We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Italian Restaurant in Kirkland”
Review of Volterra Kirkland

Volterra Kirkland
Reserve with OpenTable
Volterra Kirkland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 269 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“New Italian Restaurant in Kirkland”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The restaurant was noisy and busy when we went in December, reminding me of many restaurants I've visited in Italy, it had a friendly feel. The food was excellent. The Braised Lamb Shank was perfectly done, tender and very flavorful, plus the portion size was good. The New York strip steak was perfectly done and delicious. The service was attentive and they took extra care of one of our party who had allergies, which we greatly appreciated. My only complaint was the cost of wine; the per glass prices were well over $10 and too pricey for Kirkland, I would have loved to have had a second glass of an excellent red, but didn't want to raid my 401k to pay for it. However the meal costs were reasonably priced for quality Italian.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a somewhat noisy and very busy Italian restaurant named after a hilltop town in Tuscany. It offers good service and excellent and authentic Italian food. My lamb ragu had a strong and heady flavour and the panforte was a good interpretation. We splashed out on an wonderful bottle of Brunello Di Montalcino (which actually cost more than our food) but it was well worth it. You will need to reserve a table as this restaurant seems to be very popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Best breakfast I have had in years. Daughter had Pear and Gorgonzola frittata. I had gourmet scrambled eggs with prosciutto and avocado. Unfortunately, the Wild Boar Benedict Arnold was all gone! Perfect hash browns. So worth a trip to downtown Kirkland, just down the street from the library.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just the same and in Ballard”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Love the veggies with my boar tenderloin. The lamb meatballs were good too...my dog loved the one we brought back to the room...not a big eater and he couldn't have eaten it quicker.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this new addition to Kirkland”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think I have found my new favorite place in Kirkland. The polenta and mushroom appetizer was awesome, creamy, rich, and flavorful. I had the braised lamb shank and the seafood stew. We enjoyed both. The house red blend is also really nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volterra Kirkland also viewed

 

Been to Volterra Kirkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing