We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rehearsal? Nah, Nailed It!”
Review of Lynn's Bistro

Lynn's Bistro
Ranked #7 of 269 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Jersey
2 reviews
“Rehearsal? Nah, Nailed It!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Trying to find a restaurant for a wedding rehearsal dinner is hard enough. Trying it from the other side of the country, not so easy. With some helpful insights from Trip Advisor, a very helpful phone conversation, and a local reconnaissance from our son and his bride-to-be we landed an evening at Lynn's Bistro. Lynn could not have been more helpful in setting up the evening for us. She closed the restaurant for our private affair. In this type of situation you would expect something of a cookie cutter experience; not at Lynn's. The very attentive staff began the evening serving an assortment of hot and cold hors d'oeuvres that were outstanding to accompany the wine selections and champagne. Lynn had prepared a special menu (including a custom printed menu of the evening) with selections of two salads, three main courses, and two desserts. The salads were fresh and plentiful, much more than your typical dinner salad. The main course selections of rib-eye steak, rack of lamb chops, or fresh caught halibut were all cooked to order; amazingly served within a small time window. The desserts were also amazing. All of this was done fully gluten-free. This review is less about the actual food (go, try it, you'll be happy) but more about the outstanding dedication of Lynn and her staff in creating an evening beyond expectation; they did and it was much appreciated. For dinner for two or a crowd like ours, this kind of dedication can only result in a wonderful time. Thanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorkTheElder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    26
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful ambiance”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited here for Easter Sunday brunch and had a great meal of quiches, salads and lattes. The linen table cloths and fresh flowers added a lovely touch of class for our dressy occasion. The staff was friendly and attentive. And it wasn't a bother to the staff that we chatted over our lattes and desserts at the end of the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, intimate and a real gem in Kirkland”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This has become one of our favorite restaurants to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries. We also bring out of town visitors here. Our friends from NYC were very happy with their meal. It's a cozy and intimate setting but you don't feel like you are crammed in. Servers are very friendly and professional and know their menu and wines. We've eaten there 4+ times and have always been extremely pleased with our food and the overall experience. It can be a bit pricey if you are going for the full appetizer, entrée and dessert with wine but they usually offer the 3 for $30 menu. Our

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Based on recommendation from family friend, I was looking forward to lunch at this restaurant. Arrived to find only two tables occupied by guests so I figured lunch would be a quick affair. Ordered the chicken crepe. Forty minutes came and went with no appearance of the entree. When the item arrived it consisted of a hard and over cooked crepe filled with chunks of chicken breast and a cream sauce. On the other hand husband's lunch items were better prepared: French onion soup topped with melted cheese and fettuccine with prawns in garlic cream sauce were well prepared.

Because of the poor service and quality of food I seriously doubt that I will give Lynn's Bistro another try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh Food from Good People”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I've dined at Lynn's 6-7 times in the past few years and enjoyed every meal. So have the friends, business associates, and dates I took there.

The Service: Lynn's staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Everyone is well versed in the entire menu and happy to recommend wines that suit each dish. Best of all, if they saw I was on a date they were unobtrusive while still being helpful. But if we were there on business or a birthday, they paid extra attention to the table and made sure we knew they were there to help.

The Food: Every appetizer, salad, soup, and entree I've eaten has been fresh, locally sourced (when possible), and very high quality. I love Lynn's duck and chicken dishes, and several friends raved about their steaks, pastas, and veggie options. Their changing array of seasonal soups and sides, like sauteed spinach for example, are always cooked just right (not over-salted or drowned in butter). And her French Onion Soup is delicious.

As a sugar addict with very high standards, I'm also happy to report Lynn's creme brule and other desserts are all delicious too. All are highly recommended since its difficult to go wrong here.

The Ambience: Low key, scrupulously clean, and comfortable. I'd describe it as a (wealthy) "neighborhood" restaurant that allows people to check their pretentions at the door and enjoy a terrific dinner.

Their storefront sized space is relatively small and can get noisy when crowded. However, the tables are spaced well so it's easy to have an intimate, private conversation or lean over and share a word with neighbors without having to yell even when the place is crazy busy.

All-in-all, Lynn's was my favorite place to dine when I felt like having delicious American food close to home. I miss dining there since moving to the east coast, but if you're in Kirkland you shouldn't. I'm confident you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lynn's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing