We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastside Hidden Gem”
Review of Cafe Veloce

Cafe Veloce
Ranked #5 of 272 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kirkland
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Eastside Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Another great meal at Cafe Veloce. Multiple pasta combinations to satisfy any taste. They take great care to handle allergy issues. Very customer focused. Absolutely stunning wine list for a small neighborhood eatery....and it is priced in a very reasonable and respectful manner....no 3x retail stuff happening here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    53
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Unique pasta offerings = great food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

People love the Italian motorcycles and the general restaurant decor but I swear I would go to a shack to eat their pasta Adriatic! Holy cow is it awesome! There are many interesting offerings in the menu, my companions have enjoyed everything from sandwiches to salads to others pastas and from all accounts they are delicious, however, I can't stop ordering the pasta Adriatic. I suggest you go frequently and make your way through the delicious offerings at Cafe Veloce. Perhaps you too will find the pasta dish of your dreams.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyandBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“East side Italian gem. Great value, excellant food prep very good wine selections, and moderate price.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Located in the Totem Lake area near Kirkland this is becoming a regular dining spot for us well worth the 20 minute drive from our home. A comfortable, casual, warm interior which is well maintained. The generally Italian focused menu features entrees ranging from $10 for many of the pasta dishes to under $20 for items like scallops and pork loin. We have enjoyed the nicely done antipasto dish ($9) , and tend to keep ordering the chicken scampi with spaghetti pasta ($14) which is such a generous portion that some always comes home with us for a late evening snack. The sauces have a great depth of flavor, and the pasta is correctly cooked.

Be sure to have the side of primavera vegetables ($4) which is just right to split.

The wine list demonstrates the owner's strong understanding of fine Washington and Italian wines, and also his success in selecting wines that and both very high quality but not high priced. For those who love NW wines you will find many selections from Betz and Long Shadows. We enjoyed an outstanding Barolo one night. I did not spot any wine on the list which was not well selected.

The wait staff was courteous and attentive.

It might deserve 5 stars and does if price is considered. However I tend to reserve my 5 star ratings for only a few NW places like Rovers and Canlis, and out of state places like Nobu and French Laundry. So five star to me are places that are spectacular and very special.

Reservations are probably a good idea on Friday or Saturday nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockySeattleArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have two words for you.... Pesto. Pasta. The pesto pasta at Cafe Veloce is probably one of the best if not the absolute best thing I have ever eaten in my entire life.

It's a good restaurant with a good atmosphere (they have the fireplace for the winter and the deck opens up during the summer months).

Such good food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pasta and Antiques”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cafe Veloce is one of those hidden gems that visitors to the Seattle area rarely hear of. Featuring a decor of restored classic motorcycles and classic Italian cuisine, the restaurant offers a great selection of fine local and global wines as well. With its large fireplace, checked table cloths and a friendly wait-staff, Cafe Veloce is a grand place for a relaxing and enjoyable evening of fine dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Veloce also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Veloce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing