We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Katy's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katy's Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Katy's is located in an excellent location for walking to the main streets of LaConner. The house is extremely well maintained. The bedrooms are comfortable and the house is filled with historical info on the owners over time. Unfortunately, the owner was having a bad day when we stayed. She goes to tremendous effort to fix a hearty breakfast for guests. Unfortunately, she forgot that there were two of us staying in our room (she was no where to be seen when we arrived). When she discovered that there were two of us for breakfast, she got annoyed and suggested it was our fault. As there is only the one option for the meal (no dried cereal, toast, available) and since we also weren't asked at all about allergies, etc beforehand, it was difficult for the one of us that didn't eat eggs or meat. The house is up for sale and hopefully it will be under new ownership soon as the ambiance of the surroundings was a bit lessened by the current owner's demeanor.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify if you want a room with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AikiJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindytracey, Owner at Katy's Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
What a surprise to see this review!

We ask all our guests to fill out a registration form on arrival. On that form, its specially asks for all the names and the number of people staying in each room. It also asks if you have any dietary restrictions. Your registration form listed just one name. Number staying in the room was not filled out. Dietary restrictions list shellfish allergy only. I spoke to you in the morning and asked if you wanted to have a early breakfast. You said that you did. No comment about someone else staying in your room. So i was surprised (not having a bad day) when there was two of you for breakfast.

Your response was that it was not a problem, that you both were small eaters and you would be fine with sharing the breakfast. I had cereal, I had toast, would of made you anything you wanted, but you never asked. We accommodate many restricted diets and would have been very happy to accommodate yours, all you needed to do was ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, only to wish we had stayed another. What a special place! From the instant you walked through the door you felt like you were walking through your own front door. full of character and oozing with charm, this b & b wins hands down. Walking distance to restaurants & the shops made our stay even more enjoyable. We stayed in the Rose bedroom, which was my favorite out of all the beautiful bedrooms. The breakfasts were amazing, Cindy the owner is an exceptional cook who was also an exceptional host. Having the hot tub and fire pit made our stay even more relaxing, we thoroughly enjoyed making use of these. We can't wait to go back for another visit as this was one of our favorite weekends away
by far....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnatravelsBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a lovely home away from home. I've been here many times. It's the perfect girls getaway for great shopping in La Conner and the outlet malls. The Inn itself is about 2 blocks from the main street, so great to be able to walk everywhere. We stayed in the Garden room this time, so nice to have access to the upper wrap around balcony. Cindy does a great job with morning tea, coffee or hot chocolate and scones or muffins in your room before breakfast, then go down to the dining room for a lovely cheese souffle or blueberry blintz. No need to eat lunch! Plus there's always freshly baked cookies, or muffins in the kitchen if you feel like a snack later on. Guest have access to the kitchen, so you can bring a bottle of wine (or two!), and store your goodies. There's a hot tub, great deck and covered seating area outside with big comfy couches. Or wander out to the garden and sit on the wooden swing. Only 2 hours from Vancouver down I5, or take the scenic route through the sweet little town of Fairhaven, and drive the Chuckanut. It's good to go in April/May during the tulip/iris season as well. Katy's is a lovely B n' B!

Room Tip: The Garden and John Peck rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms. The other rooms upstairs have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This house built in the late 1800's i believe, is oozing with character and charm. We stayed in the Rose room with our 6th month old and had a wonderful stay.

Unfortunately our little one decided not to sleep and cry all night so we had to leave early. We let Cindy (Owner)know and off we went, however once we got back to Vancovuer we had an email voucher from Cindy offering us to come back and stay for the night we missed. Cindy this is a womderful gesture and we will monst certainly be back (Without the kids!!!)

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our Ladies Book Club rented the whole house for the weekend and it was fantastic. House is old, but full of character. Rooms were comfortable and easily accomodated the 7 of us. Beds were cozy, comfortable with good linens. We enjoyed relaxing in the parlour, and out on the deck under the gazebo, around the outdoor fireplace. Also enjoyed the Hot Tub. The highlight was Cindy's amazing breakfasts - she really went out of her way to provide a special start to our day. Sat a.m. was May 5th and to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, she made a Baked egg souffle in a tortilla with mango salo - Yumm - and on Sunday a.m. we were treated to Bintz's with a fresh Skagit valley fruit topping, also fresh baked scones both mornings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived to find the Rose Room very dirty and extremely dusty. Dust hanging on the electric cords; and furniture, furnishings, and under the beds appeared to not have been cleaned in months. Dirty old vacuum cleaner in room; rug had not been vacuumed. Mold residue on the door to the balcony, and balcony and balcony furniture grimy and filthy. We left and found wonderful accommodations at the Fidalgo Country Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindytracey, Owner at Katy's Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
In nine years of owning Katy's Inn we have not received a single complaint about the cleanliness of our house or rooms. In fact we have had nothing but compliments. The old vacuum cleaner is actually an antique 1920's vacuum that is in the room as a display. If you read further you will see nothing but compliments on our cleanliness. I examined the room while I was remaking the room after this customer had completely trashed the room. It was clean and tidy. Within 5 minutes we rented the room to a guest who was thrilled that she had the good fortune of finding a room in La Conner. The new guest commented that it was the Best Bed and Breakfast that she had ever stayed. This customer was looking for a way to cancel her reservation-her credit card was declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

On a cold and wet January day it was delightful to enter a warm room with a welcoming fire! We stayed in the Captain's Room which was charming with many unique antique boating features. The Inn, which sits just above the town is convenient to the cute and artsy stores and has lots of parking. The bed was very comfortable and the room large with a couch and lots of space. And it was dog friendly which made the stay even better for us.
The breakfast was delicious and large and all home cooked. The owners were hospitable and friendly adding to the charm of the stay. All in all it felt like a home away from home.
A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Want a fire ask for the Captains Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajanshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.1 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.5 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
10.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy's Inn

Property: Katy's Inn
Address: 503 N 3rd St, La Conner, WA 98257-4774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katy's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katy's Inn has been a premier bed and breakfast in the quaint town of La Conner for 27 years. Located in the heart of La Conner, it offers guests a wonderful view of the Swinomish Channel. Within walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Four rooms all with private baths. Hot Tub. Cookies and milk served to your room at bedtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Katy's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing