We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but Not Exciting”
Review of Puerto Vallarta

Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kingston, WA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New but Not Exciting”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Last night friends of our invited us to eat at the "New" Puerto Vallarta in Kingston. This is a very large space compared to the old one in the Development behind it. It has a good feel walking in the front door but from that point we experienced a strange atmosphere of beginners in the restaurant business. The Waitress who showed us to our table was nice enough and took us straight to the most brightly lighted area in the restaurant and we had to tell her that the lights were to bright and we would like a more subdued area. She took us to the nearest table available and a waiter came over immediately to ask what we would like to have before giving us a chance to remove our coats and looking at the menu. He did give us a chance to look at the menu then and came back a few minuted later.
We noticed that the prices for the drinks were not on the menu and we asked our waiter how much specific drinks were. His response was that he didn't keep track of the prices on drinks but that he would go ask the bartender. We asked if he could give us an idea of the price of a small Margarita and he said "eight thirty five to eight fifty, something like that" which happens to be a very high price. He wasn't exactly friendly and helpful. We did order food but no drinks.
When the Waiter brought our food the plates were hot but about two-thirds of the plate was covered with re-fried beans and rice, the entre seemed very sparse in comparison for such a large plate that it took up almost one- quarter of the table and it is a shame that they put so much on such a large plate that must be thrown in the garbage when they could certainly put give us the option for a Children's plate of a Senior citizens plate. The main part of each order was just O.K., not high quality Mexican Food.
later that evening at home we all had severe indigestion which was not gone by this morning. I'm glad we had plenty of Tums around. This is a place we will not go to for dinner again. It may hve been to much lard in the re-fried beans

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tojon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hansville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed in the quality of the food or the service. The lunch buffet is plentiful and delicious. 'Happy hour is equally great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2larue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have it THEIR way or go home.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food is just ok here, albeit a bit overly salty but the staff are like droids that cannot provide anything for which they are not programmed. The food is not any better than many cheaper Mexican restaurants. The building is newly constructed but they forgot to think about sound. It can be really loud unless the restaurant is very slow.

My BIGGEST complaint is that they are very resistant to any changes from the exact printed items. It borders on the ludicrous. I asked for a burrito to be wrapped so I can pick it up. They complained that it came with too much filling to wrap it up that way. I had to explain that they could either put less in or give me the rest on the side.

I once asked for just beans and rice, lettuce and guacamole in burrito. This was basically the meat burrito with out the meat (~$7). They said it would cost nearly $13 because they added each item separately. The lettuce alone was $1.50.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubagadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful new restaurant- great staff!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have enjoyed the Kingston PV for years and have celebrated some of our favorite moments there. The new restaurant is beautiful and makes going out a special treat. I like the addition of the carnitas on the menu, and a few other items. The drinks are much better now, and there are also lots of good beers on tap. The only difference I have noticed is that the chips are not fresh and hot like they always were at the other location. We have been there 5 times to the new restaurant, and the chips were stale each time. They used to be perfect at the old location, and I couldn't stop eating them. That said, the staff is still excellent and the service is very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average Food And Too Much Service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is one of the newest in a chain of these restaurants in the greater Seattle area. We ate here on our way home to Bremerton from the Kingston ferry because we wanted to try it while it's new. As others have stated in their reviews...your typical very Americanized Mexican fare is served here...starting with chips, salsa and bean dip. Portions are pretty large and filling. My wife had the chicken mole' enchiladas ($10.75) and I had the crab enchiladas ($12.25). The mole' was pretty decent if just a bit too sweet. The crab in my enchiladas tasted frozen or canned and contained no lump meat (which is to be expected for the price) and had a green tomatillo sauce. Tasty, but nothing special. Both were served with typical "Mexican rice" and choice of beans (we got black beans in a bowl).

Someone from the wait staff was checking up on us every 10 minutes...too often for us. There is no ambience here...high ceilings with hard walls and nothing to absorb the sound of kids screaming and crying, dishes clanking etc. Don't come here to relax unless you plan on having a half dozen Margaritas. Speaking of Margaritas, we both had their house special berry Margaritas straight up. Berry flavors were really quite good...but was there actually tequila in there? Real tequila? We couldn't taste it...and we consider ourselves to be tequila/Margarita connoisseuers. And most disconcerting was that none of their Margarita combinations show any prices on the menu. We like to know in advance what we're paying for the items we might like to order. All prices should be on the menu. Even our server had to go to the bar to ask the prices on the three sizes of house Margaritas.

It wasn't terrible, but we likely won't return here. Eat in a REAL Mexican restaurant...in Mexico...and it's hard to eat in any of these big Mexican chain restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Vallarta also viewed

 

Been to Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing