We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special occassion restaurant for a special meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Juanita

Cafe Juanita
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Juanita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 263 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
kirklandwa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special occassion restaurant for a special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went for our anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful meal paired with a lovely wine. The service is always impeccable and well versed in the food and wine. They surprised us with a little dessert with a candle at the end, a very nice memorable touch to a fabulous dining experience!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirklandwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    35
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food.. Small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing food. It varies with the season so be sure you go during a time of year when you know you will enjoy the kind of produce and meats that will be on the menu. The rabbit is always a safe bet and is amazing! The service is spot on but get ready to pay at least 200 or more for two people with all courses and drinks. We go here for special occasions only. The only downsides are that the portions are tiny for the price and the sides are alacart. In addition they don't always have potatoes on the menu and the desserts we usually pass on. If they had a few staple sides and desserts like garlic mashed potatoes and caramel apple crisp then we would most likely go more often. As of right now it depends on the season and occasion. However this is a must try place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bone Marrow and Foie Gras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised and the portion size of the bone marrow and foie gras and the extra surprise of the rendered fat from the foie gras. The potato bread sopped up the scrumptious fat....a special treat. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 808Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Cafe Juanita has been on our list for many years, too long in fact. For our anniversary we finally made the drive from Seattle and it's a meal I will remember for a long time.

The service was so unpretentious, friendly and efficient that I never felt uncomfortable for a moment. The entire staff helped our table at some point and it was completely seamless.

The food was amazing. I wanted to try everything on the menu, and we did manage to have many courses without feeling stuffed. The pasta was bold and flavorful. The salads delicate and fresh. The entrees were spectacular and the dessert was generous and sublime.

I'm having flashbacks of the meal and my mouth is watering again even as I type this. Obviously, there's really no need to review this institution of the greater Seattle area, but I had to tell someone about the great Cafe Juanita. If you are even considering if the drive is worth it, or whether it's overrated or whether they're "still good", let there be no doubt, this was truly one of the best meals I've ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
293 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Good for stepping out on Seattle´s East Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Topping off a visit to our daughter & her family in Clyde Hill, we were takien to Cafe Juanita. This was a first for me. My polenta and a risotto rivaled what is available at many fine northern Italian restaurants in São Paulo near where we live.

The food preparation is visable. The service was discreet and attentive. The atmosphere is pleasant with a view of trees & plants out of the window where we were seated.

For a splurge Cafe Juanita is perfect..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Juanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing