the nearby Saratoga Inn might have better suited us on this particular visit. I'm willing to bet, however, that the Inn at Langley would be simply glorious on a warm, sunny day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Context of stay: A weekend getaway
Positives: Perfect waterfront location, classic northwest architecture, great nearby shopping, very friendly staff, excellent room layout, furnishings, etc.
Negatives: parking is a bit tight
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott29inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

For almost 10 years, we've visited the Inn at Langley at least once a year and have been repeatedly pleased with the view, relaxation, accommodations and customer service The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that our stay is everything we could ask for and we enjoy seeing them all every time we go. The town of Langley is just as adorable and friendly as the Inn and we've gotten friendly with several shop keepers and look forward to seeing them as well. The food is top notch: we love the breakfasts and often enjoy splurging on the fabulous elaborate and entirely delicious dinners. The beds are comfortable, fireplaces so cozy, and the deep water baths are to die for and one of the biggest pulls. It has become such a favorite, that we got married there 2 years ago. This past weekend we were fortunate to go on the whale watch tour and saw 7 Orcus whales!

Room Tip: They all have an awesome view! Pick a cottage for more space, equipt with 2 floors and 2 fireplaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a delightful Inn to visit in early January in the charming little town of Langley on Whidbey Island. Our room had a fireplace supplied with enough logs for a fire well into the evening, a balcony to view the sunset, a scene from our room of the snow-capped mountains and the water, and a hot tub from which one could view the water and the fireplace. There also is a very nice staff. They even gave us free tickets to their little local cinema! The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful, with eggs cooked to order. I just wish we had been able to stay longer at this lovely place. I had a great massage at the spa there also. We will plan to come back for another restful and relaxing visit in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.3 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
276 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
17.7 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
21.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Langley

Address: 400 1st St, Box 835, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: $358 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Langley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Langley built into a bluff overlooking the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Langley Hotel Langley
Inn At Langley Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing