We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! :)”
Review of Inn at Langley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Langley
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We spent 2 nights there for our anniversary. It was a cozy, quiet and very clean inn. We absolutely loved it! The view was great too. It was a very good experience. I highly recommended it.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ERCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2007

we are from los angeles, middle aged couple
we wanted something close, yet w/far away feeling
this def did it

the water views were spectacular, fireplace in room, coffee frig etc was a plus for us
at Wynn's hotel in vegas, no in room coffee and we paid $30's a pot

good continental brkfast, again...that's worth $'s, for us all factored into the value

town of langley charming, quaint
rec. edgecliff restaurant and primo bistro in town

this is def a honeymoon destiny ..or...like us...those people still in love

Stayed: September 2007
Thank the-duos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife and I attended a wedding on Whidbey Island in August and the bride & groom were staying here on their wedding night so we figured it was something special.

The Inn at Langley certainly didn't disappoint one bit.

Getting to Whidbey was an adventure, especially after leaving Queen Anne (suburb of Seattle) at 4:15pm on a Friday afternoon. Beware the waiting ferry traffic on the shoulder as you approach the crossing. We jumped in line twice much to the chagrin of locals. We honestly didn't know what we were doing, how bad it was, and on the second attempt (after being booted out of line else 'the cops come & do it for us') even offered some nice gals behind us a bottle of wine to smoothe things over. Ten minutes later, they returned the wine, feeling bad for honking at us for 2 minutes straight and for giving the wrong impression of Washingtonians.

Just make sure you give yourselves ample time to cross and you'll be absolutely fine. We didn't mind it one bit, honestly. At the very least, the excitement got us hungry for dinner.

Which is at 7pm. We arrived at 7pm because of the delay with ferry traffic and upon checkin, the warm hostess reassured us that we could freshen up before going up for dinner.

Which was incredible. The chef was nice enough to wait for us to arrive at 7:30pm before talking to those of us gathered in the small, intimate dining room (which also has a communal table if you're so inclined) about what he was preparing for us that night. Mushrooms he picked in the forest during his jog earlier that day. Mussels from the bay just to the north. Most everything, if not everything, was from local producers. And it was absolutely delicious. The courses were plentiful and the wine pairings were tremendous. Wine from local producers as well, from Washington state and nearby Oregon. Try the L'ecole Semillon, delish! I'm not quite sure how you could walk away from this exceptional meal disappointed and hungry.

The dinner isn't cheap at $80 but you don't have to eat there if you don't want to. And you should know it's $80 before you go. It's on the website and the staff tells you when you're making your room reservation. There are plenty of other options on the island. Dinner at the restaurant is a magical experience in a beautiful room with a great chef. Note, the view from here is inside as the kitchen is right there in the room with you. It's not noisy as they've prepared much in advance so you still have a nice, quiet and wonderfully romantic time. What I'm saying is that even though the rooms are oceanfront, you don't see the ocean from the restaurant since it's behind the rooms. It was clear from the website so we weren't disappointed at all. And again, the show was on the inside. We had plenty of ocean views from our wonderful room!

The room was $265/ night and we stayed for two. Perhaps I'm numbed by L.A., NY, SF and vacation hotel prices (I probably am) but I was pleasantly surprised by the relatively low rate, which includes a fabulous breakfast, don't forget. In California, this joint would be $400+ easy. Perhaps the point is that it isn't California. But it doesn't matter. You've got an exceptional location, oceanfront with a 180 degree view across to the other island before the mainland, a cozy spa-style room with a wonderful deck and table, massive shower, spa tub, fireplace, TV, DVD & video player (movies and books in the lobby). What more could you ask for? Hopefully management won't be reading my review, but I would have paid more. I would expect to pay more. Now, that doesn't mean that I won't be looking to come back for the same rate next time!

Walking in town was lovely; such a quaint spot. We loved walking in front of the hotel, along the water. Be careful of the sand at lowtide...I was on a photo mission and started sinking in spots!

We couldn't get enough of sitting out on our deck; I piled up all sorts of goodies for breakfast in the dining room and we ate both mornings looking out over the water. I can't even imagine how great it would be during whale season.

Like another reviewer, we had the windows open during the night to hear the ocean lapping the shore. Also, it had been quite a beautifully warm day. I don't think that they had A/C in the rooms but you didn't need it. Come morning, it was cool again and the birds were cooing outside in the rafters. We closed the windows the second night.

All in all, a great experience; we left early (9:15am) on Sunday and had absolutely no line at the ferry which was a nice surprise! We spent the rest of the day just at the ferry landing on the other side drinking more wine and having bowls of chowder before our flight back. Ivar's is great!

We'd go back to Whidbey and the Inn at Langley in a heartbeat. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed in room 16 for a 2 night anniversary getaway. This inn is well worth the extra dollars. The hotel staff were exceptionally warm and friendly. We loved the water view and slept with our sliding door ajar so we could listen to the waves. The bed was very comfortable. We splurged and booked dinner with wine pairings at the Chef's Kitchen for our anniversary. The restaurant is quaint and inviting. Chef Matt Costello is a master at his craft. We were fortunate and dined on a night when dinner was 7 courses! "Just cause the chef felt like it " ,was our server's explanation. We treated ourselves to massages at the Spa Essencia on site. The staff there are very professional. We brought some of our own CD's from home and played them through the DVD machine and the flat screen tv sound system. The breakfast is amazing. It consisted of fresh yogurt, homemade muffins, scones and quiches and beautiful bowls of fresh fruit. We brought a full tray back to our room each morning and enjoyed it on the deck. The jacuzzi tub for two overlooks the ocean. We enjoyed strolling through the town of Langley during the day. I would highly recommend this inn.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank joemama15468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband and I took an early anniversary trip to Washington state, and i'm so glad we chose to travel the islands instead of staying in Seattle. We only stayed one night on Whidbey Island before traveling on to Orcas, and the Inn at Langley was the perfect romantic getaway! It has elegant rustic charm, gorgeous rooms, and the hot tub and views of the water are amazing. Langley is a tiny town, and the Inn was so cozy that we felt right at home in the small town. The breakfasts were outstanding. unfortunately we were there on a night when the restaurant wasn't open for dinner. It was a splurge for us to stay there, but one night was totally worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountaingirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

The room is good but not worth the price, not only they over charge you, they make sure that they will charge you a mandatory gratuity which in our case was almost $50 so beware, Don't have dinner though on their Chef's kitchen because you will pay $80 a person and thats not included, it would have been ok if your satisfied with your food but all they give you is such a small portion that your tastebud wont even have a chance to taste it, its that small, we are so dissapointed that night because were still hungry but the whole city seems to be close after 10 pm so we have to wait till the next morning. The only thing i like was their Breakfast Buffet. Think twice before staying on this Hotel or look around first !!!

Stayed: June 2007
10  Thank wasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My husband and I love this place! This is our favorite weekend getaway splurge. Although we'd love to stay at the Inn at Langley more often, we usually go about once a year, around our anniversary. It's a bit pricey (about $245+ per night), but so worth it, for so many reasons!
For starters, the rooms are beautiful; contemporary and classy. The beds are so comfy and the down comforters so snuggley! The slate floor shower for two (actually 4 or 5 would fit!), and the 2 person jacuzzi tub with windows that overlook the beach are awesome! The balconies are roomy and have padded benches to lounge on, instead of cheezy plastic lawn chairs.
Breakfast is included and prepared in-house. The dining room is lovely, with its large windows and rock fireplace. But we have yet to actually eat in the dining room. Our favorite thing to do when we wake up is for one of us to start filling the tub while the other goes to the dining room to fill a tray with the scrumptious scones, quiches, muffins, and other delectible freshly made goodies, as well as a thermos (provided by them) of coffee or freshly squeezed juice and bring it to our room (they invite you to do this, and will even hold the door open for you). We set the tray on the little "bench" in the shower, right next to the jacuzzi tub, and then enjoy our breakfast as we sit in the tub, watching the tide roll in!
We also love the fact that it feels as though we are so far removed from the city, in some far away romantic hideaway, and yet in reality are only a 25 minute ferry ride away from where we live!
We will never get tired of staying at this place. It is always so relaxing, romantic, and rejuvinating. Although all the rooms face the water, try to get a top floor corner room--those are the best ones (but cost a bit more).

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelLovingPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.3 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
276 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
17.7 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
21.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Langley

Address: 400 1st St, Box 835, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: $358 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Langley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Langley built into a bluff overlooking the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Langley Hotel Langley
Inn At Langley Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing