We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Wild Iris Inn. My wife and I visit Washington every year or so (to visit family in the Olympia area), and we always plan a “road trip.” This year our main destination was the Mt. Baker area, but we had to take a side trip to see the beautiful Skagit River Valley. Once there, we could not resist the urge to return to this beautiful B & B. We were not only not disappointed, but amazed to find we loved it even more this time. The room was luxurious, quiet, private and very clean. We made great use of the private outside hot tub and the inside fireplace. The breakfast was very good, and the hosts enthusiastic about serving us. We were given great advice about the area (the last remaining field of flowers—purple lilies, a nice restaurant, and the scenic route to Bellingham). La Conner is a great place to visit, but also a perfect spot from which one can visit the San Juan Islands, Deception and Larrabee State Parks, the mountains to the east and the valley area. We are looking forward to our next visit and will reserve as soon as we know when we’ll be back. For this review, however, our favorite room will remain a mystery to others!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    48
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
360
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was excellent! The staff are amazing, so caring and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and big - you definitely will not leave hungry. The cookies in the room are probably the best I have ever tasted and there is also tea and coffee available until 9pm in the lobby area. We had two king suites and they were both a good size. The bedding was top quality and the beds extremely comfortable. This is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed. The accommodations are great and the staff is even better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Warm, cosy, beautifully decorated was our first impression as we walked in, passing a lovely porch filled with flowers and comfy wicker chairs. Wonderful friendly staff, well appointed rooms. We only stayed two nights and had a small King bedroom, but it was very well laid out, with enough room to fit two armchairs.
Good breakfast, excellent homemade cookies, tea and coffee provided in the sitting area of the lobby. A well packed To-Go, breakfast was delivered to our door by 6:15am, as we had to catch The Anacortes Ferry. A well run establishment, 2 minutes to the visitor information and lovely La Conner high street full of fun shops and excellent cafes, pubs, restaurants, art galleries etc...

Room Tip: Larger rooms avaliable, but smaller rooms good for a couple of nights stay if you are on a driving h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanspray726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor king room with outdoor soaking tub during our visit to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival in April. It was top notch in every way, and an outstanding value. Our room was very clean, beautifully decorated, quiet, and comfortable. There were two divine cookies waiting for us, and a small vase of fresh flowers. We had a heavenly soak in the evening, made even nicer by the soft fragrance of the blooming clematis bush growing up the nearby divider wall. Afterwards we lounged on the ever-so-comfy bed staring into the gas fireplace. Heaven!

The two course breakfast was abundant. My husband loved it. I am watching my diet and they accommodated me by preparing a special fruit bowl - this during a very, very busy breakfast period. Everyone was wonderful. We'd return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have outdoor soaking tubs. Others have tubs inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful stay at the Wild Iris Inn to see the Tulip Festival. We stayed at many B&B's but I must say nothing like the Wild Iris. The owners Lori and Steve along with all there staff were amazing. The rooms are extremely clean, quiet and very well appointed with fresh flowers, bath robes Aveda products, also batch crystal for your tub, bottled water, etc. The cleaning staff is beyond extraordinary as they make your room impeccable everyday. You are welcomed everyday with home made and delicious gigantic cookies (a meal in itself) in your room. Breakfast is a feast on its own that will keep you going well into the day. The Inn is a short walk to the quaint town of La Conner so no need to drive to restaurants or shops. The Wild Iris will be our once a year little romantic getaway for sure. A huge thank you to Lori, Steve and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable! John & Fabienne Power, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at several places in La Conner but the Wild Iris Inn is the BEST!! From the time you walk in it feels warm and inviting. They have a very comfortable living area with a great fireplace. Great place to sit and read or just watch the fire. When you enter your room you just have to sigh with content. On the nightstand are some amazing cookies. If that isn't a great way to start your stay. The rooms are so comfortable and Lori and Steve (owners) are the nicest people you could ever meet. They make sure their guests are happy and well taken care of . Their breakfasts have always been very good. The owners definitely make this place so special. The Inn is located very close to town. Oh did I mention the cookies?? They are to die for - I asked Lori for the recipe and she was so gracious to give it to me. We will be coming back time and time again.

Room Tip: It really depends on what size you want. The inn is very well insulated so it is very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Inn. We enjoyed the Tulip Festival and a short visit to Seattle.
This Inn lacks for nothing. Exceptionally clean with many amenities it would be our 'go to' spot for another visit. Everything you could imagine is there including fresh cookies(Oh my Gosh, these put a new spin on the word 'cookie', fresh flowers, new bathroom amenities everyday, bottled water, mineral bath crystals for tub, and the list goes on. Each day our room was brought back to 'new' and everything replenished. It was not just tidied, it was just as if it was our first night-everything fresh. We had a King Deluxe Suite on the upper floor overlooking farm land-extremely quiet. We choose to have breakfast in our room(Just ask) by the fireplace which was very cozy. Breakfast was delicious with large portions-what came to us on the morning tray kept us going until dinner. If you can, order the Wine and Cheese platter as a treat. Good quality wine and large assortment of crackers, cheese, fruit and chocolates-well worth it. If it is possible to fall in love with a town, we did it. So nice to walk for dinner and not have to get into the car. Many quaint shops make it a wonderful place to browse and take in all the character this town has to offer.
So, Thank You to the Wild Iris for making our mini vacation so worry free and rejuvenating. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenehelen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.3 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, P.O. Box 696, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing