We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful :(”
Review of La Conner Channel Grill - CLOSED

La Conner Channel Grill
Price range: $12 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At La Conner Channel Grill, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We serve only the choicest meats, fresh seafood and salads all prepared fresh and made to order. Our menu and attention to detail create a truly enjoyable dining experience.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Just awful :(”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose this restaurant solely because its across from our hotel.
It was empty when we entered, but did fill up later. The food was
terrible and the service even worse. There was no bartender, and the server and owner were using a sheet of drink recipes to try to
figure out how to make drinks. I saw a Cosmo being made with
completely wrong ingredients and quickly revised what I was going to order to something mistake proof. As the owner is making our drinks, she is telling us how she rubs bourbon on her teeth for an
abscessed tooth she has. This was not a good visual image, making me wonder if my bourbon was the one she was using for her abscess, and wishing I didn't know that. Then, we sat there
While all the people who came in after us were served rolls which we never got. When I finally asked for them, they were inedible
anyway, as was the entrees which followed. A disappointing dinner
all around, wish we had walked down the street to a better place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for an after dinner drink”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate elsewhere because we are not seafood aficionados, however we loved the cozy atmosphere and very likable owners who were there serving us. Outstanding martinis and fun conversation was a nice way to end the evening out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality Food in Small Town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining in the La Conner Channel Grill in La Conner, Washington, on Thursday, October 16. The restaurant is small but on the Main Street across from the La Conner Channel Lodge. It has a full service bar and very good wine selection. Tim and Jo, the proprietors, divide the cooking and waiting. Both are very congenial and informative. We were initially impressed with their menu because we thought the prices were very reasonable for the selections. Although they specialize in prime rib and steaks, we opted for King Salmon filets that were of generous proportions and perfectly cooked. For a very casual and well prepared meal in La Conner we highly recommend the La Conner Channel Grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duffer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beware of summary scores...”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The delta between the background story on the resturaunt website, most of the Trip advisor and Yelp reviews, & the actual dining exerience are truely irreconcilable. Here's my balanced perspective:

the good: tables and restroom were clean, napkins were good quality fabric, and the service was fairly attentive - except for meglecting to refill my drained water glass and apologize for the ill prepared Ahi Tuna (over seasoned & over cooked). The green beans and roasted red potatoes were above average.

the not so good: very limited wine selection. Surprising for a place with such high ratings.

the bad: don't recall a time in 10 years where I've paid this much for bagged salad, store bought bread sticks, and scallops so bland, my spouse had to salt them...

This is NOT a 5 star establishment by any reasonable meadure. 3 at best...

No plans to return...

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super food, super service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On our recent visit to La Conner to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary, we went twice to this restaurant. The first night we just had burgers and fries, which were excellent, so we decided to go back a second time for a full steak dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The meal was absolutely wonderful, with the steaks cooked to perfection. My wife had the 8 oz filet accompanied by green beans and baked potato with home-made accompaniments, and I had the 14 oz rib-eye accompanied by green beans and roasted red jacket potatoes. The dessert of peach and raspberry cobbler with ice cream was plentiful and "to die for"! The restaurant is operated by its owners...and it shows, in the super pleasant service and the personal concern of the chef in ensuring that everything was just right. My wife uses a wheelchair and access was easy through a ramp at the side door. We would heartily recommend this restaurant, and it will definitely be our first choice for eating in La Conner. A wonderful meal and experience all around!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing