We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspired cuisine”
Review of Trellis

Trellis
Reserve with OpenTable
Trellis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 269 Restaurants in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Transit: The Public Transit Mall is 1/2 block from the hotel's front door.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uninspired cuisine”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went for dinner on a Saturday evening. Lots of attention as to where our forks were placed (actually it was kind of disruptive) and table settings, but not so much on food quality. I had the winter squash soup as appetizer, with a crab cake for my main course. My husband had a hearts of romaine salad and the trout. My soup was more like chicken broth with a hint of squash, and had two hard cubes of squash floating in it. Seriously, I wouldn't serve this soup at all if I had made it--really poor. Didn't even taste like squash, and not creamy or rich. The crab cake was seared on the outside but wet and gushy on the inside and didn't taste fully cooked, so it was heavy, ugh. The romaine salad was great. The trout was fair. The best part of the meal was the blackberry lemonade! For these prices, we won't return. I have enjoyed lunch here previously, but dinner seems lackluster.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    89
    30
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here with a friend for lunch. He had the the cheesesteak sandwich with sweet potato fries (about $18). He said very good. They don't skimp on the fillings. His had so much meat, etc. that it was spilling out the sides (that's a good thing). I had the hamburger with shoestring fries that were great (about $16). Service from Megan was very good. Very relaxing place to eat and visit. I'll be back with the wife for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
707 reviews
544 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A comfortable place in Kirkland”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Trellis has comfortable seating and a quiet ambiance, at least at lunch. The servings were very large and delicious. The service was good, too. Prices were a little high, but not for the nice Setting. There were 5 of us and everyone enjoyed their lunch. The grilled cheese sandwich was delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absolutely a treat!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

See my review on the hotel - the restaurant is superb both for the ambiance and the food! If it's a larger party, try the catering in their library room

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than the last time but still inconsistent”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second time to Trellis. The first time was for a birthday dinner and the seafood stew.soup was very brothy with little seafood. I can't remember what I had but it too was underwhelming. We returned hoping we could improve on the last gastronomic experience.

This time the food was better, moving it up from a 2 to a 3. The trout was very good, the chicken was fair, the steak was good.
The appetizers a tomato soup was very good, the fresh picked peas were way too hard and underwhelming, not like tender fresh peas could be.

The waitress was somewhat standoffish and showed her disappointment when we did not order dessert.

For the setting and prior reputation of the chef, it just didn't meet up. to the standard we know he can produce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhaj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trellis also viewed

 

Been to Trellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing