We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Historic Gem”
Review of Hotel Planter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Planter
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Hotel Planter is a restored hotel from another era. This is our third trip to La Conner for the tulip festival. We've stayed at this hotel each time, and have yet to be disappointed. It is right across the street from the Calico Cupboard which is a great place for breakfast or brunch. The rooms are charming tidy and relatively quiet.

Room Tip: Room #6 is the largest and the perhaps the best in the building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Planter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We last stayed at the Hotel Planter nearly 15 years ago, when we resided on the west coast. It was one of our favorite hotels whenever we were in the La Connor/Mount Vernon area in WA. Therefore, after a gap of almost a decade and a half, it was with a little trepidation that we booked a return visit - after all, one doesn't want to spoil great old memories if things have gone downhill. Thankfully, we needn't have worried. The Hotel Planter has retained it's high quality and unique charms. This delightful turn-of-the century hotel has retained all it's charm, and combined with a great and welcoming staff and impeccable house-keeping, it is truly a great place to stay. We had one of the smaller rooms (#3) with a street and partial water view. The room, while snug, was charmingly decorated, with a largish bathroom and shower stall. As noted above, it was impeccably clean. A nice feature was the coffee and tea service offered in the lobby. The wireless worked just fine. Add in La Connors numerous shops and restaurants, and we had a truly enjoyable visit.

As a member of the boomer generation, one note is that access to the registration desk and rooms is at the top of a fairly steep set of stairs. People with mobility issues should likely call ahead.

A great place to stay if you prefer charm and location!

Room Tip: The rooms come in different sizes and shapes. Call ahead or check the website.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful Victorian style boutique hotel with 12 rooms, one being a jacuzzi suite, and no we did not stay in that one.

Stayed in room 4, with a street view which was very nice, but kept getting woken up by the little traffic this town has along with the paper thin walls that lead me to listen to the snorer all night long.

Everything else however is beautiful, great bed, beautiful fixtures, and a really nice bathroom. For the $69 deal on groupon that I got for this place I would come back again to not only this charming town, but charming hotel, maybe next time I will just ask for a courtyard facing room instead of a street view.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul_Phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A perfect place to stay in La Conner. Hotel is clean and comfy. Rooms are small but functional. I loved the high ceilings and use of original doors, etc. where possible. Price was good because I used a Groupon and we were able to walk just down the street for dinner. Although there is no coffee maker in the room there is coffee or tea available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Not suitable for people with mobility issues as there are several stairs to get up to the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutwardBound52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean, and charming. Historic building with handmade antique window trim and baseboards. The town itself is pretty unique. Almost like landing in a whole new palace where buildings are constructed differently and people are all extra friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Seamonster124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. We like to adventure out from the big chains and chose this hotel for that reason. It is an older establishment and they really should do another revamp of furnishings, and update their decor. Other than that, they were friendly (but not in your face friendly, which is good). We had a room overlooking the street right in the middle. There was noise from the street but we enjoyed looking out down the street and seeing what people were doing and since it was October, the sunrise and sunset were glorious to look at. The other great thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance to many of the great restaurants and stores. Would definitely come back here. Would give a better rating, but the price could have been better for such an older place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found this hotel with a Groupon. It was a great location in downtown LaConner, within walking distance of everything on first street and the street directly behind it. The hotel itself has about 12 rooms and the story that they print on the flyer inside each room really helps to add to the character of your stay. The service is great (the concierge was very friendly and the place had a lot of charm). The rooms are small (unless you get the spa room), but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We were disappointed that the hot tub in their cute little courtyard was not working, it would have been romantic. If we had paid full price I don't think we would have thought the room was worth it, but for the groupon price it was great and a unique experience. At that price we would stay there again. Much different than a chain brand hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjh_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.3 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#3 of 4 in La Conner
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
516 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
477 reviews
10.4 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
629 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planter

Address: 715 1st St, La Conner, WA 98257-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range: $129 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planter 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the twelve guest rooms is unique. From the custom handmade furnishings to the ceiling fans, each room is carefully orchestrated down to the last detail.But the charm of Hotel Planter doesn't end there. After strolling the waterfront streets of old LaConner, guests unwind in the hotel's beautiful private courtyard. Once relaxed and refreshed, guests can be found dining in any one of LaConner's fine restaurants, all within walking distance.Visit LaConner's finest Historic Inn, Hotel Planter...you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Planter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing