We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful views

It is not that far to walk up to the lighthouse but it is a hike and uphill through the forest... read more

Reviewed December 17, 2018
E5765WLbrendah
Super spectacular views

It is a gorgeous walk to the lighthouse. It is about 0.6 miles, through lush forest. We saw two... read more

Reviewed October 28, 2018
tykane01
,
San Juan Capistrano, California
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
115
57
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
57
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard columbia river cape disappointment mile hike great view parking lot interpretive center up hill light house nice hike jetty road worth the effort rain or shine on duty state park ahead of time rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 196 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018

There is a secret passage down to a secluded sandy beach about 3/4 way to the lighthouse. There are actually two paths down - one ends on a cliff and is not passable. The best way to find the correct path is to get to the lighthouse first. You'll easily find the correct path on your way back. Took my two kids down there and we had a blast climbing rocks and playing in fine sand - with only one other family in sight. That was the highlight of the trip. The lighthouse itself is a bit meh compared to this "secret beach". Spent a fun hour there before moving on.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank hchiutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

It was overcast, windy, cold and rainy when we went. I guess you could say delightfully miserable weather. We enjoyed it. The hike is strenuous with the lush vegetation typical of coastal Oregon. We powered on and even though the rain and cold (in July!) kept our visit short, we were only disappointed that we couldn't go into the lighthouse. But, we knew that ahead of time. Every other person seemed to have a dog or two with them so it is apparently pet-friendly.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank entropy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

I found interesting that the person working at the lighthouse wouldn't even say hello when we hiked up that way. We truly enjoyed the hike, the lighthouse was just so-so. Thankfully the sun was out that morning so we enjoyed a great view of a cargo ship entering the river. The place is in need of TLC but so are many lighthouses. It is a medium hike but seems longer than it should since you can see the lighthouse so close from the interpretive center but it's quite a detour around a bay to get to it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mike5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

If you are up for a strenuous hike, it is worth the effort. I say it is all uphill, because it feels like like it when your done. Trail goes up, then down a ways, then you arrive at the paved incline.
Take a look at the photos to decide what view you want. You can see the lighthouse from the interpretive center (easy hike) or go the distance to touch the house.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank patrickhJ1655VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this park. Yes, you have to pay $10 when you park but well worth the money.

When you park, you have two different trails you can take. We started with the lighthouse trail. It is up hill in most places but overall an easy hike. The first half is in the woods but the second half is paved. The total hike was .6 miles. The lighthouse was nice and the views even better. There was also a view of a beach cove about half way. Very pretty. You can hike down to the beach but it does have signs not to but we saw people down there. It looks like its the coast guards property.

When you hike back there is a turnoff to another trail that goes to the interpreter center. Its not far. I suggest to do that too. It’s only $5 but really gives you the history of Lewis and Clarke and how they discovered the cape. And its built on a fort. Pretty cool.

Overall we spent about 3-4 hours at the cape.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MelissaTravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews