We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennewick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Chalet
Ranked #1 of 2 Kennewick B&B and Inns
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great little weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were totally overwhelmed by the experience of staying with Steve Sauer and Rainey at their Cherry Chalet B&B on Mother's Day. The two bedroom apartment was spacious, spotless, and very comfortable. We loved walking around the grounds and through the Steve's cherry orchards and vineyards - he really made us feel at home. He and Rainey went out of their way to guide us to a great dinner spot and Steve personally served us a great breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Chalet on evening of May 1, 2013. It so happened we were the only guests that night, so Steve and his wife invited us into their home for dinner with them and some of their friends. It was great!

As the sun set Steve set us up in our room, which was beautiful, and then we sat outside by the gas fire pit. Really a nice set up.

We thought one of the highlights was the next day meeting Steve's two Chesapeake dogs, Bing and Sela. They are both "dock dogs" who can jump amazing distances and catch objects in the air. After Steve came down and served us an excellent breakfast, we walked though the cherry orchard to an irrigation ditch where Steve put the dogs through their paces. It was very fun!

This B&B, while small, is a real gem tucked into the outskirts of Kennewick. I would recommend it highly not only the building and the food, but excellent grounds and the warm hospitality of the hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve55126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Decided to stay in a "different" place for business. Grown tired of the standard hotel experience, for business. Had plenty of work to do, and this was the place to get it done. French doors of my room, open to the orchard of cherry trees. The fact Steve is still working hard, after his family has retired from cherry growing, is encouraging. Carrying on the family business is priority, but it's very apparent that he takes the B&B seriously. The room makes me want to go home and redecorated! Breakfast, at my time...and amazing. Would be a great romantic place as well. Kudos the Steve Sauer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Amazed to find this bed and breakfast listed as #2 hotel as we passed through, whetted our curiosity and we just had to drive by- just our luck, the owner had just returned from a trip and we were soon in our " room". Really a private apartment with dishes, coffee, the most amazing walk in shower, in the middle of a cherry orchard. All of this was built by Steve- owner/builder/farmer/ wine maker- I'm sure Rainey needs some credit too! Outdoor firepit, jogging trail, too much to remember. We purchased their Malbec and it was better than anything we found in Walla Walla.
We are telling our friends and going back- they can hold up to groups of 10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a little piece of heaven in Washington. We were three couples so we rented the mail chalet and one of the new rooms. Steve served breakfast for all of us in the main chalet and boy was it good. Besides a cherry grove, a wine maker, mountain climber, he is also a great chef with the help of Rainy with her great canning. The homemade salsa for pur eggs and the berry syrups for our apple and walnut pancakes were delicious! The wine they make is a must to taste, drink and buy for later. We all loved his syrah and cant wait for the wine club to start. These two hosts are truly remarkable and we definitely plan to go back again. Thanks Steve and Rainy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aufemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

After traveling all day with two kids in tow, we showed up late to a lovely B&B and a great host. Steve not only handed us a bottle of wine but took our kids to play with the dogs while my wife and I took a break. We stayed in the two-bedroom unit and had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Hats off to Steve and the Cherry Chalet. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We don’t get away often, so when we acquire lodging we are always hopeful we’ve done our homework. The Cherry Chalet exceeded our expectations!

The room was clean and well appointed. The grounds were well kempt and pleasing. The large outdoor patio was a paradise in itself with gas fire pit, comfortable seating and a waterfall all surrounded by mature cherry trees. The two dogs were a welcome surprise and great fun to have around.

Breakfast was served in the room and was incredible in presentation and quality. The hosts even accommodated our desire for a primarily plant based diet.

The hosts, Steve & Rainy, were very friendly and trusting. They pretty much give you the run of the property and do not babysit you. We enjoyed this freedom and independence. We rate our experience at Cherry Chalet a 10 based upon previous lodging adventures we’ve had.

We hope to encourage some of our family to join us next year at the Cherry Chalet.

Fly Like An Eagle,

Steve M

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FishyBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennewick
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tri-Cities/Kennewick
5.9 mi away
Clover Island Inn Kennewick
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennewick at Southridge
1.8 mi away
GuestHouse Suites Kennewick
GuestHouse Suites Kennewick
#10 of 17 in Kennewick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Richland / Tri-Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Chalet

Property: Cherry Chalet
Address: 8101 W 10th Ave, Kennewick, WA 99336-9567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Kennewick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kennewick
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing