We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bone Marrow and Foie Gras”
Review of Cafe Juanita

Cafe Juanita
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Juanita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 270 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bone Marrow and Foie Gras”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised and the portion size of the bone marrow and foie gras and the extra surprise of the rendered fat from the foie gras. The potato bread sopped up the scrumptious fat....a special treat. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 808Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    36
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Cafe Juanita has been on our list for many years, too long in fact. For our anniversary we finally made the drive from Seattle and it's a meal I will remember for a long time.

The service was so unpretentious, friendly and efficient that I never felt uncomfortable for a moment. The entire staff helped our table at some point and it was completely seamless.

The food was amazing. I wanted to try everything on the menu, and we did manage to have many courses without feeling stuffed. The pasta was bold and flavorful. The salads delicate and fresh. The entrees were spectacular and the dessert was generous and sublime.

I'm having flashbacks of the meal and my mouth is watering again even as I type this. Obviously, there's really no need to review this institution of the greater Seattle area, but I had to tell someone about the great Cafe Juanita. If you are even considering if the drive is worth it, or whether it's overrated or whether they're "still good", let there be no doubt, this was truly one of the best meals I've ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
291 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Good for stepping out on Seattle´s East Side”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Topping off a visit to our daughter & her family in Clyde Hill, we were takien to Cafe Juanita. This was a first for me. My polenta and a risotto rivaled what is available at many fine northern Italian restaurants in São Paulo near where we live.

The food preparation is visable. The service was discreet and attentive. The atmosphere is pleasant with a view of trees & plants out of the window where we were seated.

For a splurge Cafe Juanita is perfect..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I made a reservation here thinking it was another location. What a wonderful surprise. Our dinner was wonderful. Staff is fantastic, parking is limited but a walk is worth it if necessary. There is a pub just up the street with a similar name make sure you are at Cafe Juanita!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trwag260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique recipes, fresh ingredients, tasty (and relatively pricey)”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times over a period of many years. I always have a great tasting meal, creatively and attractively prepared with in season items. As one other reviewer mentioned, I also found the need to ask for translations of the descriptions of many of the items on the menu. Embarrassed that I'd already asked so many times, I found myself looking up many of the words or phrases on my cell phone internet instead. Juanita Cafe's presentation of the food is beautiful. I would never think to combine some of the items they do (dipping radishes in softened, sea salt topped butter???). Unusual, but tasty. Cafe Juanita is a pretty pricey restaurant, with the entrees running in the $26-$42 range. While really enjoying my meal, Cafe Juanita remains a strictly special occasion restaurant for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Juanita also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Juanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing