We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the wait”
Review of Brown Bag Cafe

Brown Bag Cafe
Ranked #10 of 272 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This place is temporarily closed due to a fire. The opening date will be announced.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate at The Brown Bag Cafe on a Sunday morning. The wait was somewhere around 25 minutes, though it would have been shorter if we weren't a table of six. The atmosphere was incredibly lively and they absolutely pack the people into the room but the food was divine and absolutely worth it. One of the things that really reached out to me were their huge cinnamon rolls and when I saw Cinnamon Roll French Toast on the menu I had to talk my daughter into having it so I could try it. It was so, so good. The Breakfast Quesadilla that I ordered was huge. I think there were five "slices" (this quesadilla is not something you will eat with your hands) and I was stuffed after two. The California Breakfast Sandwich also looked incredible. The coffee was good and the service was basically as I would expect in a restaurant that busy. Definitely don't hesitate to wait.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    61
    36
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The homemade breads, potatoes and sausage put this breakfast over the top good. The portions are way too big and that was the only complaint from the 4 in our party. Great friendly service and the cooked to order eggs were done expertly by the kitchen. These people know what they are doing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank blubug03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“R U Hungry?”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great for breakfast. If you are hungry and like big portions, this is the place. Home baked bread, good coffee and exceptional service. Wish they served home style breakfast potatoes too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keltic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A classic diner with amazing service”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Give these guys your business because they aren't one of the usual chains. The menu is amazing. I had a meat lovers omelette and it was wonderful. Seems like the locals love it, because the staff were calling them by name when they arrived. Always a good sign. Great location too, just off the 405.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overly large portions of so-so food.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Think Claim Jumper for brunch.

Often a long wait, and far too much food. Tons of carbs - breads and potatoes.

It can be reasonable for splitting, if you both want exactly the same thing. Substitutions are extra if you don't look closely - which they won't necessarily tell you up front and will charge dearly for.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RenaissanceGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bag Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Bag Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing