We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites!”
Review of Volterra Kirkland

Volterra Kirkland
Reserve with OpenTable
Volterra Kirkland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 270 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've been so happy to have Volterra on Eastside now. It's been one of our favorites for many years. We absolutely LOVE the wild boar with Gorgonzola sauce--so tasty and well prepared. Recently we started with a mushroom risotto that had a little oozy cheese in the center--it was yummy. An unexpected highlight was the warm chicory salad served with white anchovies. Service has always been both professional and friendly. Decor I would call industrial chic. This place has it all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank formerstew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, Location”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice addition to the Kirkland waterfront. We had reservations (but still had to wait); the service was good, the atmosphere quite nice on a sunny Saturday evening. They really packed us in, though, leading to a bit of discomfort since I don't like to sit on top of the table next to me, or be forced to hear every word of their conversations. The food was adequate -- nothing special in selection, presentation, or taste. Not bad, mind you, just not inspiring. Which is too bad, since it could be great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Rudeness”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In over 30 years of dining out we have never experienced such rudeness, crassness and abuse. We made reservations and upon arrival we were seated at a very nice table. Ordered drinks and appetizers (which were very well done). About an hour into our meal, we were informed by our waiter that if we wanted stay and order dinner we would have to move to bar stools and sit at an bar table. Thoroughly insulted, we left and dined at another nearby restaurant. This place is clearly into feeding people, not hosting a dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue WA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Unexpected ~~!! Worth Finding”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The variety of dining in Kirkland is mixed for sure, and parking is always a challenge. We were headed to The Heathman for dinner, but found their restaurant closed for a private event. Had noticed Volterra en route, so walked back to check it out.
(Guests at The Heathman might find this a lovely and innovative alternative to Trellis, I wonder? Close by, and more exciting menu.)

The restaurant side was jammed, though seating was available in the quieter bar side of Volterra. The hosts were most welcoming and vested in finding us a table we could enjoy, which was by the window, around the corner from the entry.

The bartender at Volterra is exceptional; truly the most well constructed Old Fashioned I've been served in a long while, without skimping on the main ingredient! The entree of prawns sauteed with chopped tomatoes, garlic and white wine was simply glorious, and accompanied by wonderfully fresh and perfectly cooked vegetables and tiny grilled potatoes; lovely!
A perfect balance to the delicate, very fresh shrimp.
My friend savoured the bean soup and lamb meatballs, but didn't find anything on the wine list of particular note. Cocktails here definitely excel over the wines.

Normal street parking nearby, though ample free parking at the Kirkland Library just down the way, across from The Heathman Hotel. And, after dining, it's a short walk to Lake Washington waterfront and harbour to work off excess calories; especially delightful on a warm summer evening? This venue is easily accessible, also, without stairs.

In all, delightful impromptu dining at a venue which welcomes walk-ins and provides superb cuisine from a most creative menu ~~!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Menu and Lovely Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderfully creative Italian options are in store here. I recently lunched on chop salad andeggplant pouches (kind of fat pot sticker looking guys) in a most snappy tomato sauce. Service was lovely and efficient. A bit pricey for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volterra Kirkland also viewed

 

Been to Volterra Kirkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing