We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can I just stay here all day long?”

Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning specialty cafe and famous "made from scratch" bakery Sweetest Buns in Town...Naturally!
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can I just stay here all day long?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow, this little homespun bakery/ restaurant has it figured out. If you decide to visit, KNOW there will be a wait ( usually 1/2 hour-45 min), get your name on the list and plan on window shopping while you're waiting. So once you do snag your table, know the service will be a little slow, totally understandable given how full the restaurant is ALWAYS. The salads, the sandwiches with homemade bread, the breakfasts are healthy and bursting with vegies and nuts and yummie combinations. Rich deeply roasted coffee and a wide tea selection, freshly squeezed juicss will enhance your choices. Most important tip- save room for dessert or something from the bakery. Usually, I select bread or a sweet roll, maybe pie from the bakery case to go, on my way out of the restaurant. I always want to include a stop at theis breakfast and lunch cafe while I am in La Conner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marinaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    122
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bakery Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The sandwiches are first rate here, with an attention to detail and quality. You get plenty of food for your money. The bakery is also excellent and you can get anything from the bakery served right to your table. Catch the carmel nut rolls or one of their brownies. Can be crowded even on rainy winter weekends but well worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel-adventure42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The is one of my favorite bakeries for cinnamon rolls. We took one to go but had lunch there and it was great. It has a cozy, comfy atmosphere. We had wonderful sandwiches on yummy artisan bread. It was the perfect place for a relaxing lunch. You have to stop there if you are in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supersnookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stopped in for a quick lunch after a wonderful and relaxing visit to nearby Native Springs Spa. I selected the daily soup, winter squash/apple, because I thought it sounded healthy. I suspect it was - it was also the most delicious soup I have ever tasted! I have lunched at Calico Cupboard a number of times throughout the years and each time is a delicious delight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Love this place! Excellent baked goods and salads. A nice spot for lunch. Try to get a table along a wall/window to avoid crowds in the middle of the dining area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing