We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wild Iris Inn
Nearby Hotels
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Planter(La Conner)
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mount Vernon)
$82
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon(Mount Vernon)
$79
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Mt. Vernon(Mount Vernon)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld Holland Inn(Oak Harbor)
$129
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor(Oak Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
474
60
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
474
60
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesfrittatab byogurtcoffee cakejetted tubowners and staffprivate balconybreakfast was deliciousnew ownerstwo coursesdeluxe kinggas fireplacebed and breakfastboth morningsback porchtulip festival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 553 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2008

From beginning to end the trip to Wild Iris Inn was fabulous. Nestled next to the beautiful tulip fields in La Conner are the lovely European style accommodations. The luxurious room has a hot tub, fireplace, stereo complete with romantic CD's, a deck, lovely linens, restful lighting, movies and games available downstairs in the lovely sitting room with brick fireplace. Upon arrival my sweetheart had a bouquet of tulips there waiting for me to enjoy available from a local nursery. Moments later Rosie came in with a healthy tray of cheese, fruit and crackers and of course what lovers nest would be complete without scrumptuous, abundant chocolate chip cookies! We enjoyed the quiet time together on our New Year's weekend. The breakfast in the inn was included and decadent. In fact, we're going back for Valentine's Day! The staff, food and setting were perfect for our serene time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

I stayed at The Wild Iris for 7 nights and was consistently delighted and amazed at the incredible hospitality offered by Lori and Steve Farnell, inkeepers and owners. From the moment you walk through the door, The Wild Iris is warm and welcoming, from the totally comfy--and beautifully furnished lobby/sitting room--complete with lovely fireplace and charming accessories to the delightful greetings offered by Lori and Steve.

The rooms are lovely to look at and incredibly comfortable--some with fireplaces and hot tubs, and the great beds, fluffy terry robes, excellent showers and amazing chocolate chip cookies guarantee a fine night's sleep.

Breakfast is "unusual"--to say the least. Home-baked breads, creamy yogurt, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and tea, delectable quiches, perfectly done sausages, and fruit-filled popovers start the day beautifully, and there's always a newspaper available--just in case you want to let the outside world in.

In a nutshell, this is the best place I have ever stayed--and while I'm not a very frequent flier, I have been across the US several times and a guest in hotels in France, London, Italy, Oslo, Copenhagen and Russia.

So...I highly recommend The Wild Iris. I'm returning as often as possible!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rofromphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed at the Wild Iris for a weekend in October 2007. We booked a King room with an jacuzzi tub on a private deck.

The room was very nice but the radiant floor heating which was slow to heat and even slower to cool down made for unpleasant sleeping conditions.

The Inn provides numerous cushions which look quite decorative on the bed when you first enter the room but take up a lot of floor space when you take them off the bed.

Breakfast was the big disappointment. From a Inn that's listed on the Select Registry's "Distinguished Inns of North America" we expected something spectacular.

What we got was the same breakfast two days in a row. The breakfast consisted of a granola, yogurt, fruit starter along with a cake like muffin. The main course was a warmed up quiche with potatoes.

Not what we expected

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank nitram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farrny, Owners at The Wild Iris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2007

This response is from Lori & Steve Farnell, we are the owners of the Wild Iris Inn.

We were truly surprised and saddened to read this guest's review. Their review indicates that during their two-day stay, they were not comfortable with the temperature of their room in that it was too slow to heat up and even slower to cool down. Our Inn has in-floor radiant heat. It is normally a positive attribute of the Inn in that it is exceptionally clean and quiet and provides a warm tile floor to step on as the guest enters the bathroom in the morning. Every guest room is individually climate controlled. Before the guest checks in, we set each room at an average temperature which we feel will appeal to most guests. However, each guest is free to adjust the heat as he or she sees fit. Radiant heat can take some time to heat up and we normally do inform our guests that if they increase the heat, they should wait a little while for the system to adjust. If someone is chilly in the meantime, the room can be more rapidly heated utilizing the in-room gas fireplace. There is also a free-standing floor fan in each of our rooms and either one or two full banks of screened windows in each guest room which when opened will rapidly cool the room if the guest inadvertently overheats the room.

The guest’s main complaint and one that is truly confusing to us is that they were served the same breakfast each day. Our Inn serves a full two-course breakfast in our dining room each morning. The first course each day does consist of our signature homemade granola, yogurt and fresh fruit together with a freshly baked pastry item. Our granola and yogurt dish is topped with a different selection of fruit and the homemade pastry also changes daily. Our pastry items include homemade cinnamon swirl, carrot, pumpkin date, and oatmeal breads, fruit turnovers, fruit scones, and a variety of muffins. The second course is always an egg dish with accompanying side meat and fruit garnish. In looking back on our menu log during the month of October, guests that stayed with us on a Friday and Saturday night were served our specialty Frittata egg dish which has a potato crust – (one of our most requested Inn recipes) and the next morning our Vegetarian Quiche which is served with a side of Fiesta Potatoes. Both of these dishes followed the traditional first course previously mentioned.

It is disappointing to hear that this guest felt that they ate the same thing each day and also did not enjoy what was prepared – as we strive to provide our guests with a fresh, delicious and attractive meal each day. But, we have to honestly say that in the entire time we have owned the Inn, we have never served a guest the same breakfast two days in a row. We frequently have guests that stay with us for 5 – 7 days and even those guests are not served the same breakfast unless they request us to do so.

We believe that the best thing about owning this Inn is our guests. We’ve had the great pleasure of serving and then hearing from many of our guests both through Trip Advisor and through personal contact telling us how much they enjoyed their stay. We love to hear from our guests who had a wonderful stay, but we also welcome honest criticism that helps us improve.

When it comes to guest satisfaction, we have and will continue to strive for perfection. We do hope that our failure to meet this guest’s expectations will not keep you from staying with us. Thank you for considering our response. Sincerely, Lori & Steve Farnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Our stay was at the wild iris and was exceptional. staff warm and pleasant, room lovely. we were pleasantly surprised to see a new shop in town filled with the most beautiful italian ceramics we have seen since our trip to italy 3 years ago . sempre italiano is located across the street from the antique store and has fantastic prices on handpainted ceramics from tuscany and other parts of italy. definitely an addition to the other laconner stores which all offer similar nw art.

4  Thank mturgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

The Wild Iris is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in a very lovely town. The town is small enough that you can walk anywhere. The Wild Iris has lovely rooms, nice size, ours had a nice porch out back to relax when you had walked all day. The breakfast was wonderful.
We did not meet the owners they were on what I am sure was a well deserved vacation but we were well taken care of by a lovely lady named Janice who was always ready to greet you with a smile.
When in town be sure and check out some of the great restaurants but be sure you don't miss Nell Thorns.
I would recommend the B&B and the town to anyone.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews