We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for a Romantic Getaway”
Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond BC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for a Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My husband and I spent 5 nights around tulip festival time. It was a great spot to use as a base for venturing out for driving and hiking adventures. Our hosts were very attentive and gave us good tips for sightseeing and hiking. Great big hot cookies every afternoon was a treat and the breakfasts were delicious. We usually had to take a doggy bag. The rooms are nicely appointed with fresh flowers and wonderful scented bath salts. The location is within walking distance to just about anywhere in La Conner. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjaynehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    52
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
390
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend at the Wild Iris Inn. We were warmly greeted upon arrival, and the owners made every effort to ensure that we were well cared for, Our room was spacious, beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable - and spotless! The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We were served some kind of egg/spinach/cheese frittata, fresh fruit and yogurt, and a variety of sweet breads. It would be worth the drive from Spokane (300 miles) just to have breakfast. My wife loved all of the quaint little shops within easy walking distance. This was our second stay, and we will most definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamgetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wild Iris. The attention to detail is unmatched by anything we have ever seen; the smallest details seem to be perfect - right down to the arrangement of the pillows on the bed! The room was warm and cozy, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and we found the breakfast (which we enjoyed in the comfort of our room) to be one of the highlights of our stay. The staff are fantastic – very friendly and approachable. We would - and have - recommend Wild Iris to everyone we know.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two stays at the Wild Iris. We elected to stayed in a casual king room both times. The rooms were comfortably appointed with nicer beds and linens than you find in the average hotel, a great quantity of pillows, flat screen TVs with DVD players, and accent furniture. The casual king rooms are on the small side (think average home master bedroom), but what is lacking in size is made up for in attention to detail- bathrobes, Aveda bath products, wine glasses and cork screw, etc.
On our second trip we were surprised to observe couples of a variety of ages. We are in the mid-20 range and always expect to be the youngest patrons of B&B type establishments. So, if you're younger and worried about feeling out of place- don't.
The breakfast is nice. It always begins with a yogurt, fruit and granola parfait with homemade quick bread, followed by an egg dish and accouterments. I always enjoy the parfait the most, and find the egg dish bland (but, I'm Southern and like stronger tasting food).
The location of the Inn is an ideal starting point for touring the Skagit Valley, the Olympic Peninsula, or the San Juan Islands.
All in all, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganEDavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I've spent the last week telling friends about our recent stay at the Wild Iris Inn. From the first moment we walked into their welcoming lobby, complete with friendly, front desk staff and a roaring fire, we experienced first class customer service. Having never been to La Conner, owners Lori and Steve were a wealth of information on the local scene - suggesting excellent restaurants, hikes and site-seeing opportunities. We were equally impressed with the hotel's cleanliness and comfortable, beautifully-appointed guest rooms. Nothing better than walking into our large room to be greeted by yet another romantic fireplace, in-room jetted tub and a plate of complimentary, outstanding cookies (make sure and ask the owners to share their recipe, they will!). I can't end this review without mentioning the generous, two-course breakfast we enjoyed each morning. The homemade breads and egg dishes were delicious and the attentive service by their fun, friendly staff was impressive. We thought this would be a one-time visit to experience a new area but enjoyed ourselves so much we are already planning another visit back to the Wild Iris and La Conner this spring for the Tulip Festival.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Even in the middle of winter, this place is the perfect getaway. The rooms are spacious, with oversized jacuzzi tubs. Exceptional linens that make you feel like a princess - plus delicious breakfast awaiting you in the morning. The owners are incredibly genuine and full of hospitality - the nicest couple ever. We took our bikes and had a great time exploring the area. Can't recommend the Wild Iris enough - love it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

An overnight stay in La Conner is great, in and of itself. The Wild Iris made it even better.

Rosie checked us in, recommended a great restaurant and took care of our every request. You will not find a warmer, more friendly welcome.

The room was on the small, cozy side with a gas fireplace and a hot tub on the deck. The bathroom was large and modern. Both were spotless as was the entire inn. Free in-room wireless and Seattle Times were included.

A small, very quiet botique hotel with excellent service. The breakfast was very good and more than we could eat.

This one of those places you don't want to tell anybody about so it stays the way it is, and always has room for you to go back.

  • Liked — Rosie.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#3 of 4 in La Conner
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 4 in La Conner
140 reviews
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
435 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
612 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing