We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - very remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Husum B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you don't mind traveling on gravel roads in the "middle of no-where", this is an outstanding B&B. Gerry, the host, fixes a great breakfast and the views are outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

We made the mistake of just reading the first few rewiews...make sure you read them all. There seems to be two sets of hosts...the warm and caring ones and the "Others." We found the latter. They made us feel like intruders.

Our son& his wife, very thoughtfully gave us a 2 night stay at the Husum Highlands Bed & Breakfast as a gift. When I called to make a reservation in June, the wife, Carol, was very grouchy and said that they do not have any weekends for us (voucher said it was good through Sept 30), but if we wanted 2 weekdays, they could work it out. She also went on for way too long for my liking, about how they wished they had never signed up for Living Social and that you guys take all their money and they don’t make anything off of these deals. I was mortified, to say the least. We were in a very precarious position, due to the fact our son gave this to us as a gift. So I said OK, let’s make it a weeknight visit.

This would be the first of many times I excused their horrible behavior. I asked, since we weren’t getting the weekend for 2 with wine, can we at least upgrade to the “suite”. She griped and griped, then said if we pay another $50 to make up for the difference, she will do it. I agreed to that. Then, she calls back and says she just talked to her husband and they are charging $50 a night, for a total now of $100. OK, again, to try to avoid a bad situation with this gift our kids gave us, I complied. Then when I emailed to confirm, Jerry, the husband, writes back and says he is also going to charge us an additional $20! Now we’re up to $120 out of our pocket, for 2 weeknights, no wine, and a lot of griping from Carol & Jerry about how they aren’t making anything off this.

So, my husband and I drive 5 hours to get there, knocked on the door, and this crotchety, sour faced, unfriendly man just stands there. No “hello, can I help you”, or "Welcome, come in", he just stands there. Feeling awkward, I say are you Jerry? He answers in a bark, “Last time I checked!” It went downhill from there. He insisted when we walked through the door to go no farther until we provide payment of $120. No tour. No friendly talk. No hospitality. Just give me the money. He then took our credit card and charges us the $120. Then he says “follow me” and takes us up three flights of stairs to a little bedroom and the “suite” was a bathroom in the hall and a daybed in a nook, all open to the third floor. Again, no tour or offer to relax in any other part of the house. Just the 3rd story “prison” We ask if there is a key in case we come in late. He says “no locks on doors, inside or exterior”. He said the place was safe but since we had no idea who the other guest would be, were we to trust them too, to all of your belongings while we were out for the day? Great, now we are really feeling creeped out. He disappears back down the stairs, after informing us that breakfast will be at 8:30, and that’s all we saw of him, thank goodness!

We walked aroung the garden, then got back into our car and left. There was no way we were staying there with creepy “hosts”, and no locks on any doors. Also, this place claimed to be close to everything, but it was a half hour drive to civilization and part was on an old dirt road.

I called Jerry when we left and told him we will not be staying there due to their intense lack of hospitalityand not even pretenting to make us feel welcome. We then asked if he could please credit us our $120 back, as he was going to keep the money from Living Social that our kids paid. He again complained, like it was OUR problem they chose Living Social and then into the fact that Living Social only gives them 20% and that they (Stockwells) have to make their money, so no, he was not going to credit it back to us.

What the Stockwells are offering does not match up to their advertising at all. They are scamming people with hidden fees that they conjure up, not to mention that the whole premise of a B & B is HOSPITALITY has been totally lost to them. They do not know what the word means and they are downright creepy. It reminded us of something like out of an Alfred Hitchcock movie. We drove a long way to stay there and anticipated a good time. Instead, I’m sorry to say, it was a huge disappointment and very stressful. More than anything, we felt devastated to have to tell our kids the truth; that the gift they so thoughtfully gave us was not going to be used. We operated in more than good faith. The Stockwells did not. A B & B without hospitality is really no B & B at all....and hang onto your pocket book.

Room Tip: There are NO locks on the doors and the entire upstairs is easily acessed by just walking up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank starbukaddic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry102043, Owner at Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

We wish to respond to (Creepy Crotchety Crook) It has been our policy to bend over backwards to help our customers book a room. When the guest called to book a room with a Living Social voucher, which thay recieved from their Son, it was after the June 30th 2011 voucher expiration date.

The guests stated that Carol was mean or upset when in fact Carol felt sorry for their situation and was trying to give them something that they did not deserve. She explained that because of the need to book full paying guests during the high July and August season perhaps we could bend a little and offer a weekday stay in late September. She confered with Jerry and called the guest after working out the upgraded price of an additonal $50. per night plus the $20. tax that Living Social does not collect from the guest when they purchase a voucher. In addition there upgrading to a larger room shows they were not opposed to paying more money for a stay. Carol did not need to go to the trouble to offer a stay or to explain our business to them.

The 600 square foot Melanie Suite is pictured on our website. It is a large area, not a "prison". The suite is not up three flights of stairs. It is up two flights of stairs. It has a main bedroom with solid Douglesfir, vertical grain five panel french doors which separate the bedroom from a sitting room, alcove area and a private bathroom. Off the sitting room is the 14 x 8 foot alcove with a daybed/couch and dresser and large picture window which look out over the water fall and into the forest. The views from the Melanie Suite are outstanding and show all four directions since it is the entire top floor of the home. Guests look out from the picture windows in the bedroom over the White Salmon River Valley and Mt.Hood. Amenities in this, the nicest guestroom in the home, include Queen bed with pillow top mattress, bamboo linens, Pottery Barn decor, TV, VCR, DVD, (housed in a beautiful armoire) Wi-Fi, cheval mirror, telephone. bathrobes, refrigerator, coffee maker and coffee packet and chocolates. The main sitting area has a wicker love seat, wicker chair with large pillows for both.

The guests arrived early before the last bit of cleaning was finished by Jerry. Carol was at work and he hurried from his work to meet them. When they came in, they asked if this was Jerry and he quipped "The last time I looked".

When they left to go for a drive, they drove awhile then called to say that they would not be back and would like to get their money back after staying for some time in the room. We have a 5 day cancellation policy which is stated on our website and on any confirmations that we send by email. The guests did not complain during their stay in the room or their walk around the gardens. They called and said that they would not come back because of our lack of hospitalilty. The fact of the matter is Carol was not home to give hospitality as it was before the 4:00 check in and she cannot be home before 4;00 and Jerry was still quite busy getting the guest rooms and house finished for them and for the other guests who would check in later at 4:00. We don't have a staff to do these jobs. There are just the two of us doing the cleaning, yardwork and taking care of the sheep, cattle and chickens.

Jerry offered that they could sit down in the parlor and relax or look around the gardens. He was not finished with all of the rooms but their room was ready.

The guests say in their report that they did not get a tour. They did not ask for a tour. The guests were told where their breakfast would be served and at what time. They were given information on where to eat dinner. The restaurants in our area are 10 minutes drive. We do have a one and three fourths mile of hard packed gravel road which is maintained by our county. Anyone who visits our website will see many photos of our property and of weddings which are held here. These photos attest to the fact that our location is rural and offers country appeal.

We have offered a quiet farm atmosphere and have treated our guest as kings and queens for the past 12 years and have had guest from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Husum Highlands B & B was a beautiful location for our son and his wife's wedding this summer. They love the beauty of the outdoors, and having Mt. Hood in the background from your hill top location was the perfect setting for them.
Jerry, the proprietor, kindly notified the groom that someone in the wedding party had left a suit jacket behind, and was nice enough to mail the jacket.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Husum Highlands for 2 nights during a roadtrip out west, and it was the best Bed and Breakfast we've ever been to. Carol was the sweetest, most welcoming hostess, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the claw-foot tub was sooo nice after a long hike, and the breakfast was phenomenal. I could't find a single negative thing to say!!

As for the previous reviewers complaint about no locks being on the doors, I didn't feel unsafe or bothered by it at all. The B&B is located is a fairly secluded area. Carol is very respectful and accommodating, and I felt as if I was staying with one of my own family members. The guests were also friendly and interesting, and gave us a lot of advice about places to visit. I cannot say enough nice things about this place! Definitely check it out if you're looking for a nice place to stay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

When we arrived the host was by himself and had recently cooked chicken the whole house smelled of it. We were led to our room with out being told what time our breakfast would be . we were having breakfast in our room. we then discovered the door had no lock on it. I was shocked at $200 a night the bath and shower had only bath supplies that had been previosly used. Then to top it all off when we settled down to have some t.v. time the host began mowing the yard right below our room and continued on this for about and hour. We do not think this is a very friendly or caring host. We left before breakfast and were very glad we did not have to see the host again. Beware not a relaxing place to stay. I also thought it was a bit stuffy and the chicken was still in the pot on the stove over an hour of our arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kat12345-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry102043, Owner at Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

We just received this review and we are sorry it was written! When our guest arrive we check them in then tell them that breakfast is at 8:30 and ask if there is any dietary needs, we then show them to there room. During the week days the owner is the only one here his wife is at work in town. Our B&B is located in the Mountains and we have never had trouble of any kind here, thus no locks on doors. This is a working farm and firing chicken for the hands to eat and power equipment running during the day are normal. When guest check in early in the day and in the middle of the week this is to be expected. We use Pump type dispensers and manufacture wrap soaps in all rooms which are inspected and filed and cleaned after ever guest checks out. Again we are sorry for any problems this may have caused our guest.

Husum Highlands B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and to be honest we didn't know what to expect, but we left feeling less stressed and had a great time in this small and welcoming community! Carol and Jerry are very hospitable and are wonderful hosts. Here are just a few of the features we loved:
-Scenic drive (from Gresham, OR).
-Alexander's Room (it's on the 2nd floor and we liked how it was tucked away in the corner)
-The backyard and the amazing centered view of Mt. Hood
-Taking our breakfast outside to eat in the gazebo that faces Mt. Hood. It was great waking up to having a delicious breakfast ready for us just downstairs!
-Epu (the very friendly house cat)
-Downtown Hood River. We visited the Saturday market and ate at and toured Full Sail Brewing Co. Try to ask for Randy for the tour!

Here are a few things to keep in mind:
-This is a very small town and the surrounding restaurants close at 8 so try to eat early or set-up dinner with Carol and Jerry!
-Be prepared to drive on curvy, gravel, or uphill roads
-If you're coming from Oregon, make sure you have a few dollars in change because you will cross a toll bridge that costs 75 cents each way

Overall, if you're looking to get out of the city and into the country side, visiting Husum Highlands is encouraged!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esbe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This B&B is the perfect hideaway for a mind-healing respite from the grind that life can throw you. We were treated like royalty and spent some great time with Jerry listening to the stories surrounding the discovery of their property and the development of Hussum Highlands B&B. We stayed in Peggy's Room and had a wonderful night's sleep liistening to the sound of the waterfall. Thank you for sharing Jerry!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Husum
10.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
10.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
29 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 70 Postgren Road, Husum, WA 98623
Location: United States > Washington > Husum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Husum
Price Range: $162 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Husum Highlands B&B will provide you with lodging in a charming, relaxed setting, whether you are looking for a weekend getaway, a base of operations for your outdoor adventures, a lovely country wedding and reception, or the peace and quiet necessary to a successful meeting or retreat — and only 20 minutes from White Salmon, Washington; 30 minutes from Hood River, Oregon and Interstate 84; and a scenic 90-minute drive from Portland, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing