We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beds were a bummer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Planter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Planter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The beds were a bummer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My son and I had the room with two twin beds (room 9). The mattresses are long overdue to be replaced, but instead have been covered with memory foam that's about 4" deep. Talk about stuck! We barely slept. The beds were also quite squeaky & had cheap linens (my top sheet was marked w/ a medical linen identifier!). The bedspread is the kind from the 70's or 80's that feel like it's about 80% asbestos or something. The room was really stuffy despite wintry weather and the heat not turned on. There's an overhead fan but it only ran while the light was on.

La Conner is a cute town but I wouldn't choose to return to the Planter. I appreciate the major remodel they did back in the 80's, but it's definitely time for another update.

FYI, there are >20 steps so it's not appropriate for folks w/ mobility limitations.

Room Tip: Room 9 faces the courtyard. It's next to the ice machine which was loud really had me worried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSKseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
83
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice hotel, well situated on the main street, nice clean room with a wonderful bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was it was a little noisy, from the street in the early morning and from the rooms adjacent to ours. I also heard a chap snoring in the next room !!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night in mid November using a group on deal and it was very good value for the deal although I would hesitate to pay the full price of around $120 for a room for the night. The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and set out in keeping with the period of the hotel , the bed was comfortable .The location is very good and although it was November and the weather wasn't that great we enjoyed the walk along 1st street in the quaint tourist town.

The only complaint I would have is that the bedroom walls are quite thin and we could easily hear the people in the next room talking , luckily they stopped around 11am and we slept quite well.

To sum up great for a night or so , good value using a deal around $70 for the night but not at the full price of around $120 plus.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the courtyard and if possible with a vacant room next door , you are given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We didn't have a reservation and walked in to this delightful hotel. We were welcomed and told we could choose our room. When we saw the room with the jacuzzi tub, we knew we had found our home for the night. The staff was helpful and we were pleasantly surprised to meet the owner when we stopped in to the gift store below. We loved this space and found our evening there to be romantic and memorable. We would definitely stay here again and we'd want the same room but then we are huge fans of jacuzzis! I'm sure all the rooms are lovely!

Room Tip: Splurge on the jacuzzi room that overlooks the sculpture garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

An absolutely charming hotel in a wonderful old fashioned American town that should be a compulsory stop on any trip to the Pacific Northwest! Beautiful tailor-made furniture in every room in keeping with the period of the town and hotel. Complimentary tea, coffee, ice and water add to the charm and make you forget about having to carry your cases upstairs! Very helpful staff but slightly noisy if your room is on the main street in spite of that we would stay again.

Weatherboard buildings and only a few streets that are non-residential La Conner and Hotel Planter are the type of America I thought only existed in Murder She Wrote!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soozsuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights here recently. La Conner is a picturesque small town and the Hotel Planter is right on the main street, The rooms are small but comfortable. My only complaint would be noise, both from the street and from the opening and closing of doors in the hotel itself. Try to get a room facing the courtyard if you can. The interior doors are all old and tend to bang and slam rather than close quietly! Other than that we enjoyed our stay here. The staff was pleasant and there is a great restaurant across the street for breakfast and other good restaurants within walking distance for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treylya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed one night in early August and were pleasantly surprised by this little gem. Yes - you do have to take your luggage up the stairs, but once there, the staff are very helpful, friendly, and very accommodating - at least Denise is! The rooms are decorated in the style of the hotel, and are not large, but nicely turned out and very clean. The bathroom was spacious, and the shower was great! I was worried about 'historical plumbing' - but I was happy to see that was not the case.... You really couldn't get a better location in La Conner. Right on 1st street, on the very street that you come to stroll. All in all, a great stay and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HIMetrotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.3 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
11.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
10.4 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Conner Country Inn
La Conner Country Inn
#3 of 3 in La Conner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planter

Property: Hotel Planter
Address: 715 First St, La Conner, WA 98257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planter 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the twelve guest rooms is unique. From the custom handmade furnishings to the ceiling fans, each room is carefully orchestrated down to the last detail.But the charm of Hotel Planter doesn't end there. After strolling the waterfront streets of old LaConner, guests unwind in the hotel's beautiful private courtyard. Once relaxed and refreshed, guests can be found dining in any one of LaConner's fine restaurants, all within walking distance.Visit LaConner's finest Historic Inn, Hotel Planter...you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Planter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing