We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful retreat”
Review of Hotel Planter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Planter
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
friday harbor
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“peaceful retreat”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

very quaint and quiet hotel, which we were looking for. It is up stairs with no elevator, but that was not an issue for us. Friendly check in, coffee, tea and bottled water in lobby, all complimentary. we would love to return!

Room Tip: decide whether you want garden view or street, w stayed in 11, garden view, very quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orenpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
88
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel! We are Silver Striders and stayed at the hotel the night before we raced the Symphony 5k Run in LaConner. Our room was charming, clean, and comfortable. The downtown location of the hotel was very convenient. We were very impressed with the hospitality of the staff. We needed a late check out and they were happy to accommodate us. We are looking forward to staying at the Hotel Planter in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I am a Swiss citizen and I resided in room Nr. 13 like a king Jan. 7 till 14 - 2013. It has wonderful colours in the rooms as well as in the lounge, I mean the carpet, the cover of the bed, the walls of the high rooms - everywhere you look just beautiful pastel colours that make the hotel look so cozy and charming. You may turn on the heat in the room just as warm as you need it in winter time. The people at the desk are just as warm and charming as the hotel they are working in and the prize - I tell you I just couldn't believe it but it's true. One day 99 dollars, the next day half, the next day off, the next day 99 dollar again - I don't know how they make it with those prizes, but I enjoyed my stay there very much and I shall return soon !!!

Hi Kerry, Hi French speaking Sweetness, hi Bill, Hi Cindy and Don Hoskins, I send you my

Congratulations and my

LOVE

Dieter Kappeler Ernst
Switzerland

Room Tip: all of'em
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dieter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second stay in the Hotel Planter & we will be back. It is a lovely old hotel with very high ceilings and charming rooms/decor. I can be finicky about smells, which is often a problem with older hotels but the Planter luckily does not suffer from this. The rooms do not have coffee makers but there is s convenient coffee/tea station in the main hallway. The hotel staff is very helpful and the location, right on La Conner's main street, can't be beat.

Room Tip: The front 5 or 6 rooms overlook the main (First) Street, with glimpses of the Rainbow Bridge and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuvallDesdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday at the Hotel Planter, in room 3. The hotel has a wide and inviting entry stairway leading up to reception. Our first impression was from the staff as being rather off-hand, not really interested in their guests. They seemed unhappy that we parked in the 10-minute Hotel parking spot around the side.

The room’s décor was pleasant enough, pretty small, just bed, bedsides, wardrobe with TV inside, small round table and a chair. The en-suite was big enough, but not a lot of surface area to put your bits and pieces. Shower was moulded plastic, and just enough room for one, but the pressure and heat were great. Towels were soft and thick, not very large.

The bed was not really comfortable, the mattress moved when either or us moved, neither were the 2 pillows (yep, just 2 pillows, no extras in the wardrobe). I could have asked for more, but didn’t realise until after 10pm, when, according to a notice in the room, reception closes “if you need assistance call 911”. This struck me as a not very caring attitude, as experienced at reception. I’d really like to know that if the plumbing bursts at 2am I can call on someone who would be happy to take my call.

There was no aircon, but a ceiling fan which we kept on all night (and it squeaked all night). The windows open, but with no fly screens and no security, we closed them at night and when we went out. Our room faced across the road to the bakery (which was very, very nice). Each morning we opened the wooden venetians and threw open the windows to air out the room, because it did smell stuffy, but then we had a café of people watching in our windows!

We had a partial view of the channel, which was fine. It’s not a particularly attractive channel, but it is fairly active. As mentioned, we also overlooked the street, which was actually quite charming. In fact we found La Conner to be very charming.

I found the ice machine by accident, and a fridge of bottled water too. Not sure who they were for, as there was no notice anywhere. Coffee and hot water were on a table near reception in thermos jugs. There was a fabulous selection of teas, but sadly only powdered non-dairy creamer instead of milk. That stuff is vile in a cup of tea.

The WiFi worked very well.

Overall, it was probably everything it purported to be. I would not recommend it for a romantic weekend, because of the quality of the mattress and (certainly in room 3) the street frontage can be quite noisy at times. As a place to put your head in La Conner, it was just fine. To quote an earlier reviewer, If you're visiting La Conner and need basic, clean, reliable lodging at a reasonable (and fair) price and in a great location, this is it. But it's no more than that.

Room Tip: With a view comes traffic noise. Probably better to choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is a basic but charming hotel. It's the second floor of a building at the end of the main drag in La Conner. Even though it doesn't have AC, our room stayed cool thanks to the 11 foot ceilings, ceiling fan, and shade tree outside our window. I would definitely recommend it for people looking for a good location and a good value. This hotel is NOT for you if you're wanting a spa experience with lots of amenities. Negatives: Some cobwebs in the room and the shower stall floor gets very slippery when soap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelSeattle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel on Aug10th. It was just perfect. We Arrived in Laconner a bit early and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. We had a full size room at the end of the hall that looked out over the quaint little courtyard. Our room was shaded by a huge tree, which was nice as it was very warm when we were there. The hotel was very clean and well kept. There was an ice machine and a small frig in the hotel stocked with waters as well as coffee and tea in the lobby for the guests to enjoy. The hotel is situated right on the main road, which makes it very convenient to all the restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again if you are back in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out over the court yard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annieinshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 4 in La Conner
242 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
475 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
143 reviews
10.4 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planter

Property: Hotel Planter
Address: 715 1st St, La Conner, WA 98257-9448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planter 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the twelve guest rooms is unique. From the custom handmade furnishings to the ceiling fans, each room is carefully orchestrated down to the last detail.But the charm of Hotel Planter doesn't end there. After strolling the waterfront streets of old LaConner, guests unwind in the hotel's beautiful private courtyard. Once relaxed and refreshed, guests can be found dining in any one of LaConner's fine restaurants, all within walking distance.Visit LaConner's finest Historic Inn, Hotel Planter...you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Planter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing