We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Portions Little Price”

Carrs Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 151 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This fairly new restaurant shows up on a number of other sites, such as http://local.yahoo.com/info-59696329-carrs-restaurant-lakewood
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Big Portions Little Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been there 4 times now and have been very satisfied with the food and the portions are huge. The price is low for what you get. You have to try the Black and Tan Onion rings. The only down side is the food is very slow getting to you. On the fourth time I brought my cribbage board and we were 3/4 of the way through a game that included conversation. But I will go back again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glowdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

You get your money's worth here BIG portions! I love getting breakfast here. The omelets are amazing, prices are low, and good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DefusingDanger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Timing Your Visit is Essential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Carr's has been operating in Lakewood for about five years, and they've been very popular from Day One. The reasons for this well-deserved popularity? First of all, Carr's serves huge portions of very good food, at reasonable prices. Their location is also a plus, on a busy arterial not far from Interstate 5, with plenty of parking and easy access. Finally, Carr's has been consistently good from the day they opened...it's hard to find reliable restaurants these days, but I can always count on Carr's to deliver the same good quality meals. This is not a chain restaurant, and in order to stay in business Carr's is NOT a cheap place to eat...but the prices are very reasonable for what they deliver. Likewise, Carr's is staffed by the just-above-minimum number of servers to keep customers fed, without getting fed-up.

There are some tricks to ensuring a happy dining experience. Most important tactic is to choose a time when half the population of Pierce County isn't jammed in there. Want breakfast on a weekend morning? Get there before 8:30 a.m. Otherwise you will be waiting a long time to get seated, and equally long to get served. Second tactic crucial to achieving Carr's dining happiness: Learn the menu, and gather intel by watching what other diners are served. If you are a Carr's rookie, you might think that a standard breakfast of eggs, toast, hashbrowns and bacon/ham/sausage will resemble a "Grand Slam" at Denney's. Nope, that's definitely not the case. The typical order of hashbrown potatoes is the size of a fireplace brick...well, perhaps a bit larger...Omelets are close to football-sized, packed full of goodies. Order the fresh fruit platter, and you'll think a supermarket produce section blew up and landed on your plate. (The fresh fruit platter is one of the standout menu items, in my opinion, as the fruit is truly fresh, first-quality, and easily a meal in itself!) So one way to keep from being overwhelmed by the amount of food is to split a menu item. Carr's staff will do this without complaint or extra charge. That'll cut your bill in half, and keep your arteries from slamming completely shut as you waddle toward the exit. As an alternative, Carr's servers will be happy to bring you as many "to go" boxes as you need, so you can make one or two additional meals out of the leftovers.

By the way, servers will offer you your choice of medium or dark roast coffee. Both are very good. If you want frequent refills, though, be prepared to actively flag down a server, especially when the place is packed.

If you follow these tactics, you will very likely enjoy your dining experience at Carr's. If you chose to battle the crowds, then have lots of patience, bring your iPad/Kindle, and be prepared to wait for everything. In the end, it'll still be worth the visit, but unless you actually like that sort of experience, you may find yourself becoming grumpy despite your best intentions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FightingLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge portion (way too much cheese used in the scrambles). Service was horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Completely disappointed by the service. This is our third time visiting but I doubt we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoraMurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Family diner- fresh cooked and filling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a family-owned and run cafe, patterned after those in small towns, but in a more suburban setting. The portions are huge with high quality ingredients, and the prices match. It is not a cheap fast-food chain restaurant using fake ingredients. If you want cheap and fast, go somewhere else.

I'm basing my rating on the food and the effort of the owners, plus the fact it is local and responds to community needs. I almost took a star off for the service difficulties on occasion, so if having to ask for a coffee refill once in a while or waiting twenty or thirty minutes after you order for your food when it is busy bothers you, then take that star off when you consider this place.

The omelettes are terrific, my favorite the grilled chicken and avocado. The pancakes are huge, and if you add fillings, like blueberries (yum) or chocolate chips, you get your money's worth. (Be aware the extra cost is for each pancake).

I can't go back to Texas when I want a chicken-fried steak, so this is the best I can do, and I'm grateful for their version. I think the breakfast version gives you more value.

Lately I've been having salads or fruit as my side instead of potatoes. They give enough hash browns for three or four meals, and even with a take-out box for a half omelette and potatoes, I was throwing a lot away. The salds are huge and filling, and the fruit bowl is enormous.

In this time when numerous restaurants are closing, I'm happy to support a local effort to bring quality food with good value. Realize before you go that this is a slow dining experience, not fast food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrs Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carrs Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing