We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Super spectacular views

It is a gorgeous walk to the lighthouse. It is about 0.6 miles, through lush forest. We saw two... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
tykane01
,
San Juan Capistrano, California
Location

We visited this Lighthouse twice during our week stay in Long Beach.The first time we ventured to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
watravelinggal
,
Port Orchard, Washington
Read all 195 reviews
  
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
113
54
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
54
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard columbia river cape disappointment mile hike great view parking lot nice hike interpretive center light house up hill worth the effort rain or shine rainy day state park on duty jetty road ahead of time
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a gorgeous walk to the lighthouse. It is about 0.6 miles, through lush forest. We saw two deer, and two falcons, and a host of squirrels. The last leg up is on cement, but its still worth it. The light house was closed for construction, but the views were amazing.

Thank tykane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Lighthouse twice during our week stay in Long Beach.The first time we ventured to see it from the trails close to the interpretive center. Those trails turned out to be steep for us. We were able to see the Lighthouse from the back of the interpretive center. That is a tremendous view over the Columbia.
We encountered downed trees across the road on this day! We were impressed with how fast the rangers cleared the area. The rangers were very nice and alerted us as to the status of the situation. No one was hurt though the trees hit a car and did substantial damage to the car.
We went back a second day and eventually found the jetty road which takes you to a lower view from the Columbia side. That was the money spot. That is where the spectacular storm photos have been taken.
We used our WA State Discover pass for park entrance.

1  Thank watravelinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

This one is well worth the walk to get to it! Be prepared for an uphill walk. It is worth every step once you get there and experience the wonderful views!

Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

A WA Discover Pass (or the daily equivalent) is necessary here. My husband and I walked up to the lighthouse. It is a LONG uphill walk. Take water. No bathrooms. We were looking for the best picture and found it to be from Waikiki Beach. This can only be accessed through the campground. The first parking area is across from the bathrooms. Walk to the other side of the bathrooms and follow the sidewalk for an easy walk to the beach. The second parking area is further down Jetty Road and is closed off to traffic after dark. It overlooks the beach and off to the lighthouse in the distance.
Next time we come, we will camp in this campground. This will give us 24/7 foot access to the beach. If we had it this time, he could of gotten more of the full moon...

Thank sallyrbrtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Located on a high cliff overlooking the most dangerous river bar in the world. Cape Disappointment Lighthouse stood guard over the channel for many years. Although it is no longer cared for by a lighthouse keeper its light can often be seen.
The hike out to the light through a beautiful rain forest is a fitting occupation while visiting this beautiful coast. Once you arrive the lighthouse is often open for you to enter and explore.

Thank MiaAmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

The hubby and I have been coming here off and on for years...sometimes it rains and sometimes it doesn't...the last time we were here was about 10 years ago and it rained and rained...this time it was sunny and very pleasant...the dogs loved running free on the beach...we RV camp and love the sites...you really need to visit the lighthouse...my grandson's 3rd grade class along with the 4th and 5th graders came here for their annual end of year camping experience...they stayed in the yurts...and he was disappointed (pun intended) that we weren't staying in one of the yurts...

Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Wasn't easy for a couple of older Texans to get there but it was worth it! What a great view and history lesson! It was a rainy cold day in April but that seemed very appropriate for what we saw. The Rangers and Volunteers were great. Just amazing to look out there and realize the number of ships wrecked trying to go into the Columbia River. Different interpretations of how this area got it's name but doesn't matter-still awesome!

Thank danmurphy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Classic lighthouse overlooking the mouth of the columbia river. Great view rain or shine. Not sure how handicap assessable it is.

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

From the parking lot it is a 1.5 mile hilly walk to the lighthouse. The lighthouse is an active Coast Guard post but the person who was on duty refused to speak with tourists. They should reconsider their policy, or put a second person there to do some positive PR.

Great views. Not good lighthouse. Not worth the effort.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

4  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

There is a secret passage down to a secluded sandy beach about 3/4 way to the lighthouse. There are actually two paths down - one ends on a cliff and is not passable. The best way to find the correct path is to get to the lighthouse first. You'll easily find the correct path on your way back. Took my two kids down there and we had a blast climbing rocks and playing in fine sand - with only one other family in sight. That was the highlight of the trip. The lighthouse itself is a bit meh compared to this "secret beach". Spent a fun hour there before moving on.

1  Thank hchiutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews