We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So informative!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Naval Undersea Museum

U.S. Naval Undersea Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Keyport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The U.S. Naval Undersea Museum is an official U.S. Navy museum. Our mission is to collect, preserve, and interpret naval heritage and operations for the benefit of the U.S. Navy and the people of the United States. Admission and parking are FREE!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So informative!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

As a retired teacher I kept thinking how much my students would have LOVED this museum! Then I realized how much I was actually learning about the development of undersea travel, the impact of geograohy/salt/water pressure on people and undersea adventures, use of subs in wars, torpedoes, and the timeline of today's modern submarines. If you have any interest in ships, subs, history, salt water, torpedoes, Civil War, WWI-II, then you will LOVE this free museum!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank swnalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
near Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Edutainment in your own back yard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Interesting and at your own pace. If you ever want to know more about the exhibits, the docents are happy to oblige. They have unique concerts and lectures on occasion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renaissance_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This FREE museum was the highlight of our Kitsap visit. Well-done exhibits, a friendly docent who greeted us at the door, and lots to see, read and even touch made this interactive attraction on par with some of the best museums we've visited in big cities. Not only is there a thorough array of naval, wartime paraphonically and equipment, there is also and extensive history of undersea commerce, exploration, and science.

The museum is also “right sized” – just enough to explore for a 1-2 hours without the kids getting bored. Not so big that you leave tired without having seen it all, but not so small that you wondered why you bothered coming or felt like something was missing. The exhibits had extensive write-ups for each item, interesting for kids and adults alike. Several things were interactive, so the younger children could get “hands on” – even a dress up area for the little ones to try on sailor / Navy gear.

We happened to be there when a young, active duty sonar tech was there with his wife. He said a couple of the things were outdated (e.g. the oval shaped door they had for kids (or adults) to enter one of the areas is now round – but he pointed out a photo of the current door shape that they had right nearby). But, for the most part, he made it seem like much of the exhibit was still pretty relevant.

The array of diving gear, especially the masks/helmets, was impressive. Though we expected the Navy/war stuff to be on display, we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive history of undersea exploration.

This museum is well-worth the visit, even if you make it the key destination.

For anyone coming from Seattle, a nice itinerary with this museum at the center, could include the following: 1) From Seattle (downtown Colman Dock) take the ferry to Bremerton, 2) drive to Keyport (where the museum is located), 3) afterward, head north for lunch in picturesque Poulsbo and explore the marina/old town shops, 4) and drive back via Bainbridge (check out Winslow for more shops and/or dinner and 5) take the Bainbridge Ferry back to Seattle would make a fun and interesting outing that is easily doable in a day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauxnomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Underwater Navy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I drove a group over to see this museum on the Olympic Peninsula by Poulsbo. What a great job and it's Free! You can see the evolution of underwater torpedoes, exploration, and scuba diving all in one spot, then go to "THE BAKERY" in Poulsbo! It's alot to take in so plan on at least a couple hours, at the museum, Sluy's Bakery you need to get in and out, fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasebo, Japan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Kids Will Love the "Hands On" Control Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The museum is an official U. S. Navy museum. Its stated mission is to collect, preserve and interpret naval undersea history, science and operations for the benefit of the U. S. Navy and the people of the United States.

They have 4 main exhibit galleries which cover ocean environment, undersea weapons technology, submarine technology and diving & salvage exhibits.

The torpedo exhibits are pretty darn cool. You can see the original Howell torpedo that went into service in the late 1880's and was the first successful torpedo produced in quantity that used a flywheel propulsion system. They also have the Whitehead torpedo which was used from 1894 to 1913. The engine ran on compressed air!

The kids will love the "hands on" Control Room that replicates the nuclear fast attack submarine USS Greenling (SSN 614). They can see what it's like to man the periscopes and ship control panels for the ballast and fire control panels. Okay, I admit I was first in line.

I also really enjoyed the exhibits for the deep submergence rescue vehicles and the atmospheric diving suits. Super Cool !!

Admission to the museum is FREE.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank arl3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Undersea Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Undersea Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing