We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Disappointment State Park

Cape Disappointment State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Ilwaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic state park with hiking trails and cabins for overnight visitors.
MERIDIAN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We hiked to both lighthouses. One is very easy and a quarter mile. The other is out by the ocean and is a .6 mile hike with lots of steep inclines, but not too difficult. The easy path lighthouse offers tours and that was one of the reasons we put the park into our itinerary. It was closed. On most days it is open noon to 5, but on Tuesdays and Thursdays it closes at 4. The door is locked and you have to pay 2.50 for the guided tour. It runs every 20 minutes starting on the hour. You also have to have close toed shoes on to take the tour. We arrived at 3:55, but couldn't get in even for a peek. It was still a nice view. We found another trail near the parking lot and hiked in. There are cement structures left over from WWll in a couple places.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 825Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    85
    20
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in our RV for a couple of nights before joining a group of friends in nearby Long Beach, and happened upon Cape Disappointment State Park. I couldn't figure out why I was unable to make a reservation on-line since the site indicated there was a space available which would accommodate the size of our RV. A call to the 800 number connected me to a most helpful woman who explained that yes there was a site, but only for one night and we would have to move to the next door site on the second day. She completed all the arrangements, answered my questions and we were set within minutes, so I highly recommend the Washington State Park reservation system. As for the park, what a pleasant surprise. I'm a native Washingtonion and thought I knew western Washington very well. Turns out I didn't. Cape Disappointment has so much to offer, we couldn't do it all in two days! The Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center sits high on a bluff overlooking the mouth of the Columbia River and easily eats up an entire afternoon. There are two historic lighthouses - both are working and one is open for a climb to the top where a volunteer docent is waiting to answer almost any question you might ask. The beaches were beautiful and a bonus was a Coast Guard sea rescue drill occuring just steps away from our campsite. We will definitely go back and spend more time exploring everything we missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
458 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“It Won't Disappoint You !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

"Welcome to the Edge of the Continent", says the sign.

We began at the Interpretive Center where there is a fascinating history, movie and artifacts that depict the arduous, Lewis & Clark expedition. The journey covered 4000 miles and spanned two years to find the Pacific Ocean and a navigable route to St. Louis.

Outside, are million-dollar views views of the confluence of the Columbia River & Pacific Ocean, a map showing the "sand bar" that makes the area so difficult to navigate and caused so many shipwrecks. (It is though the name "Cape Disapointment" was given to the area when they saw no ships upon their arrival). There is even a QR code to watch a video on your smartphone of a ship trying to enter the river.

There are two lighthouses, several trails to hike and a campground that looked very nice. Wear sturdy shoes and bring a jacket as it's always windy and often foggy/misty/cool. There is a $10 fee (or annual Discovery Pass for $30) to park and small fees for Interpretive Center & Lighthouse access. But it's very worthwhile to take this walk thru history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Ocean-Front Camping Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked into the state park campground for 3 nights in late July and added an extra night as we enjoyed it so much and wanted to explore more. We tow a small trailer and pitch a tent for our 16 year old - the sites are both very dry and clean (paved pad for trailer) but also large enough to accomodate our set-up and private enough such that you are not eating dinner with your neighbours. Lots of exploring on the desolate and and windswept (and very clean) beaches and along the trails. Collectively we did lots of walking, hiking and and fishing and vowed to return. Clean washrooms and showers. Lastly, while visiting the area one must take in the Cottage Bakery in Long Beach - unbeliveable baked goods at awesoem prices. In short, a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank The_D-man27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Camping, hiking and a beach to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cape Disappointment State Park is a very diverse park with many activities for visitors. The Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center, North Head Lighthouse, a boat launch, general store and hikes between them all.

Camping ranges from basic tent camping to full hook up RV camping. This park can be tough to get reservations during peak summer months, so planning ahead is a must. The campground is on a great beach, but be aware of high foot traffic next to spaces adjoining "beach access" point. The spaces are relatively close together but trees create a buffer between most.

Cape Disappointment State Park could easily become a favorite destination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Disappointment State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cape Disappointment State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing