We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Iris is an excellent example of what a topnotch B&B should be”
Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Wild Iris is charmingly welcoming with a covered porch sprouting enormous colorful hanging baskets. The interior is intimate and although arriving late in the evening, we were immediately greeted by an attentive, enthusiastic young woman. The livingroom area, gently lit, offered various choices of teas and coffee on china and silver. Our room contained a king bed with sumptious bedding, blush towels and robes and electric-start fireplace - with a plate containing 2 huge homemade cookies of granola, fruit, nut, and chocolate chip ( about 1/2 lb. each!) which can be purchased from a bakery within walking distance. On our private deck outside, we had our own private jacuzzi. Breakfast in the morning was the best we've ever been offered in any inn, hotel or resort - truly a gourmet experience.

This place seems to be a Canadian secret, since the small dining room was filled with guests from that country who appear to be regualr visitors or were directed there by their countrymen.

We were in walking distance to the middle of La Connor and their many mastercrafts stores. The best time to visit La Connor is during the Tulip Festival when the area rivals Holland in their vast colorful tulip fields. When we go back, the Wild Iris will be our first choice for lodging.

Room Tip: if you choose to have the jacuzzi in your room, it will take up a very large part of your room space...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p3navy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for The Wild Iris Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Wild Iris is an amazing place to stay when you're visiting La Conner. Easy to find & just off the main road in La Conner. Parking is easy (parking lot in front of the building) and check in is simple. If they're not at the desk when you arrive, there's a phone so you can call them. They show you to your room (& you get to have a sneaky peek in the other rooms as the doors are left open when unoccupied!) Our room was the only twin room but it was lovely although a bit on the small side! Perfectly functional though & we loved the cookies! They were AMAZING. The owners are lovely & make time to speak to everyone at breakfast. Breakfast is great- yoghurt with fruit and granola with a baked item (pumpkin bread day 1 & raspberry lemon and poppyseed day 2) and a cooked egg main. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definitely go back & would also recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

when we booked didn't realize it was a B&B, nice surprise. Easy to find, very friendly staff, met the mother and daughter, put us on to a good restaurant for dinner. The breakfast was absolutely
fabulous ! Wonderful decor, great value. Even homemade cookies in your room when you arrive

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My latest stay at the Wild Iris was once again perfect. It's hard to find something wrong when the owners and staff work so hard to make their inn and your stay so special. They make you feel like they are welcoming you home every time you walk in the door.

I am always afraid that when I revisit a place it will never be as good as before but this inn just keeps getting better. They still had their two fat, delicious, freshly baked cookies in the room and lovely fresh flowers (including iris of course) There were also 4 or 5 current magazines beautifully arrayed on a side table.

One of the things that stood out for me this time was the towels which may have been new. So thick and luxurious and, best of all, really big! Very comfortable beds too. It is easy to see why this inn gets such high ratings. There was a CD player and discs with great piano music in my room and the lovely lady at the front desk offered the use of free DVD's. Each room had a nice flat screen TV and DVD player..

And then, of course, there is the incredible breakfast. The breakfast was delicious and each day a different hot entrée was served along with their fresh baked pastries and yummy yogurt with homemade granola topped with fresh berries.

One side note and I apologize ahead of time if this sounds like a lecture: I have to say that with water, juice, coffee & tea and a two course breakfast being served by staff (no buffet here) I was amazed to see that many guests did not leave a tip. What's with that? Just because breakfast is included in the room price doesn't mean the guest shouldn't monetarily thank the staff for their service. Two guests would pay $40-$50 for this kind of breakfast in a restaurant but can't leave a $5.00 tip? Not nice.

It makes me wonder if people are tipping the maids. Those rooms must take a lot of work to look as nice as they do so I sure hope so. It is no different than if you were in a restaurant or a hotel. Sorry to be critical, but in this day & age where everyone seems to tip people for ringing up a cup of coffee, bagging a muffin or taking an order to go at a restaurant, it was just shocking.

Anyway, if you get a chance to go to La Conner The Wild Iris is the only place to stay. I promise you'll love it.

Room Tip: The rooms with king beds, Jacuzzis and fireplaces are amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanisSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had stayed here last year for my birthday, and it was so nice and relaxing, that we ended up falling a sleep in the afternoon! The beds are fantastic, and they have CD's with relaxing classical piano music that just makes you feel pampered! They also are famous for their great cookies that are in your rooms when you get there, and breakfast is excellent, with two courses! So my sweet husband decided to get the same room for this year on my birthday, and we had a wonderful time, we sat outside in some of the comfortable wicker chairs, and just looked at all the flowers they have in hanging baskets all around! We would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: I don't really know, some rooms are larger than others, ours was a corner one, so was a little b...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Absolutely amazing B&B in La Conner!!! Welcoming and friendly!!! Our room was beautifully appointed with a newly updated bathroom. Comfortable beds! Love those chocolate chip cookies waiting for us in our ,room. So yummy they sell them at mother local bakery/coffee house. Coffee and tea available in the lounge. The crowning glory was the breakfast!!!! Cannot begin to describe the delicious fresh yogurt parfait...THEN...the homemade frittata that was at least five inches thick!!!! Everyone was so friendly...the owner, the employees, the hostess...everyone. Iwe will definitely return if we go back to La Conner. Thank you Wild Iris!

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms. We just had a regular room because we were only there one night. Ch...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The people at the Wild Iris make this a wonderful place to visit. Not only are the rooms so lovely and quaint, the food is fabulous and the staff bend over backwards to attend to your needs. It is located in a quiet area where you can easily walk to restaurants and shops. There were quite a number of people staying there but it was amazingly quiet!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#3 of 4 in La Conner
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 4 in La Conner
141 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
629 reviews
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
477 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range: $141 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing