We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, good music, some unusual beers (good, too)”
Review of Northern Ales

Northern Ales
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Kettle Falls
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: CAUTION! We have peanut shells all over the floor! We are a family friendly establishment. We serve Pizza and Pub food, but we do not deep fry or gill. At least 9 beers on tap all made here. We also have products for those that are Gluten Free (GF). Live entertainment every Thursday, Friday, and some Saturdays.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good music, some unusual beers (good, too)”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Imagine a green concrete-bloick building, no windows, the sort of bunker a bar looks like in Provo, Utah. That's Northern Ales from the outside, Step in and you'll hear bands or musicians playing most nights, free peanuts, the shells lining the floors, a pub menu long on pizza but with a few alternatives, and beers with the brewery in the back. Personal-size pizza with a salad came at a good price (pepperoni and black olive, around eleven bucks with the salad), crust thin and crispy which I like. Beers, I took the Black Canyon dark ale and later tried the Rice Pale Ale. Each well made with nice mouthfeel. Then my server brought me a style I had never heard of before, a Braggot., It dates back to the middle ages, Chaucer praised it, it's a sweet beer/mead combo. Steve, the brewer, said he makes a barleywine up to around 9% alcohol by volume, and then adds fermenting honey to take it to 13%. Potency aside, Northern's Braggot would be a dessert wine to match any port or sherry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
“A well hidden gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Almost missed this one but we were glad we searched it out. The beer was great (try the black grouch!) The staff was friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of My All Time Favorites!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

After being gone from the area for 9 months, this was the first place I wanted to go!! My friends Steve and Andrea have been very busy!! The place has many good changes from new pizza ovens for the not so typical pizzas (yumm!!), to beautiful new beer vats, to a new band stage, to wonderful new beers and wine! You guys are amazing!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettle falls
1 review
“complimentary peanuts...just toss the shells on the floor! Love it!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Enjoyed being able to meet up with friends and visit and not have a blaring jutebox in the corner to compete with. The Food is amazing - not your typlical deep fried bar food! Kids are welcome, they have pinball, pool tables, and fooseball tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nichole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cavernous”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I as a woman did not feel totally comfortable here! It feels like your in someones super oversized garage. I went with another female to this location. Nobody bothered us or got out of line. It was a "have a beer after work" place. It seems to be a neighborhood watering hole, complete with pool tables, and tounaments. There were also ping pong tables however I dont know if that is a regular thing or not. Limited menu, but they do seem to have a big assortment of beers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1MzBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Ales also viewed

 

Been to Northern Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing