We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sky Hag - As Bitter As You Are!”
Review of Airways Bistro

Airways Bistro
Ranked #14 of 313 Restaurants in Kent
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sky Hag - As Bitter As You Are!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Airways Bistro is a great addition to Kent. They brew some very good beers; my favorite is Sky Hag IPA (Sky Hag, as bitter as you are). In addition, they have rotating taps for other local micros, as well as ciders. The food is quite good, offering fresh salads, pizzas, and paninis.

The bistro is across the city plaza, a block south of the Kent Station. The bistro is much easier to find than the Airways' brewery and taproom, which is buried in an office/warehouse park north of the Boeing Tennis Club. No kitchen at the taproom, but they welcome you to bring your own food, or you can order food delivered from the nearby Yukon Grill before 7 PM. The taproom also has a small garden area outside when the valley weather cooperates - say, maybe next May?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Wa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place to Go After Work With Friends”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We go to Airways almost every week. They have a rotating list of local beers, all in smaller kegs so it goes fast. It's fun to be able to try different beers, and ciders every week. Their food is really good, I brought my coworkers there a few months ago, and they still are having dreams about the pretzels. All of their food is fresh, and very good. We usually just get appetizers, but when we do order something else, we're never disappointed. Their staff is always friendly, and the service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual, fun and GREAT beer!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It is a great spot in downtown Kent... the beer is great, the service is friendly and the flatbreads are tasty. It is a bit loud, but it is a great place to hang out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Not2Girly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good beer selection, good food.”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Went to Airways for a Friday happy hour with some friends. Very good beer selection, 5-6 Airways beers, brewed right in Kent, and then another 4-5 beers and a hard-cider brewed by some other local Puget Sound brewers.
We ate some appetizers and pizza, the soft pretzel was very good and also the pizza. The pizza's were square, kind of a thin crust but not hard or crunchy, and the toppings were good, we had a garlic pizza and two meat pizzas.
Service was very good, they kept our beers filled, and were friendly and very knowledgeable about the beer selection.
The place is not too big, only seating for 40-50 people. and the entrance doesn't face the street, a parking lot and solid brick wall are what you see from the street the entrance is kind of on the side, some of our group couldn't find the place at first.
Parking is fine, the lot is small and shared with another business (maybe 10-12 cars) but there's lots of street parking and a larger commuter lot across the street.
Our only complaint, (and its not really a complaint), was the noise. Our group was about 10-12 people and we were probably half of all the occupants, so it wasn't jammed full and crowded, and there's no music or other noise, but it got really loud just from people talking. Now some would say that our group just has a lot of loud mouths, and that may be true, but it still seemed loud. It seems like the problem may just be lots of hard flat surfaces, and nothing to deaden the sound. We asked the owner and he said they're looking at some decorating ideas to incorporate some acoustic changes.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airways Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing