We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay at the Woodmark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at the Woodmark”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Excellent weekend stay at the Woodmark!! The lakeside room is definitely worth the extra cost. The room felt spacious and the view of Lake Washington is outstanding. The bed was really comfortable, the towels very luxurious, and the shower was amazing. The staff could not have been more attentive to our needs!! Attended a wedding at the Woodmark and the venue was magical. Less than a 5 minute drive to downtown Kirkland and easy access to downtown Seattle. The food/chef was excellent .Definitely plan on returning when I come back to Seattle.

Room Tip: lakeside rooms have a great view of Lake Washington
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRSGWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
A true pleasure TRSGWS to hear your positive Woodmark Hotel experience in addition to the wedding function you attended.

I took the liberty of sharing your comments with our entire leadership team today and didn't want the day to pass without expressing our heartfelt thanks for your input.

I hope to see you on a future visit to our Kirkland Washington Hotel and in the interim wish you a tremendous week.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    169
    46
    21
    12
See reviews for
189
411
29
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A friendly, well-run hotel in a stunning spot with excellent restaurants. There's even a beautiful and superbly well-behaved black Labrador in reception sometimes. What's not to like? We'll definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton-Le-Sands, Lancs, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I visit Seattle quite frequently and normally stay in Bellevue, where my work's office is. However, a last minute trip meant i couldn't get anywhere in Bellevue due to a Microsoft Conference and this hotel came up as a top recommendation on the Expedia site, so I booked it. What a fantastic decision!
OK - I got lucky as it was a stunningly beautiful week weather-wise, so the Lake looked stunning from my room (one of THE BEST views I've had from a hotel room anywhere). But the Hotel itself is wonderful. It's got a personality - it's not just the bland "could be anywhere" feel that many hotels have. Rooms are nicely furnished, bright, clean...and such comfortable beds (with a myriad of pillow options!!). But for me, it was the service that stood out. It wasn't the "in your face" service you normally get in the US - it was understated, friendly and, I believe, genuine. Great Service always makes the difference.
The area is really nice - very chilled and, of course, right on the lake. It makes a real difference from the clinical, characterless Bellevue!
From being disappointed that I could not get a hotel in Bellevue, I'm going to choose NOT TO stay in Bellevue in the future whenever I can and stay back at this wonderful, classy, relaxing and friendly Hotel. A real Gem!

Room Tip: Just ensure you get a Lake view - Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomMellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Like how we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine upon arrival! Jenna at the front desk was very informative and extremely pleasant. We checked into a suite with our family that faced the Marina. What a beautiful view. There are plenty of great little restaurants walking distance away. You need to try Hectors for breakfast, very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainy_Vanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
What a pleasure to read the terrific feedback on the Lake Washington based Woodmark Hotel experience from Rainy_Vanc0uver today.

I wanted to take a moment of your time to follow up and say thank you for the kind comments and looking forward to sharing this input with our team today.

Personally pleased that you were able to take advantage of the dining / shopping offerings in the greater Kirkland area as it is a 1 of a kind destination.

Thanks again and have an excellent remainder of the week as well.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Excellent hotel, with a friendly staff, great rooms. Definitely pick one of the lake-side rooms, the view is worth it. I would book again if I'm in the Kirkland area. This is hotel is a little out of the way if you have business in Bellevue, but perfect if you want to relax during the trip.

Room Tip: Lake-side Junior suite has a nice small balcony, and bedroom feels really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Howard from the Lake Washington based Woodmark Hotel reaching out to Hans C to express our appreciation for your positive Trip Advisor comments.

I took the liberty of sharing your input across our leadership team at our morning meeting and we are collectively thankful for your patronage.

We hope to see you on a future visit to our Kirkland WA Hotel and in the interim want to wish you an excellent week.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Woodmark has an attractive lakeside location and turned out to be a convenient place to stay for attending a wedding (not at the hotel) and sightseeing and visiting relatives both in Seattle and on the east side of Lake Washington, where the hotel is located. We enjoyed our stay. Because it costs a lot and pretends to be a prestigious resort destination, however, it did not earn top marks. Here's why:

The resort fee is a joke. Why not just raise the room rates $12, since the fee is mandatory and covers standard things such as access to a very basic and unattractive fitness center (believe it or not, in this century, the hotel has no workout room or pool). and free wireless internet access? OK, the chance to use a kayak is not standard, but we did it once in 5 days. Is that worth the $105 we paid in "resort fees"?

The "valet parking" is also a rip off. The hotel would not be a good choice for visitors to Seattle or anywhere else beyond a 5-mile radius of the remote location -- without a car. About 50% of the times we needed our car, or arrived at the hotel entrance, there was no "valet." We had to leave the keys at the front desk and hope that no one took or hit the car waiting in the entryway. When requesting the car, the single individual at the front desk left her station to go fetch the car. "Self-park" at a discount of only 15% from the valet rate was an insult. Either provide the alleged valet service or let people park for free or some reasonable amount.

Service and management in general, restaurant in particular: The valet/front-desk ballet was just one sign of a system that malfunctioned repeatedly. All of the employees were friendly and polite. But they did not know their job (e.g. told us we had not paid for one of the rooms when we had) and seemed not to be at post when needed. The restaurant was worse. There are NO alternatives other than Starbucks nearby for breakfast, and the hotel restaurant's breakfast was of low quality - plus the service was horrible. No one seemed to be assigned to any table. It was hard to get the wait staff's attention. We had to ask for silverware every time we were served. None was on the table and no one was responsible for bringing it.

Finally, the closet in the bedroom was TINY. Do people in Washington wear only shorts and t-shirts and therefore don't need to hang up any clothes? Well, we had clothes for the wedding and other things that needed to be hung, but, even though we brought our own hangers to supplement the 6 or so provided by the hotel, there was literally not enough space in the closet for normal clothes for two people for 5 days.

None of these deficiencies made the Woodmark a poor choice, but it is not a "resort;" it is not a full-service hotel and it did not live up to the high expectations it set for itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Howard from the Woodmark Hotel reaching out to Xamb to express our thanks for your time in providing input via Trip Advisor on your recent visit to our property.

I understand you have many choices among East Seattle Hotel's for your traveling needs and we want to remain your property of preference going forward.

I was however concerned that your overall experience primarily with our Reception and Guest Services team was less than stellar and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further in this regard.

Specific to the Hotel's amenity fee, I was pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our Kayaks on Lake Washington and wanted to insure you were provided with an array of additional options at your disposal as an overnight guest for your present / future use.

This would include complimentary access to unlimited sandwiches, snacks and beverages each night at 11PM via our Raid the Pantry offering in the lobby, unlimited use of the Hotel's SUV chaffeured transportation up to 5 miles point to point, Beach cruisers to explore by bike all that Kirkland has to offer and an array of discounts for Still Spa, Gem Hair Salon, Fly Fitness group and personal fitness classes, etc all packaged under 1 low nightly amenity fee.

I want to personally apologize if this was not further outlined during your visit to our Hotel.

I look forward to seeing you on a future visit and in the interim can be reached at the Woodmark Hotel's main #.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Woodmark as a family.

We were visiting people in the Ballard area, and so had looked at the Hotel Ballard and the Fairmont downtown. Neither really worked. And trying to use AirBNB was a joke...all of the listings said they weren't available, which begged the question as to why they were showing up on my search.

So...we decided to stay across the lake in Kirkland. And I'm really glad that we did.

First off, it's so much prettier at the Woodmark than at a downtown hotel. And it's not too far away, either; driving from downtown took about 15 minutes. We also were able to rent a boat to look around the lake one day, which was special.

The hotel itself is quite nice, too. Clean and clean looking, nice staff, comfortable rooms. We put two rooms together, which worked nicely. It was probably a bit expensive for what it was, but very reasonable compared to what else I saw while searching.

I'd definitely return here on a future visit.

Room Tip: I would think overlooking the lake is a very nice feature, it was for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkland
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bellevue
#1 of 29 in Bellevue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salish Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Snoqualmie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa

Property: Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
Address: 1200 Carillon Pt, Kirkland, WA 98033-7322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Kirkland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is found in Kirkland, a little suburb of Lake Washington. It is near a marina, which has restaurants, shops, and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodmark Hotel Kirkland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing