We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two lights for the price of one”

Cape Disappointment State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Ilwaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic state park with hiking trails and cabins for overnight visitors.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,618 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“Two lights for the price of one”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We drove to Cape Disappointment with high expectations of wonderful views and two lighthouses and a high quality Interpretative Center. First, we did not know that we had to go two miles to the office to get a pass for the day if we did not wish to use a credit card at the parking area. we found this out by walking to the Gift Shop and a kind lady gave us the information, so back to the car and out comes the credit cars. Then, back through the Gift Shop area which is across from a couple of lighthouse keepers residences that are now closed as is the lighthouse. The, down a set of steps to a walkway of slabs that can be quite slippery when wet 1/4 miles to the beautiful North Head lighthouse. while we were there the weather changed from sun to light rain to cloudy back to sunny in a fifteen minute period. We got some great pictures. There is a second trail that wraps around and avoids the stairs..you end up in the same parking lot.
Next we drove to the Interpretive Center and took some pictures of the Cape Disappointment Lighthouse. we chose not to walk the 3/4 miles trail. They charge you $10 for parking and then $5 to enter the Interpretive Center that offers a complete Lewis and Clark experience. Exhibits
trace he entire route of the 1803-1806 expedition. Handicap parking at the Center; bring your pass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    86
    21
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was just right”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The drive to get to the park was long and slow. Check in was quick and we headed off to our reserved campsite. The site was nice and clean and somewhat private so i started to set up camp. I leveled the trailer and was starting to get a fire going when my wife said she was going to check out the trail to the ocean. She excitedly came running back and said i should wait to start a fire as the ocean was only fifty yards away and I really should go see it! She was right the ocean was awesome and the view of the rocks and lighthouse was incredible. The beach was very clean sand and no junk or seaweed. Other campers were doing different activities and everybody seemed to be having fun. The weather was nice and sunny and better than expected. When at camp there was hardly any wind and not many bugs. Bathrooms were clean. Overall we had a great time and highly recommend this park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“interesting exhibit of the L&C trip and the mighty Columbia River”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

the best thing I got was why the Columbia River was so treacherous and the number of ship wreck that happened. Also the exhibit shows how the landscape has changed in the last 200 years.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspirational visit about Lewis and Clark”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The trails and views were beautiful. We really enjoyed the Museum with its thoughtful description af Lewis and Clark's journey and this point of their adventure. The hike to the lighthouse is worth the view!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interpretive center-very good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although we had just driven over from Fort Clatsop and seen the museum / visitor center there, I didn't feel as though this stop was redundant. The Interpretive center was full of great displays that both kids found very interesting.
As with Fort Clatsop, the fog, rain and wind helped us get the visual of what Lewis and Clark and co. had met with.
The down side was the parking fee and entrance fees...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Disappointment State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cape Disappointment State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing