We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Pacific Northwest”
Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Pacific Northwest”
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two stays at the Wild Iris. We elected to stayed in a casual king room both times. The rooms were comfortably appointed with nicer beds and linens than you find in the average hotel, a great quantity of pillows, flat screen TVs with DVD players, and accent furniture. The casual king rooms are on the small side (think average home master bedroom), but what is lacking in size is made up for in attention to detail- bathrobes, Aveda bath products, wine glasses and cork screw, etc.
On our second trip we were surprised to observe couples of a variety of ages. We are in the mid-20 range and always expect to be the youngest patrons of B&B type establishments. So, if you're younger and worried about feeling out of place- don't.
The breakfast is nice. It always begins with a yogurt, fruit and granola parfait with homemade quick bread, followed by an egg dish and accouterments. I always enjoy the parfait the most, and find the egg dish bland (but, I'm Southern and like stronger tasting food).
The location of the Inn is an ideal starting point for touring the Skagit Valley, the Olympic Peninsula, or the San Juan Islands.
All in all, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganEDavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    52
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
382
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I've spent the last week telling friends about our recent stay at the Wild Iris Inn. From the first moment we walked into their welcoming lobby, complete with friendly, front desk staff and a roaring fire, we experienced first class customer service. Having never been to La Conner, owners Lori and Steve were a wealth of information on the local scene - suggesting excellent restaurants, hikes and site-seeing opportunities. We were equally impressed with the hotel's cleanliness and comfortable, beautifully-appointed guest rooms. Nothing better than walking into our large room to be greeted by yet another romantic fireplace, in-room jetted tub and a plate of complimentary, outstanding cookies (make sure and ask the owners to share their recipe, they will!). I can't end this review without mentioning the generous, two-course breakfast we enjoyed each morning. The homemade breads and egg dishes were delicious and the attentive service by their fun, friendly staff was impressive. We thought this would be a one-time visit to experience a new area but enjoyed ourselves so much we are already planning another visit back to the Wild Iris and La Conner this spring for the Tulip Festival.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Even in the middle of winter, this place is the perfect getaway. The rooms are spacious, with oversized jacuzzi tubs. Exceptional linens that make you feel like a princess - plus delicious breakfast awaiting you in the morning. The owners are incredibly genuine and full of hospitality - the nicest couple ever. We took our bikes and had a great time exploring the area. Can't recommend the Wild Iris enough - love it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

An overnight stay in La Conner is great, in and of itself. The Wild Iris made it even better.

Rosie checked us in, recommended a great restaurant and took care of our every request. You will not find a warmer, more friendly welcome.

The room was on the small, cozy side with a gas fireplace and a hot tub on the deck. The bathroom was large and modern. Both were spotless as was the entire inn. Free in-room wireless and Seattle Times were included.

A small, very quiet botique hotel with excellent service. The breakfast was very good and more than we could eat.

This one of those places you don't want to tell anybody about so it stays the way it is, and always has room for you to go back.

  • Liked — Rosie.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We have just returned home from a wonderful stay at the Wild Iris Inn. Every part of our stay was positive from the warm welcome given us by Natashe to the fantastic wine and cheese package to the amazing breakfast served by Lori. Our room was a Deluxe King Suite and deluxe it was. Every part of this Inn is tastefully decorated and full of little 'extras' to make every guest feel special and welcome. I have to mention the terrific, gigantic cookies..............yummy. This was our first stay at the Wild Iris Inn but it will not be our last. Thanks Lori.

Dan & Phyllis
Vancouver

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We wanted a special spot to celebrate our anniversary and we love the Skagit Valley/LaConner area. We found the Wild Iris Inn online and said " That is the place we want to be" and booked a King Deluxe room.

The excellent staff made the stay inviting and relaxing with delightful touches in the room...homemade cookies to die for, Aveda soaps and lotions in the bath, a beautiful fireplace inside and a wonderful hot tub outside on the porch. There are lovely wicker chairs on the porch where you can have your morning coffee in the luxurious robes provided for you. The weather was incredible with a dazzling sunrise to greet us in the morning. All in all, we celebrated in style and had an anniversary to remember.

Thank you for taking such good care of us. We will be back.
Cjumbria
Seattle

  • Liked — It was comfortable and relaxing and had great ambiance.
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything negative
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

This is by far one of the nicest places to stay on the west coast. It is worth the drive to La Connor just to experience the friendly atomposphere, excellent breakfast, fantastic home made cookies and the clean and comfortable accomodations. We highly recommend this place!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank alanm250457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#3 of 4 in La Conner
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 4 in La Conner
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
466 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
600 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing